Bikko
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:18 pm

Action quake 2 help + server

Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:59 am

Hi

Got action quake 2 sorta working Here are a few issues

***Play it without going into GUI performance drops when firing guns ( not sure what is causing this)

***play it with in GUI the mouse look only seems to turn till a certain point

( think it's cursor on desktop getting to edge of screen and interfering with game, as playing it without GUI mouse works fine, Have no idea how to fix this)

Video of issues : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9Fw-y_nq2M

What you need to run it
http://www.mediafire.com/?wb4u60ikclr2163

**here is zip of all what you need, This does not contain any of quake2 full game so don't worry it's just mod and files you need to run it on raspberry pi**


1: Extract zip files to raspberry Pi
2:open terminal
3: switch to SU
4: browse to quake 2 folder in terminal--- eg : "cd /home/pi/quake2"
5:type following "chmod +x quake2"
6:still in folder on terminal type "./quake2 +game action +gamedir action"

This should load up action quake with console down

in action quake console type "connect 88.208.194.212"
This is my own server

Keybinding while in game

bind "key" bandage

FAQ
Q: When connecting to server it's starting to download
A: Make sure that "+gamedir action" is in list when firing it up, This is case sensitive

Q: where did you get quake2 files from
A: http://blog.sheasilverman.com/2012/08/r ... i-quake-2/
(No idea if this is person why made it or just complied it but credits to that person)

Q: Can PC players with action quake 2 join against raspberry Pi players
A: Yes. Seems to work fine

Bikko
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:18 pm

Re: Action quake 2 help + server

Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:09 pm

Edit :

I think I've fixed it,

New instructions

1: Turn on raspberry pi and log in under normal account
2: startx to get into GUI
3: extract and move quake2 to where you want it ie "cd /home/pi/quake2"
4: Log out of GUI so back to terminal
3: browse to quake 2 folder in terminal--- eg : "cd /home/pi/quake2"
5:type following "sudo chmod +x quake2"
6:still in folder on terminal type "sudo ./quake2 +game action +gamedir action"
**Note the game start very small change video to 1920-1080 res**

7: action quake will then load type in console"connect 88.208.194.212"
(this will download files to your raspberry Pi this can take upto 10 mins)

skybox might be missing but that should change when restarted or just change to 8bit textures

This should fix any mouse problems and firing gun issues as in video, Remember to change inverted mouse off .

if it's still freezing when firing weapon reload the game remember to use sudo or it will download files again

If this becomes popular will move server to a more permanent server

Bikko
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:18 pm

Re: Action quake 2 help + server

Sun Sep 30, 2012 4:36 am

Guess nobody cares lol

flaxos
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:16 am

Re: Action quake 2 help + server

Mon Oct 01, 2012 1:46 am

Thanks for this.

I was looking for exactly this!

I will try it out and report back.

Bikko
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:18 pm

Re: Action quake 2 help + server

Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:42 am

Cheers. Let me know if there is any issues / changes need doing.

User avatar
MasterSplinter
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:00 pm

Re: Action quake 2 help + server

Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:39 pm

Hi yah,

Something thing that might be useful to your Quake Server, may be a Qstat server... I made an article on setting one up.

Please click below
:

Image

Bikko
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:18 pm

Re: Action quake 2 help + server

Tue Oct 02, 2012 10:29 am

Isn't that just quake1

flaxos
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 9:16 am

Re: Action quake 2 help + server

Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:12 pm

Bikko wrote:Cheers. Let me know if there is any issues / changes need doing.
I am actually attempting to set up a AQ2 dedicated server on my pi as it is headless.
I had it working at one stage however after adding maps and playing around with the cfgs it now loads up the baseq2 over the top (so when you fire the pistol it shoots the blaster, all the guns are replaced with default guns and you can see the spawn points).

