Chips
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:21 pm

UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Sun Mar 01, 2015 7:48 pm

I got a working version of Uae4all2 with the DispmanX management I already made for Uae4all1.
You will get best result with a Rpi set to a 50 Hz mode, in /boot/config.txt following lines do the trick (1080p 50Hz):

hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=31

You need libguichan and libguichansdl, in order to install them do the following in command line:
sudo apt-get install libguichan-sdl-0.8.1-1
sudo apt-get install libguichan-0.8.1-1

Two binaries are already available: one for rpi1 (uae4all-rpi1) which can work on rpi2 too, another one for rpi2 (uae4all-rpi2) more optimized for it.

V0.5:
http://fdarcel.free.fr/uae4all2-rpi-chips-0_5.bz2
Enable CPU frequency emulation above 28 Mhz.
Resolution set by command line option is working.
Add Sony six axis workaround.
Add joystick hat support.

V0.4:
http://fdarcel.free.fr/uae4all2-rpi-chips-0_4.bz2
enable screen resolution change in guichan menu.
enable vkeybd: now Left shift is Fire button of joystick


V0.3:
http://fdarcel.free.fr/uae4all2-rpi-chips-0_3.bz2
Now two binary: one for Raspberry Pi 1 and another one for Raspberry Pi 2 (Neon enabled)
Switch to gcc 4.8 compiler instead of 4.6.
Solve the emulator stuck at exit.

V0.2:
http://fdarcel.free.fr/uae4all2-rpi-chips-0_2.bz2
Merge of latest improvement from TomB.
Add command line parameter management. Just write any wrong parameter to get the list of them :p

V0.1:
http://fdarcel.free.fr/uae4all2-rpi-chips-0_1.bz2

Git hub with source code and instruction how to compile:
https://github.com/Chips-fr/uae4arm-rpi
Last edited by Chips on Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:17 am, edited 11 times in total.

AmigaGamer
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Sun Mar 01, 2015 10:10 pm

Very cool chips, thanks so much.

Everything working good up to now. I just replaced the uae4all file from my working build. Switching to menus works really good, no blank screens on menu,

I notice at the same time you release this, there is new release from lubomyr and tomB with improved AGA performance.
https://github.com/lubomyr/uae4all2/com ... dd2f845941
All this makes a good day to play with amiga emulators!

Vanfanel
Posts: 403
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 5:58 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:33 am

Wow, great, Chips!

I'd like to add that the video mode can be changed to a 50Hz mode with the tvservice command, so no need to alter config.txt.
Also, any chance for commandline-driven version without guichan stuff?

User avatar
Trixster
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:53 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:41 am

I'm using the version of uae4all which is installed from the latest iteration of RetroPie. Is there an easy easy to 'upgrade' to this build of uae4all2 or am I better off waiting for it to find its way into the RetroPie update script?

exobuzz
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 6:58 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Mon Mar 02, 2015 3:28 pm

nice work.

if there is a patchset available, we could include it - is it available on source control anywhere with the changes ?

Just to note, retropie has been updated to the newer uae4all2 released a couple of days ago for openpandora/android.

AmigaGamer
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:56 pm

Ive been benchmarking this code against old versions with commodore a1200 sales demo.

Some scenes would slow down to around 32fps with big audio stutter., esp scenes with a highres image background such as http://i.ytimg.com/vi/zL3eXKCTsO0/hqdefault.jpg (with the bouncing ball animation on top)

With your dispmanx code embedded this sits around 46 fps!!

Also tried merging the code with the latest aga improvements from android/pandora git. brief drop to 47fps then jumps back upto 50.

Ive noticed in the past a lot of intro screens on games, even ECS games can suffer slowdown when showing a highres or interlaced picture (eg overdrive-team17 intros) in "soft sdl" so ill be testing a bunch of other stuff tonight.
* Edit: Just tested overdrive - ROCK SOLID 50fps on the intros with your build!

Thanks again for this Chips, it is a significant improvement in my opinion

User avatar
Trixster
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:53 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Tue Mar 03, 2015 12:09 pm

So how do we get this into RetroPie/Emulationstation?

AmigaGamer
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Tue Mar 03, 2015 9:35 pm

Best real usage test of this ive found upto now is puttysquad AGA (whdload)

was previously unplayable, sound and video jerkiness, averaging 32fps on uae4all2
..smooth and playable now with this version

AnotherDan
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 8:22 am

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Wed Mar 04, 2015 8:23 am

Really looking forward to try it out in the weekend...

Chips
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:21 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Fri Mar 06, 2015 10:43 pm

New 0.2 version available. It should have the latest improvement from Tomb for pandora and command line support is added.

Higgy
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 7:12 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Fri Mar 06, 2015 10:58 pm

Many thanks for this. DispmanX & AGA improvements. Going to be a good weekend :D

AmigaGamer
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Sat Mar 07, 2015 12:47 pm

version 2 working good thanks chips!

Any chance you could have a look at custom controls?

Setting custom keys through the guichan menu seems to correctly save the sdl key number to the config file.
However if customControls=1 ,buttons on the joypad don't appear to be mapped to anything.

Noldor
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Sat Mar 07, 2015 1:58 pm

This version is compiled for Raspberry 1 or 2?
Thanks

Chips
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:21 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Sat Mar 07, 2015 7:38 pm

It was compiled for Rpi 1, so was working on Rpi 2 but not optimized.
I just received my Rpi 2 today :)
Now you can take the new V0.3 which has two binary: one for Rpi 1 and a new optimized one for Rpi 2 with neon activated.

Higgy
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 7:12 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Sat Mar 07, 2015 10:57 pm

Nice work again! Neon should give another nice improvement on RPi v2

Noldor
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:14 pm

Tested on raspberry 1 B... seems fire button isn't mapped here :(... tried all keys of my logitech keyboard.
Should be the left shift key.
With the rsi and retropie version the key works.

nbk7
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:09 am

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:45 am

Hi,

I'm using UAE4ALL2 via the latest retropie version 2.6.

Yesterday I spent a few hours testing several games in 2-player mode (1-player is working fine).

Issue1:
Port 0: P1 doesn’t work. P2 automatically drifts to the right and backwards (if possible in the game).
Port 1: no issues: P1 is working fine. P2 doesn’t work.
Port ALL: in all the games P2 automatically drifts to the right and backwards (if possible in the game). Furthermore P1 often steers/fires automatically for P2 and vice versa…

Issue2:
Plenty DemoScreens/Intros can't be passed (about every third game I guess). It simply won’t accept any buttons so I can’t start the actual game. Others work just fine - mostly via left or right mouse button. At Wings of Fury e.g. I have to keep the mouse button pressed and move the mouse in different direction to finish the DemoScreen.

Summary/further findings:
- obviously ‘Right+Down’ are permanently activated for P2
- steering/firing for P1 also oftentimes affects P2 and vice versa
- choosing custom control and assigning a single key to a joypad (like MouseButton to L) has no effect on the assigned button
- using 1-player game mode: both controllers can be used as well, but on the second controller (Port0) you can’t use the fire buttons
- demo screens/Intros oftentimes can't be ended so the actual game can't be started

Hope this can be fixed because aside from this issues UAE4ALL2 is clearly a big improvment compared to the previous standard version in retropie.

Thanks for everything so far.

Chips
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:21 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Thu Mar 12, 2015 9:08 pm

New version 0.4 available :P
between if you increase the resolution to the maximum in guichan, the result is a lot nicer... dispmanX bilinear filtering is too blurry at low resolution :(
Noldor wrote:Tested on raspberry 1 B... seems fire button isn't mapped here :(... tried all keys of my logitech keyboard.
Should be the left shift key.
With the rsi and retropie version the key works.
You can try 0.4 which should works for this. Someone change the default configuration in latest version moreover one switch name did change too so that "virtual keyboard" (which seems related to joystick emulation) wasn't activated since I kept an old makefile...
Indeed compilation switch management is howfull in UAE4ALL... :(

McNetic
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 8:28 am

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Fri Mar 13, 2015 10:09 am

Chips: Thanks for the great work. Do you have the code in a git repository somewhere?

Vanfanel
Posts: 403
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 5:58 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Sat Mar 14, 2015 12:19 pm

Chips: Any hopes for a non-gui version so we can avoid installing libguichan? That s**t has loads of deps, and with the commandline options, a GUI is not necessary at all.
Being able to build with or without GUI is enough. I can do it myself, but you know the code and build system way better and would do it in no time, I'm sure :)

Chips
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:21 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Sat Mar 28, 2015 5:03 pm

nbk7 wrote:Hi,
I'm using UAE4ALL2 via the latest retropie version 2.6.
Are you sure you're using my version of uae4all2 ? by default retropie isn't using my binary...
If yes, do you have the same kind of problem on raspbian ?
Yes i'm a bit lazy to test :p

Vanfanel wrote:Chips: Any hopes for a non-gui version so we can avoid installing libguichan? That s**t has loads of deps, and with the commandline options, a GUI is not necessary at all.
Being able to build with or without GUI is enough. I can do it myself, but you know the code and build system way better and would do it in no time, I'm sure :)
I don't like libguichan too but it's only one apt-get if I remember well... It could be done anyway... note that compiling with the old menu could be even more easier (it's a purely SDL one).
Another interesting thing would be to make this uae4all2 a true retropie core...
Last edited by Chips on Sat Mar 28, 2015 6:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Trixster
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:53 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Sat Mar 28, 2015 5:22 pm

Chips, is there any chance of getting a version where selection of higher MHz are available, beyond 14 and 28mhz? I believe the latest Pandora versions of uae4all2 offer this. I'd like to get Alien Breed 3D II running quicker but a 28mhz 020 just doesn't cut it!

nbk7
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:09 am

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Wed Apr 01, 2015 5:10 pm

Chips wrote:Are you sure you're using my version of uae4all2 ? by default retropie isn't using my binary...
If yes, do you have the same kind of problem on raspbian ?
Yes i'm a bit lazy to test :p
Hi Chips,

probably it's the version from rSI, then?
Bit confusing because they are both called UAE4ALL2... :)

Chips
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:21 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Wed Apr 01, 2015 6:56 pm

Trixster wrote:Chips, is there any chance of getting a version where selection of higher MHz are available, beyond 14 and 28mhz? I believe the latest Pandora versions of uae4all2 offer this. I'd like to get Alien Breed 3D II running quicker but a 28mhz 020 just doesn't cut it!
It's done in my internal version... but dunno if it's deserve a specific delivery :p
nbk7 wrote:probably it's the version from rSI, then?
Bit confusing because they are both called UAE4ALL2... :)
By default it should be rSi version... both use same UAE4ALL2 source code, just the dispmanx management is different...

User avatar
Trixster
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:53 pm

Re: UAE4ALL2 : Amiga 500 & 1200 emulator with DispmanX

Wed Apr 01, 2015 11:04 pm

Chips wrote:
Trixster wrote:Chips, is there any chance of getting a version where selection of higher MHz are available, beyond 14 and 28mhz? I believe the latest Pandora versions of uae4all2 offer this. I'd like to get Alien Breed 3D II running quicker but a 28mhz 020 just doesn't cut it!
It's done in my internal version... but dunno if it's deserve a specific delivery :p

it certainly does Sir! Please please please provide a link! :)

Return to “Gaming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests