Ryno4
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:52 pm

Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Thu Apr 28, 2016 8:36 pm

Hi guys. I'll start off by saying that I'm a total noob when it comes to things like this.

I bought a raspberry pi 3 model B to have a mess around with. I heard about the retro gaming side of it.

I heard about Retropie, and set off to learn how to install it. All of the guides are pointing towards using a main PC, which I don't have anymore, just the RPi.

I was wondering if anyone managed to install it straight to the Pi without using a seperate computer.

Cheers

Malman35
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:51 am

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Thu Apr 28, 2016 10:28 pm

Yes you can. You don't have to have another computer. Here are the steps
First you should update

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
Then make sure you have installed on your rpi some programs necessary for getting it running

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install -y git dialog xmlstarlet
Next clone into the git repository (i think that is what it is called :roll: )

Code: Select all

git clone git://github.com/petrockblog/RetroPie-Setup.git

Then go to the folder

Code: Select all

cd RetroPie-Setup
Give permissions to the file so it can execute

Code: Select all

chmod +x retropie_setup.sh
Then run the setup script

Code: Select all

sudo ./retropie_setup.sh
It will ask how you want to install but I suggest you just select the "binary based" installation. It will take a bit of time (about 30 min.) so just sit back and play a game on your phone or something. ;)
Once that is done you can place the roms you have in the folder for that specific emulator. It is located at

Code: Select all

/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/EMULATOR_NAME

You can then run emulationstaion by just typing

Code: Select all

emulationstation
I hope this helps. If you have any more questions feel free to ask.
Have a good day.

Ryno4
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Thu Apr 28, 2016 10:41 pm

Wow. I expecting a very short an unhelpful answer.

You sir, are a true Maverick. I'll get to work on this when I get home.

Thank you for the time and effort.

Ryno4
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:08 pm

Hi malman35.
Everything seems to be going to plan so far, but it appears I have hit a snag

After given permission to execute, I type in the command;

Sudo ./retropie_setup.sh

I am met with 'command not found'.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks again

Malman35
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:51 am

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:18 pm

Ryno4 wrote:Hi malman35.
Everything seems to be going to plan so far, but it appears I have hit a snag

After given permission to execute, I type in the command;

Sudo ./retropie_setup.sh

I am met with 'command not found'.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks again
Hmm I am not quite sure. Are you in the RetroPie-Setup directory? What output do you get when you do this

Code: Select all

cd
ls
and this

Code: Select all

cd /home/pi/RetroPie-Setup
ls
That there can tell you a lot. cd is for moving around the file system and ls spits out everything in the current folder.

Ryno4
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:31 pm

Sorry!

I was making a mistake with the commands. I've got to the binary stage now.

Thanks again for the help

Malman35
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:51 am

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Fri Apr 29, 2016 12:29 am

Ryno4 wrote:Sorry!

I was making a mistake with the commands. I've got to the binary stage now.

Thanks again for the help
Your welcome. Glad to help.
Have fun playing old games! :)

Ryno4
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:14 pm

I've completed all of the steps and got to the emulation stage.

Any idea of a good place to get the roms?

Also, when typing emulationstation, i get this message;

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ emulationstation
X is running. Please shut down X in order to mitigate problems with losing keyboard input. For example, logout from LXDE.

I wont lie, I have no idea what this means :)

Malman35
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:51 am

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Fri Apr 29, 2016 11:43 pm

Ryno4 wrote:I've completed all of the steps and got to the emulation stage.

Any idea of a good place to get the roms?

Also, when typing emulationstation, i get this message;

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ emulationstation
X is running. Please shut down X in order to mitigate problems with losing keyboard input. For example, logout from LXDE.

I wont lie, I have no idea what this means :)
Okay first off I am not allowed to talk about where you can find roms. Legal stuff. Usually a google search will work though. ;)

About your problem. When it says X is running that means that you are running a desktop session. Emulationstation can't run when you have a desktop session going. LXDE stands for Lightweight X11 Desktop Environment. To stop the desktop session go to the menu button with the Raspberry Pi logo (it should be in the top left corner) click on that and go to the bottom of the drop down menu. It should say Shutdown. Click on it and you will get a selection menu. Select the logout option and click okay. You will then see a command line prompt (it will kinda look like a big terminal window is covering the entire screen). You then can type emulationstation and it will work. If you want to get back to the desktop exit emulationstation and then type

Code: Select all

startx
If you have any more questions let me know :)

Ryno4
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Sat Apr 30, 2016 10:49 am

Thank you again. I was wondering if I was to do anything, whether I could get it straight on the Pi or whether I'd need to use a PC to load them onto a USB stick. All guides point to this.

I will google it, just out of curiosity :)

I appreciate your constant help haha

Malman35
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:51 am

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Sat Apr 30, 2016 11:29 am

Ryno4 wrote:Thank you again. I was wondering if I was to do anything, whether I could get it straight on the Pi or whether I'd need to use a PC to load them onto a USB stick. All guides point to this.
Are you referring to transfering Roms? If so there are lots of ways to do it. You can do it through SSH (accessing the command line from another computer), FTP (access the file system from another computer), or using a USB thumb drive. I personally just find the rom I want in a web browser on my Pi and then just download it directly to my Pi through the browser.

