Furyio

Idea for a personal project

Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:52 pm

Hi all,

I was an early adopter of the Raspberry PI a few years back, and have to say it has spent most of its time gathering dust. I bought it to use as a download manager, and it seemed incapable of doing that.

Then I had it running as a XBMC machine plugged into my TV and it was terrible at that.

So I want to dust off my pi and start putting it to some use. Thinking about what I could conceivably make, aligned with my interests I've stumbled onto a personal project related to World of Warcraft.

I want to build a personal gear tracker. This tool, will advise my Best in Slot items and some details about them. I know there are current existing things that can do this, but its a personal interest and an option to do some learning.

I'll outline by saying I'm a total novice here. My only exposure is to SQL. Here is my basic off the cuff idea of what's involved. And I'd greatly appreciate some guidance in how to go about doing this. I'm starting from scratch, and want to go till the end.

I'm hoping to learn things like some basic coding and integration etc.
  • Database to store data I will manually insert
    Personal Web Portal/web page, to retrieve and display this data
    Creating potentially snazzy website for my own personal view
    "Possible" API integration with the Blizzard Armoury
    Able for me to remote access the PI(think I have this covered with SSH)
so recommendations and guidance is welcome
  • What programming language would you recommend, to a total beginner to achieve this?
    What Database structures are available on the Rpi?
    Is my personal project feasible?
    Can this all be done on the SD card(8GB and some larger ones) or will I need an external HDD?
Raspberry Pi Debian Squeeze
IRC channels : #raspi.ie #d3.ie #att #airsofter.ie

MarkHaysHarris777

Re: Idea for a personal project

Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:47 pm

Furyio wrote: recommendations and guidance is welcome