PrettyCoolBruh
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:24 pm

Quake3 and OpenArena on RPi Arch Linux

Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:58 am

Hey all,

Before you point out this is not Raspbian, yes. I am fully aware of that. The reason why I am posting this is because I have struggled with this a lot and found out that it was simple fix. I didn't want others to go through this, so I made this simple guide.

Okay, so open your LXTerminal, then type in:

Code: Select all

sudo pacman -S ioquake3
It was a simple fix, and made me pretty mad, but at least it works now. Note that it installs the shareware files too, so you don't have to grab those. If you have a registered copy (assuming you followed the guide), open terminal, then type in

Code: Select all

cd ~/.q3a
grab your registered .pk3 files, then do

Code: Select all

mv [where your .pk3 files are] ~/.q3a/baseq3
Done! Keep in mind that the .q3a folder is HIDDEN in your HOME directory, not the / directory. To see your .q3a folder, go to the PCMan File Manager, go to your home directory, then click on view>>Show Hidden Items. That's it!

Now for OpenArena. Grab the .pk3 files from OpenArena, then do

Code: Select all

cd ~/.q3a/baseq3
then do

Code: Select all

mkdir oa
Finally, then do

Code: Select all

mv [where your OpenArena .pk3 files are] ~/.q3a/baseq3/oa
Then go to ioquake3, select Mods, and click on oa. It should run. Enjoy!

-PrettyCoolBruh
People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do

ellisgl
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:48 pm

Re: Quake3 and OpenArena on RPi Arch Linux

Sat Mar 11, 2017 4:17 am

Out of the box (from shell), sudo doesn't exist. So ended up SU'ing to root. And packman -S ioquake3 comeback with target not found. Did you add extra repos?

ellisgl
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:48 pm

Re: Quake3 and OpenArena on RPi Arch Linux

Sat Mar 11, 2017 4:19 am

Actually it looks like it's been named ioquake3-rbp

PrettyCoolBruh
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:24 pm

Re: Quake3 and OpenArena on RPi Arch Linux

Sat Mar 11, 2017 6:43 pm

ellisgl wrote:Actually it looks like it's been named ioquake3-rbp
It should automatically resort to the ARM/Raspberry Pi build of Quake3. The AUR Package is available at https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/ioquake3/

Image

Return to “Gaming”