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~/games/q2/quake2$ ./q2ded +game action +gamedir action +exec LANserver.cfg

Yamagi Quake II v4.21
=====================

Client build options:
 - CD audio
 - OGG/Vorbis
 - OpenAL audio
 + Zip file support
Platform: Linux
Architecture: Unknown
Byte ordering: little endian

Added packfile './baseq2/pak0.pak' (1106 files).
Using '/home/pi/.yq2/baseq2' for writing.
execing default.cfg
execing yq2.cfg
couldn't exec config.cfg
==== Yamagi Quake II Initialized ====

*************************************

Added packfile './action/pak0.pak' (203 files).
Added packfile './action/configexamples.zip' (4 files).
gamedir is write protected.
execing LANserver.cfg
gamedir is write protected.
NET_Socket: socket: Address family not supported by protocol
NET_Socket: socket: Address family not supported by protocol
-------- game initialization -------
LoadLibrary("game.so")
Game is starting up.
Game is baseq2.
------------------------------------

------- server initialization ------
0 entities inhibited.
0 teams with 0 entities.
droptofloor: ammo_rockets startsolid at (-288 -404 432)
droptofloor: ammo_bullets startsolid at (1044 -976 16)
Do you mind sharing your server cfg or can you provide any clues its been a while since I played with Q2 :)

Bikko
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:18 pm

Re: Action quake 2 help + server

Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:34 pm

I'll try get it working on Pi as a server. I have a idea why it's doing it

Bikko
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 3:18 pm

Re: Action quake 2 help + server

Tue Oct 02, 2012 3:17 pm

nope sadly can't get it to use the models in action folder.

I think q2ded is set to go to base folder first

User avatar
MasterSplinter
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:00 pm

Re: Action quake 2 help + server

Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:56 pm

Bikko wrote:Isn't that just quake1
Nope, it is many things. Check out the support list:

Code: Select all

-a2s
    query Half-Life 2 new server
-ams
    query America's Army v2.x server
-bfs
    query BFRIS server
-d3g
    query Descent3 Gamespy Protocol server
-d3m
    query Descent3 Master (PXO) server
-d3p
    query Descent3 PXO protocol server
-d3s
    query Descent3 server
-dm3m
    query Doom 3 Master server
-dm3s
    query Doom 3 server
-efm
    query Star Trek: Elite Force server
-efs
    query Star Trek: Elite Force server
-eye
    query All Seeing Eye Protocol server
-fcs
    query FarCry server
-gps
    query Gamespy Protocol server
-grs
    query Ghost Recon server
-gs2
    query Gamespy V2 Protocol server
-gs3
    query Gamespy V3 Protocol server
-gs4
    query Gamespy V4 Protocol server
-gsm
    query Gamespy Master server
-h2s
    query Hexen II server
-hl2s
    query Half-Life 2 server
-hlm
    query Half-Life Master server
-hls
    query Half-Life server
-hrs
    query Heretic II server
-hws
    query HexenWorld server
-jk3m
    query Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy server
-jk3s
    query Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy server
-kps
    query Kingpin server
-preys
    query PREY server
-prs
    query Pariah server
-q2m
    query Quake II Master server
-q2s
    query Quake II server
-q3m
    query Quake III Master server
-q3s
    query Quake III: Arena server
-q4m
    query Quake 4 Master server
-q4s
    query Quake 4 server
-qs
    query Quake server
-qwm
    query QuakeWorld Master server
-qws
    query QuakeWorld server
-rss
    query Ravenshield server
-rwm
    query Return to Castle Wolfenstein Master server
-rws
    query Return to Castle Wolfenstein server
-sas
    query Savage server
-sfs
    query Soldier of Fortune server
-sgs
    query Shogo: Mobile Armor Division server
-sns
    query Sin server
-stm
    query Steam Master server
-t2m
    query Tribes 2 Master server
-t2s
    query Tribes 2 server
-tbm
    query Tribes Master server
-tbs
    query Tribes server
-tm
    query TrackMania server
-ts2
    query Teamspeak 2 server
-uns
    query Unreal server
-ut2004m
    query UT2004 Master server
-ut2s
    query Unreal Tournament 2003 server

darksaint
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 10:00 pm

Re: Action quake 2 help + server

Sun Oct 28, 2012 10:02 pm

If you want some help with servers, I host most of the remaining North American servers (AQ2World.net) Contact me there :)

Return to “Gaming”