BenMcLean
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 2:21 am

Re: Quake and Quake III, but not Quake II?

Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:33 pm

VincentGR wrote:
Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:29 pm
BenMcLean wrote:
Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:57 pm
Can we get binaries distributed?
If it is legal and the site permits it, there is no reason I wouldn't upload them.
It's perfectly legal to redistribute binaries because the Quake II source code is GPLv2. It would even be legal to redistribute the shareware PAK files. (but don't bother) It just wouldn't be legal to redistribute the commercial PAK files.

I'd appreciate your sharing, but ultimately, I'd like to get Quake II added to the RetroPie setup script. That would make it easy for people running RetroPie to set up and start playing Quake II.

User avatar
VincentGR
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:44 pm

Re: Quake and Quake III, but not Quake II?

Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:36 pm

Yes that would be great, I have 1 and 3 on my RetroPie.

jdonald
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:36 pm

Re: Quake and Quake III, but not Quake II?

Tue Dec 19, 2017 3:43 am

Isn't RetroPie largely limited to the legacy Broadcom driver at this time? Given the OpenGL requirement I think this could work on RetroPie for ODROID, but for Pi we'd need better support for rpi3-mesa.

https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/issues/2093

Return to “Gaming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests