doomjoshuaboy
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:25 am

Zandronum Server (Doom source port engine)

Thu Oct 31, 2019 10:03 am

Hello Everyone
Ever want to use Original doom for gaming servers with mods like Complex doom and Brutal Doom? well this is the best bet for you:

After a few days of testing and compiling the zandronum-server on the pi is finally ready for you to compile. (tested on Raspberry PI4 with Rasphian Buster.)

What went wrong was the SQLite needed an update to the latest as well as the lemon code.

So here's how it works:

1. Update the pi to the latest:

Code: Select all

sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade
1a. (optional) reboot (if needed)

Code: Select all

sudo reboot
2. Install these:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install build-essential zlib1g-dev libsdl1.2-dev libjpeg-dev \
    nasm tar libbz2-dev libgtk2.0-dev cmake mercurial libfluidsynth-dev libgl1-mesa-dev \
    libssl-dev git
3. Make new folder and enter there:

Code: Select all

mkdir $HOME/zandronum-build && cd $HOME/zandronum-build
4. Get repo from this website:

Code: Select all

git clone https://[email protected]/doomjoshuaboy/zandronum-rpi.git
5. Make a new folder and enter there:

Code: Select all

mkdir buildserver && cd buildserver
6. and make:

Code: Select all

make clean; \
cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release -DSERVERONLY=ON -DNO_ASM=1 .. && \
make -j$(nproc)
and there you have it. have fun with it. if you have any Problems let me know. or pull request and help out.

Zandronum is an source port engine for the Original Doom. (Not Doom 2016) you can easily find out more here: https://zandronum.com/.

The reason why I did this is because the wiki from: https://wiki.zandronum.com/Compiling_th ... spberry_Pi does not work and need an help getting 3.0.X working so i managed to fix it for arm device.

Cheers,

DoomJoshuaBoy
Last edited by doomjoshuaboy on Sun Nov 03, 2019 4:34 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
B.Goode
Posts: 8861
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:03 pm
Location: UK

Re: Zandronum Server

Thu Oct 31, 2019 2:56 pm

Thank you for your efforts and for sharing the results with the community.

But...

What is a Zandronum Server, and why might I want or need to run one?

doomjoshuaboy
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:25 am

Re: Zandronum Server

Thu Oct 31, 2019 6:54 pm

B.Goode wrote: Thank you for your efforts and for sharing the results with the community.

But...

What is a Zandronum Server, and why might I want or need to run one?
hey, yeah i was going to edit the first post to fix up some stuff.

Zandronum is an source port engine for the Original Doom. (Not Doom 2016) you can easily find out more here: https://zandronum.com/.

the reason why I did this is because the wiki from: https://wiki.zandronum.com/Compiling_th ... spberry_Pi does not work and need an help getting 3.0.X working so i managed to fix it for arm devices So if you need to run a server with mods like the popular ones which is Complex doom and Brutal Doom the results is in this.

doomjoshuaboy
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:25 am

Re: Zandronum Server (Doom source port engine)

Fri Nov 01, 2019 4:56 am

first update released:
bumped to v2 contains unlagged and tics issues please recompile you have v1 installed

also ill be giving out updates for improvements for the servers stuff

doomjoshuaboy
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:25 am

Re: Zandronum Server (Doom source port engine)

Wed Nov 06, 2019 4:25 am

Update:
v3 released if you have recieved version 2 please recompile it
as it contains: Desynced problems and tics issues fixed.
do keep in mind though you might need to replace to the old zandronum.pk3 from 3.0 for it to work because the new one you compiled isn't working for some strange reason.

doomjoshuaboy
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 8:25 am

Re: Zandronum Server (Doom source port engine)

Thu Nov 07, 2019 9:58 pm

sorry for the another bump:
Update:
v4 released if you have received versions 1, 2 or 3 please recompile it
as it contains: client tics fixed.
do keep in mind though you might need to replace to the old zandronum.pk3 from 3.0 for it to work because the new one you compiled isn't working for some strange reason.

Return to “Gaming”