Ryno4
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Sat Apr 30, 2016 12:54 pm

I'll give it a try later. All of your help has been invaluable to me on this issue. I'll try not to bother you again.

Have a fantastic day!

Ryno4
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Sun May 01, 2016 12:12 am

Hi there again!

Two more questions from my noob self.

When I press log out from the shutdown options, it doesn't take me to a command screen, it takes me to the log in details. There is no option to put commands, just a username and password.

Secondly, I have a acquired a file from the Internet. I have no idea how to unzip it. I have placed it into the psx folder.

Any tips on what to do from here?

Thanks again

Malman35
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:51 am

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Sun May 01, 2016 2:04 am

Ryno4 wrote:Hi there again!

Two more questions from my noob self.

When I press log out from the shutdown options, it doesn't take me to a command screen, it takes me to the log in details. There is no option to put commands, just a username and password.

Secondly, I have a acquired a file from the Internet. I have no idea how to unzip it. I have placed it into the psx folder.

Any tips on what to do from here?

Thanks again
On your first question. The username is pi and the password is raspberry. Unless you have changed it. But I doubt that you have.

On the second question. A lot of emularors don't need to have it unziped. It just depends on the extinsion. Check out the retro pie wiki for more info on what extinsions different emulators can use https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki

Don't worry about asking questions. I'm happy to help :)

Ryno4
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Sun May 01, 2016 12:11 pm

Hi again.

Ive uploaded a couple of vids to explain my issues with it.

When I log out, i do not get a command screen to type 'emulationstation'. I only get the log in screen. https://youtu.be/2KrxUEaGxaM

Ive downloaded this file, but I cant figure out what to do with it
https://youtu.be/rDx8hBjtxZo

These are the only things i am able to do
https://youtu.be/GmWKXVvAQgU

Again, i'm trying hard to learn but i cant quite figure it out haha

Cheers


EDIT: I got to the log in screen and pressed CTRL ALT + F1 and got the command screen up. I typed emulationstation in here and I was met with the same reply about logging out of the desktop interface first

Malman35
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:51 am

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Sun May 01, 2016 1:09 pm

Ryno4 wrote:Hi again.

Ive uploaded a couple of vids to explain my issues with it.

When I log out, i do not get a command screen to type 'emulationstation'. I only get the log in screen. https://youtu.be/2KrxUEaGxaM
Wow! I've used raspberry pis fro over a year and have never seen that before. You're running Rasbian Jessie (NOOBS is pretty much the same thing) right? That is what your desktop session looked like. When your pi boots up does it go straight to the desktop? How about trying

Code: Select all

pkill lxsession
and let me know how that goes.
Ryno4 wrote:Ive downloaded this file, but I cant figure out what to do with it
https://youtu.be/rDx8hBjtxZo

These are the only things i am able to do
https://youtu.be/GmWKXVvAQgU
.7z files won't work with any of the emulators (that I know of) and they can't be extracted in the preinstalled archiving program. I would suggest finding a different site to download the roms from. There are other ones besides the one you used. ;) .zip files work great. If you look at that link I posted you can see what extensions will work with emulator you're using. Then find the game you want online and if the file extension works with that emulator (you might need to extract the files using the Archiving tool) you just stick it in the right folder like the following

Code: Select all

/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/GAME_SYSTEM_NAME
#i.e. I have a nes game I want to play I would put it in
/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/nes/
Hope this helps. The more info you give the easier it is for me to figure out your problem (those videos were great!)
Have a great day,
MalMan35

Sleep Mode zZ
Posts: 319
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 5:56 am
Location: Finland

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Sun May 01, 2016 1:33 pm

Malman35 wrote:
Ryno4 wrote:Hi again.

Ive uploaded a couple of vids to explain my issues with it.

When I log out, i do not get a command screen to type 'emulationstation'. I only get the log in screen. https://youtu.be/2KrxUEaGxaM
Wow! I've used raspberry pis fro over a year and have never seen that before. You're running Rasbian Jessie (NOOBS is pretty much the same thing) right?
You mean the LightDM display manager? I'm not sure if it comes with Raspbian as default but both of my current Raspbian images have it. If not there by default it must been installed as a requirement for something else I have installed...

I don't know what is the recommend way to close the graphical interface. Using a virtual console (e.g. ctrl+alt+F2) would leave the desktop environment in the background consuming precious RAM.

Malman35
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:51 am

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Sun May 01, 2016 1:53 pm

Sleep Mode zZ wrote:
Malman35 wrote:
Ryno4 wrote:Hi again.

Ive uploaded a couple of vids to explain my issues with it.

When I log out, i do not get a command screen to type 'emulationstation'. I only get the log in screen. https://youtu.be/2KrxUEaGxaM
Wow! I've used raspberry pis fro over a year and have never seen that before. You're running Rasbian Jessie (NOOBS is pretty much the same thing) right?
You mean the LightDM display manager? I'm not sure if it comes with Raspbian as default but both of my current Raspbian images have it. If not there by default it must been installed as a requirement for something else I have installed...

I don't know what is the recommend way to close the graphical interface. Using a virtual console (e.g. ctrl+alt+F2) would leave the desktop environment in the background consuming precious RAM.
Hmm never heard of it before. I don't think it is preinstalled though cause it isn't on my pi!
Maybe if he pkilled that then it would work.

Code: Select all

pkill lightdm

Ryno4
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Sun May 01, 2016 3:16 pm

I appreciate the help guys

Using 'pkill lightdm' gave me this message

pkillpi@raspberrypi:~ $ pkill lightdm
pkill: killing pid 536 failed: Operation not permitted
pkill: killing pid 1189 failed: Operation not permitted
pi@raspberrypi:~ $

Using 'pkill lxsession' just took me back to that log in screen again.

I'm always so close yet so far!

I used a preloaded SD card with noobs, and i'm using Raspian. The word jessie springs to mind, I remember seeing it during the initial boot up

I'm sorry for the late replies, as you can probably hear from the videos I have a toddler keeping me busy.

Thanks

Malman35
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:51 am

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Sun May 01, 2016 9:13 pm

Ryno4 wrote:I appreciate the help guys

Using 'pkill lightdm' gave me this message

pkillpi@raspberrypi:~ $ pkill lightdm
pkill: killing pid 536 failed: Operation not permitted
pkill: killing pid 1189 failed: Operation not permitted
pi@raspberrypi:~ $

Using 'pkill lxsession' just took me back to that log in screen again.

I'm always so close yet so far!

I used a preloaded SD card with noobs, and i'm using Raspian. The word jessie springs to mind, I remember seeing it during the initial boot up

I'm sorry for the late replies, as you can probably hear from the videos I have a toddler keeping me busy.

Thanks
Try adding sudo to the beginning

Code: Select all

sudo pkill lightdm
Just remember that whenever some thing says permission denied try using sudo at the beginning. But be careful. Sudo used in the wrong way can mess stuff up. ;)

Ryno4
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Sun May 01, 2016 10:26 pm

I switched over to LXDE to see if that helped at all, and it hasn't

I added sudo to both commands pkill lightdm and pkill lxsession. It didn't really help.

I tried to type emulationstation and I got the same message about the desktop running once again.

https://youtu.be/De7huTvBcTc

The vid shows exactly what happens when I add sudo to the 2 commands. I'm stuck here. I'm wondering If I just need to start again from scratch and boot my Pi in a different way, without NOOBS.

I'm lost :?

Malman35
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:51 am

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Sun May 01, 2016 11:10 pm

Ryno4 wrote:I switched over to LXDE to see if that helped at all, and it hasn't

I added sudo to both commands pkill lightdm and pkill lxsession. It didn't really help.

I tried to type emulationstation and I got the same message about the desktop running once again.

https://youtu.be/De7huTvBcTc

The vid shows exactly what happens when I add sudo to the 2 commands. I'm stuck here. I'm wondering If I just need to start again from scratch and boot my Pi in a different way, without NOOBS.

I'm lost :?
I don't think you need to start from scratch. Did you try pkill lightdm and then lxsession. In the video you pkilled the lxsession first which got you that login screen. You then logged in and that basically started the lxsession again.
If you don't really care about having lightdm you could just remove it

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get autoremove lightdm -y

Ryno4
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Sun May 01, 2016 11:18 pm

I will try it.

I don't even know why lightdm is haha. And if I removed it, would I still be able to search for the roms to download?

Ryno4
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Mon May 02, 2016 12:23 am

EDIT.

Ok so I've got this far

https://youtu.be/9-iusSaw99Y

I got rid of lightdm.


Also, how do im get the files needed for the dreamcast emulation? I downloaded them, (there were two choices, PC or android, I chose PC). I put them in the dreamcast folder but it still has he same message.

And it says I have 13 games in Retropie but I can't find them.

Malman35
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:51 am

Re: Installing Retropie straight to RPi?

Mon May 02, 2016 1:39 am

Ryno4 wrote:EDIT.

Ok so I've got this far

https://youtu.be/9-iusSaw99Y

I got rid of lightdm.


Also, how do im get the files needed for the dreamcast emulation? I downloaded them, (there were two choices, PC or android, I chose PC). I put them in the dreamcast folder but it still has he same message.

And it says I have 13 games in Retropie but I can't find them.
Ah you need to do something with the BIOS files. I am afraid I don't know much about this being as every emulator that I've used doesn't need any BIOS files. You could probably find out how to do it on the RetroPie wiki.
Could some please help him out here cause I'm don't really know about his myself.
What do you mean by it said I have 13 games I retro pie but I can't find them. What said that? And did you stick the Roms in the correct emulator folders?

Return to “Gaming”