User avatar
oz2cpu
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:30 am
Location: Denmark, CPH
Contact: Website

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:28 pm

hi chips, i finally figured out how to read the version of UAE4ARM, my pi boots with a logo, (amibian 1.4.0003 with all updates just performed)
but it is shown for 0.4 sec so i took a video, and paused the video, I got
Uae4arm v0.5 for raspberry pi by Chips
I did try to google how to read the version of installed uae4arm but gave up finding any working answers.

The update instructions you started to explain is very hard to understand,
sure i could do the git install, that is the only thing i understand so far.
is it not possible to have some sort of script installed called :
auto_update_uae4arm_from_the_internet_for_noobs :-)
and then this script go and get and unpack and what ever is needed ?
Denmark Copenhagen webx.dk radioamateur OZ2CPU

User avatar
SeongGino
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:16 am
Contact: Twitter

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:55 am

Hello! Pardon the intrusion, but I'm following up from oz's post earlier.

The current distribution we use is Amibian 1.4 (Updated to version 1.4.0003 via the built-in update script, and further confirmed with the generic apt-get update/upgrade command). However, I personally have been attempting to run your latest version from the Github repository with no luck.

What I first tried was the steps as you described on the Github readme. However...
Chips wrote:
Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:10 pm
If you look at github uae4arm page, i descripte the following part: you need to install some package. Then do a command "make" and wait.
For starters, Amibian also needed the added G++ compiler, as it was missing. But, even then, it fails at a certain point exactly as shown:

Code: Select all

src/od-rasp/rasp_gfx.cpp:25:22: fatal error: bcm_host.h: No such file or directory
 #include "bcm_host.h"
                                         ^
compilation terminated.
<builtin>: recipe for target 'src/od-rasp/rasp_gfx.o' failed
make: *** [src/od-rasp/rasp_gfx.o] Error 1
To be fair, Amibian is explicitly marketed as a stripped-down Raspbian setup that merely boots into the command line, and automatically launches any one out of a set of pre-build uae4arm images (One of which is titled "Chips' latest uae4arm'); knowing this, I followed the above steps again and compiled it in Raspbian Stretch, and completed fine. Running the program was fine as well. However, extracting this executable back into Amibian as a stand-in for one of the emulator "spots" would automatically exit the program and boot back to the command-line frontend. It displays an error for only a single frame sometimes, but it's something to do with libpng. (Yes, the respective data files from the Github repo, including the added Quickstart icon, was transferred as well to the directory it was being run in)

So, my question is; are there any dependencies necessary to run/compile Raspbian that is normally bundled with a stock Raspbian image?
Just your average Seong. Nothing more to see here...

User avatar
oz2cpu
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:30 am
Location: Denmark, CPH
Contact: Website

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:58 am

>SeongGino
thanks my friend :-)
at least I am not alone, I too find it a bit complex, why do we need compilers to perform updates ?
why cant we just overwrite a bunch of files in a bunch of folders, using a ready made script from the internet,
this way the script is changed by the releaser of new versions, when stuff is newly released,
all people can just run the script to see if new updates are avail or not,
at least it looks like this is what they have done with amibian, it is simply called update
Denmark Copenhagen webx.dk radioamateur OZ2CPU

User avatar
SeongGino
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:16 am
Contact: Twitter

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Thu Jan 11, 2018 2:37 pm

oz2cpu wrote:
Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:58 am
why do we need compilers to perform updates ?
why cant we just overwrite a bunch of files in a bunch of folders, using a ready made script from the internet,
this way the script is changed by the releaser of new versions, when stuff is newly released,
all people can just run the script to see if new updates are avail or not,
at least it looks like this is what they have done with amibian, it is simply called update
That's not so simple.
The versions of UAE4ARM packaged are simply pre-compiled builds of the project at various states; so unless the developer himself essentially makes pre-built releases at various points in development... this is the only way to do it; otherwise, it would be a disorganized mess of otherwise useless source files and such.

After all, UAE4ARM is far from being an Amibian-specific project.
Just your average Seong. Nothing more to see here...

User avatar
oz2cpu
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:30 am
Location: Denmark, CPH
Contact: Website

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:57 am

I am no expert, far from it, completely new to Linux :-)
this is why I ask all the question's, since I find it odd and hard to figure out,
I know Linux is not like anything else I know,
the trick as far as I understand it, people make and distribute SOURCE files,
those files need to be COMPILED for, or on the target system, the smart thing here is,
no matter what type of target system, the source is the same, and the program that come out of the compile can then work on multible platforms..
BUT for a beginner this is hard to figure out.
I would love.. pretty please with sugar on top..
to get a text document, with line by line, what to do..
from the beginning, all included, also all the programs install and what have you.
it must be made so we simply copy and paste line by line, answer yes to all, and then done bingo, upgraded..
We are in the Raspberry Pi forum, fine so we all use the same hardware,
and we also use Amibian latest version, right, so it should be clear (to the expert) where all files are, and where the new upgraded go.
Denmark Copenhagen webx.dk radioamateur OZ2CPU

User avatar
oz2cpu
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:30 am
Location: Denmark, CPH
Contact: Website

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Fri Jan 12, 2018 11:25 am

GOOD NEWS FOLKS:

https://gunkrist79.wixsite.com/amibian/ ... t-revision

the latest UAE4ARM update by chips is soon also included in the upcoming Amibian update,
all you have to do here, is update :-) so stay tuned..
Denmark Copenhagen webx.dk radioamateur OZ2CPU

Chips
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:21 pm

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:51 pm

SeongGino wrote:
Thu Jan 11, 2018 12:55 am
For starters, Amibian also needed the added G++ compiler, as it was missing. But, even then, it fails at a certain point exactly as shown:

Code: Select all

src/od-rasp/rasp_gfx.cpp:25:22: fatal error: bcm_host.h: No such file or directory
 #include "bcm_host.h"
                                         ^
compilation terminated.
<builtin>: recipe for target 'src/od-rasp/rasp_gfx.o' failed
make: *** [src/od-rasp/rasp_gfx.o] Error 1
you were missing this:
apt-get install libraspberrypi-dev

Ideally they should have a script in amibian retrieving latest source and compiling it...

Here is what i noted in order to update to latest source in amibian:

Code: Select all

apt-get update
apt-get install git g++ make libraspberrypi-dev
git clone https://github.com/Chips-fr/uae4arm-rpi/
cd uae4arm-rpi
apt-get install libsdl1.2-dev 
apt-get install libguichan-dev
apt-get install libsdl-ttf2.0-dev
apt-get install libsdl-gfx1.2-dev
apt-get install libxml2-dev
apt-get install libflac-dev
apt-get install libmpg123-dev
apt-get install libmpeg2-4-dev
make
cp uae4arm /root/amiga/6
cp data/quickstart.ico /root/amiga/data

gunkrist
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 6:45 pm

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:43 pm

I have updated Amibian with the latest changes to uae4arm. All people need to do is to type update and enjoy.

Chips is right, a script that downloads and compiles uae4arm from the source is a good idea. Will start working on that.

Only thing is that i need to change the source files alittle to make the shutdown button in the gui work on amibian. I also added more 4:3 screen modes to use with picasso while i was at it.

Best regards.
Gunnar Kristjánsson

Chips
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:21 pm

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:08 pm

Thanks to some threading of display, the performance has been improved in latest version:

Image

I taken too the fpu jit from tomb, so fpu demos/games are faster.
ipf is supported too...

neuro_999
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 11:30 am

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Fri Mar 09, 2018 8:07 am

Hello.
How about serial emulation?.
i saw in "od-pandora/sysconfig.h"
/* #define SERIAL_PORT */ /* serial port emulation */
but i dont see any #ifdef in the code... is a work in progress?. It must be nice a serial emulation trough the RPI serial GPIOS.
It must be nice to implement. In the mist hw works fine.
http://blog.paradroyd.com/post/13461072 ... -mist-fpga
It will be awesome to link a mist with a uae4arm or both raspberyss...

nilly
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 8:44 am

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:13 pm

This is a tip for you guys with keyrah needing a Menu key:

I needed a solution for the F12-Menu key on my A600-Pi with keyrah v2
as a couple of more folks do as ive read alot of whining about this
in the past.

CTRL as menu key causes issues on wb 3.9, and Amiga keys are ofcource
a no go for any setup.

So ive made a litte script that sends F12 with the press of a microswitch
i put in the back of my 600, works a treat, you whiners could have done
this ages ago :).

I have it setup as press of microswitch F12, and hold for 2secs does
a system friendly reboot of the Pi.

Just a tip, do with it what you want. I love it, easy, works in any
version on uae4arm..

And a BIG hat of to chips (and the other developers of uae/uae4arm)

nilly
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 8:44 am

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Tue Mar 20, 2018 8:15 am

Have anyone done any speed tests with RPi 3+?

Mabye a sysinfo speed screenshot?
Trying to figure out if its a worthwhile upgrade for a machine only running
uae4arm, the ethernet and 5ghz is wortwhile ofcource, but im more interessted in how much the small CPU boost will gain in uae4arm speeds.

