rogers017
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 10:25 pm

N64 not showing up even with ROMs loaded? [solved]

Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:24 pm

I have loaded several NES, SNES and Neo Geo roms and everything has been great so far. However when I put roms into the n64 folder on my pi it doesn't bring up the emulator on the main screen at all. I have verified that they are in the correct folder and still zipped. Anything else that I need to do?

Malman35
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:51 am

Re: N64 not showing up even with ROMs loaded?

Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:02 pm

I am assuming you are using retro pie. If so then I've had the same problem. I think it has to do with BIOS or something but I don't know for sure. If it does have to do with that then I would appreciate someone telling me and rogers017 how to install the bios or whatever you have to do.

User avatar
GTR2Fan
Posts: 1601
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:20 pm
Location: South East UK

Re: N64 not showing up even with ROMs loaded?

Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:06 pm

Have you checked here already?

https://github.com/retropie/retropie-setup/wiki

I'm guessing you probably have as it's the first hit in Google when searching for "RetroPie ROMs", but I thought I'd post the link anyway.
Pi2B Mini-PC/Media Centre: ARM=1GHz (+3), Core=500MHz, v3d=500MHz, h264=333MHz, RAM=DDR2-1200 (+6/+4/+4+schmoo). Sandisk Ultra HC-I 32GB microSD card on '50=100' OCed slot (42MB/s read) running Raspbian/KODI16, Seagate 3.5" 1.5TB HDD mass storage.

rogers017
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 10:25 pm

Re: N64 not showing up even with ROMs loaded?

Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:09 pm

Yes, I am am using retropie and Raspbian Jessie. I forgot to put that in there. Long story short i was using Wheezy and everything was fine but somehow corrupted the card and used Jessie and retropie on a new card.

gman98
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2016 4:28 pm

Re: N64 not showing up even with ROMs loaded?

Thu Mar 10, 2016 8:55 pm

I'm using Jessie and the latest version of Retropie and my N64 roms show up ok, they have a .7z file extension

Lickwidsoap
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2016 1:43 am

Re: N64 not showing up even with ROMs loaded?

Sun May 22, 2016 7:00 am

Make sure you extract, Accepted File Extensions: .z64 .n64 .v64, not just the .zip

pie_noob
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:19 pm

Re: N64 not showing up even with ROMs loaded?

Sat Jul 09, 2016 8:24 pm

Extract the files (don't leave them compressed). I had the same problem.

User avatar
usury
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:06 am

Re: N64 not showing up even with ROMs loaded?

Fri Feb 03, 2017 8:30 am

I know this is an old thread, but this information may be useful for someone searching for a solution in the future.

The libretro core for N64 (lr_mupen64plus) will play zipped file (*.zip). I don't know whether the stand-alone emulator will.

However, you must edit the emulationstation config file

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/emulationstation/es_systems.cfg
Locate the section for n64 and examine the "extension" line

Code: Select all

  <system>
    <name>n64</name>
    <fullname>Nintendo 64</fullname>
    <path>/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/n64</path>
    <extension>.z64 .n64 .v64 .Z64 .N64 .V64</extension>
    <command>/opt/retropie/supplementary/runcommand/runcommand.sh 0 _SYS_ n64 %ROM%</command>
    <platform>n64</platform>
    <theme>n64</theme>
 
Change "extension" to include .zip and .ZIP

Code: Select all

  <system>
    <name>n64</name>
    <fullname>Nintendo 64</fullname>
    <path>/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/n64</path>
    <extension>.z64 .n64 .zip .v64 .Z64 .N64 .V64 .ZIP</extension>
    <command>/opt/retropie/supplementary/runcommand/runcommand.sh 0 _SYS_ n64 %ROM%</command>
    <platform>n64</platform>
    <theme>n64</theme>
 
Now restart emulationstation from the UI. Zipped games appear in the N64 menu and are launchable.

Jaime15
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 4:35 am

Re: N64 not showing up even with ROMs loaded?

Sat Mar 04, 2017 5:36 am

Will the zip extension thing work if I'm using retro pi 3.6 on raspberry pi 3

Jaime15
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 4:35 am

Re: N64 not showing up even with ROMs loaded?

Sat Mar 04, 2017 8:42 pm

I have same problem but I'm not using raspbian jesse or whatever, I'm on retropie on raspberry pi 3

mcnutts
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 10:44 pm

Re: N64 not showing up even with ROMs loaded?

Mon May 08, 2017 10:49 pm

Jaime15,
I am using retro pie for my rps 3 and changing that little bit of code worked perfectly for me. I was really dreading having to unzip 200+ roms. As a noob it took me even more google searching to figure out where exactly I was suppose to be typing.

enigs
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 2:08 am

Re: N64 not showing up even with ROMs loaded? [solved]

Sat May 27, 2017 2:10 am

@usury thank you SO MUCH I figured I was having a similar issue because my N64 roms were in .7z files but I didn't want to go through all the extra steps to either delete them or extract them on the Pi, so, I went into the config and added .7z and .zip just for good measure and that cured it!

Return to “Gaming”