Raspberry Pi Arcade Bartop

2 posts
by Ki113r 7 » Wed Jun 07, 2017 11:42 am
Hi everyone,

I apologise in advance if this topic has been discussed elsewhere on the forum (and I'm sure it has, but I wasn't sure where to look) but I'm looking for some help with building my own bartop arcade.

I'm completely new to the Raspberry Pi world, electronics and digital making etc, so I wanted to know if there is a very comprehensive, go to guide that I could follow to build my project? I've been wanting to make one for a while now and plan to give it a go over the summer holidays.

I have an idea of what I'd need, but I was unsure of two things:
    How would I go about wiring the buttons and arcade stick to the Pi? Is there a HAT or PCB of some sort that I have to use?
    If I use a HDMI monitor as a display, will I still need external speakers to have sound?

I was thinking of buying a flat packed, pre cut bartop kit made of MDF, I've seen a few on eBay and I have an old LCD monitor I plan on using as well as the arcade parts and Pi 3, is there much else I'd need to get this off the ground?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Please forgive me for being a super n00b, but I'm told the Pi/Makers Community are very accepting of folk like me! Thank you!
Fraudulent Teacher of Computer Science and hopeless programmer who is forever hopeful of improving! - Pi Certified Educator Class of 2017
by flatmax » Fri Jun 09, 2017 2:04 pm
I can't believe no one has answered your questions about your awesome enthusiasm for pixel and sound byte perfect retro gaming ...
I used to use MAME, and for that I used to use the Ultimark interface board. However, as you have rightly pointed out there are plenty of GPIOs on the Pi and you probably don't need that interface board.

I notice that there is now PiPlay (which has MAME+others). You could also use that.
I have also talked with people who are using recalbox.