Page 1 of 1

screen quality not so great in retro pie emulators

Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:45 am
by Malman35
Ok let me first start off saying the quality of the menu screen looks awesome! Nice resolution and everything. But when I play games in the emulators (GB, NES, SNES, Genesis) the quality is kinda blurred. I mean it isn't bad. You can still play fine but I have also used mednafen before and the quality on it is very sharp and crisp. Does anybody know why there is a difference and if possible how I could make the quality in the retro pie emulators like that of mednafen.

Re: screen quality not so great in retro pie emulators

Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:24 pm
by joyrider3774
i think you have to look in the settings (config directory) in possibly retroarch.cfg, by default on retropie uses a smoothing filter (in the settings of retroarch) so all emulators using retroarch / libretro got that blur effect. I think your tralking about this http://blog.petrockblock.com/forums/top ... -or-off-2/

unfortunatly i don't know the exact setting but i'm sure someone knows (or you search the retropie forum)

Re: screen quality not so great in retro pie emulators

Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:33 pm
by joyrider3774
look it up for you on my system.

you can access the config's using a samba share \\ipofyourpi then goto config\all directory and open / edit retroarch.cfg

the setting your looking for is "video_smooth = true" change it to "video_smooth = false" then test the emulators again. you can also edit this file by sshing to the pi the config directory is on my system located on /opt/retropie/config

Re: screen quality not so great in retro pie emulators

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2016 8:38 am
by Malman35
joyrider3774 wrote:look it up for you on my system.

you can access the config's using a samba share \\ipofyourpi then goto config\all directory and open / edit retroarch.cfg

the setting your looking for is "video_smooth = true" change it to "video_smooth = false" then test the emulators again. you can also edit this file by sshing to the pi the config directory is on my system located on /opt/retropie/config
Thanks! That worked great!