Haemogoblin
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 12:13 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact: Website

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Mon Mar 26, 2018 4:54 pm

Hey everyone I seem to have hit a problem and I'm not sure what is causing it.

Flashed an new copy of respbian to SD card, was setting everything up as you do. Downloaded the latest version of uae4arm and when i came to run it. I discovered it will run while in x11 but not while i'm in terminal. I get a blank screen and both LEDS are lit constantly.
Blackadder: Right Baldrick, let's try again, shall we? This is called adding. If I have two beans, and then I add two more, what do I have?
Baldrick: Some beans

Chips
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:21 pm

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:13 pm

nilly wrote:
Tue Mar 20, 2018 8:15 am
Have anyone done any speed tests with RPi 3+?

Mabye a sysinfo speed screenshot?
Image

I get many undervolt issue on this rpi3b+... they should get ride of the microUSB for power supply...

Roken
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 4:35 pm

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:37 pm

I'm hitting a problem with this (and not just UAE4ARM, but all the Amiga emulators that ship with retropie).

I was an Amiga user for many years, with a heavily customised A1200 (Apollo 68060 board, CGX gfx card, MAS Player, IDE card, and a daughter board that I forget, all hacked into a tower with a sawn apart and re-assembled back panel ).

Before me and miggy parted company, I imaged my main system partition and (I thought - my programs - but something went wrong there). Nevertheless, after some tweaking (mainly emulator settings and s:startup-sequence) I got to the stage that I could easily boot the image (hdf) under emulation. It still works with FS-UAE on Arch Linux today.

Now, I have a Pi turned over to dedicated use as retropie, with it's own KB, Mouse, Gamepad and shared monitor. However, I've tried replicating the FS-UAE settings within the retropie emulator settings, and I can't get a successful boot. With some work, I can get a boot that fails to a shell, but ideally I'd like to get my old system booting again.

The '060 libraries have been disabled, so it's not an '060 OS specific problem, and I've made sure that any references to disks are either satisfied, or disabled, but all I get is a black screen.

Is there a way I can make the FS-UAE config that works work with UAE4ARM (or any of the alternatives)?
Headless PI. OMG, someone cut it's head off. Oh, hang on. it didn't have one to start with.

nilly
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2016 8:44 am

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:02 pm

Chips wrote:
Wed Mar 28, 2018 6:13 pm

Image

I get many undervolt issue on this rpi3b+... they should get ride of the microUSB for power supply...
Thanks for the screen grab, seems like a very worthwhile upgrade.

What volt/Amp power supply do you get problems with?

Roken
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 4:35 pm

Re: Uae4arm: Amiga emulator with JIT and DispmanX

Mon Apr 02, 2018 10:31 pm

So, having finally found a working HD (I must have had problems in the past with an hdf, though I can't for the life of me remember), I found an AFForever modified directory (or two, including programs) that does work.

I'm pleased to say, my go to benchmark (being a game that I wrote for Amiga back in the day) performs well. It's a simple game, Draughts (or Checkers for those across the pond) and uses a recursive algorithm for the CPU to select it's next move. From level 1 (CPU is dumb) to level 9 (you will honestly struggle to beat it).

I wrote the program so that you could increase the level as the game progressed and there were fewer pieces on the board, which meant less for the CPU to consider. Opening moves and forced moves (i.e if you can take a piece - you must - no hufting in my version) were recognised quickly, but general gameplay could slow to a crawl after the opening moves with all pieces on the board, even on an '060 (which is what I wrote it on).

I use to start at level three or, if I was patient, level four, and increase as the game went on. I have yet to see level nine in action.

On UAE4ARM on a 3B (not + - but that will be my next test once I figure out a couple of other retropie issues on the 3B+ compared with the 3B) I was able to start at level six.

If anyone wants to try it, it was orginally shareware (£5 per pop) but once orders dried up, I released it PD. I don't mind all the personal info being in the readme - the home address, email address and just about everything else that identifies me are ancient history, you can find it at http://aminet.net/package/game/board/AmigaDraughts.

The only possible issue with it (and I don't know if it's the game) but after quiting and moving to some other benchmarks, I got a "Please disable JIT" error. These didn't occur whilst playing, and the other benchmarks (SysSpeed and SysInfo) were fine after restarting. Could be coincidence. No chance of me fixing if it's my game - the source code was lost many years ago.

Oh: I should add, to access the game menu during the game, click both mouse buttons together. If you only have a game controller, I have no idea - it was written for mouse control on a real amiga.

EDIT: If you don't want to play, some dude put a YouTube video up in 2016 at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n8tglc13mhs
Headless PI. OMG, someone cut it's head off. Oh, hang on. it didn't have one to start with.

Return to “Gaming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests