BenMcLean
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 2:21 am

Re: Quake and Quake III, but not Quake II?

Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:33 pm

VincentGR wrote:
Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:29 pm
BenMcLean wrote:
Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:57 pm
Can we get binaries distributed?
If it is legal and the site permits it, there is no reason I wouldn't upload them.
It's perfectly legal to redistribute binaries because the Quake II source code is GPLv2. It would even be legal to redistribute the shareware PAK files. (but don't bother) It just wouldn't be legal to redistribute the commercial PAK files.

I'd appreciate your sharing, but ultimately, I'd like to get Quake II added to the RetroPie setup script. That would make it easy for people running RetroPie to set up and start playing Quake II.

User avatar
VincentGR
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:44 pm

Re: Quake and Quake III, but not Quake II?

Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:36 pm

Yes that would be great, I have 1 and 3 on my RetroPie.

jdonald
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:36 pm

Re: Quake and Quake III, but not Quake II?

Tue Dec 19, 2017 3:43 am

Isn't RetroPie largely limited to the legacy Broadcom driver at this time? Given the OpenGL requirement I think this could work on RetroPie for ODROID, but for Pi we'd need better support for rpi3-mesa.

https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/issues/2093

386dx40
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:30 pm

Re: Quake and Quake III, but not Quake II?

Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:39 pm

Hi,

I'm trying the tutorial to run the game demo with the last source but when I run the executable I get this errors:

----- refresher initialization -----
LoadLibrary("ref_gl.so") failed: No such file or directory
CDAudio_Init: Unable to open default CD-ROM drive: Invalid CD-ROM drive index
-------- game initialization -------
LoadLibrary("game.so")
********************
ERROR: failed to load game DLL
********************
Shutting down OpenAL.
Error: Error during initialization


I remember having some warning during the compilation but I didn't save the output. I've enabled the gl driver thinking could be related to that but no way. Any help? :)

I also tried to recompile the source and now I get this (???):

src/refresh/files/jpeg.c:55:1: error: conflicting types for ‘jpeg_mem_src’
jpeg_mem_src(j_decompress_ptr cinfo, unsigned char *mem, unsigned long len)
^~~~~~~~~~~~
In file included from src/refresh/files/jpeg.c:30:0:
/usr/include/jpeglib.h:923:14: note: previous declaration of ‘jpeg_mem_src’ was here
EXTERN(void) jpeg_mem_src (j_decompress_ptr cinfo,
^~~~~~~~~~~~


Before even with some warning it didn't stop this way! :shock:

jdonald
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:36 pm

Re: Quake and Quake III, but not Quake II?

Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:52 pm

Hey 386dx40,

I explain how to avoid the libjpeg header issue at the end of my Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:05 pm post earlier in this thread. Basically you should use the master branch rather than the opengl_es branch, then it's a non-issue.

Not sure if your earlier problem was tied to using the wrong branch as well?

386dx40
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:30 pm

Re: Quake and Quake III, but not Quake II?

Tue Feb 06, 2018 8:15 pm

jdonald wrote:
Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:52 pm
Hey 386dx40,

I explain how to avoid the libjpeg header issue at the end of my Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:05 pm post earlier in this thread. Basically you should use the master branch rather than the opengl_es branch, then it's a non-issue.

Not sure if your earlier problem was tied to using the wrong branch as well?
Thank you! I'm now using that source to compile the game and it's compiling without errors and it runs! :)

It runs quiet well with texture filtering and all, but need to test it better cause the mouse sometimes seems not to fire during gameplay and sometimes it freeze firing. Anyway impressive porting of the game.

JohnnyDub
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 1:18 am

Re: Quake and Quake III, but not Quake II?

Wed Feb 07, 2018 1:33 am

Hi Guys,
i followed spidey57 description and got Quake II running with OpenGL_es. It was running ok... if any lighting was on the screen it started dropping the framerate to much to be playable. The i discovered jdonalds thread about the newest branch in normal gl. I downloaded the github repo. Followed exactly the descirption in the readme text with this result: ....everything fine....then this:

Code: Select all

Yamagi Quake II v7.11pre
========================
Client build options:
 + SDL2
 - CD audio
 + OGG/Vorbis
 + OpenAL audio
 + Zip file support
Platform: Linux
Architecture: arm
Byte ordering: little endian

Added packfile './baseq2/pak0.pak' (3307 files).
Added packfile './baseq2/pak1.pak' (279 files).
Added packfile './baseq2/pak2.pak' (2 files).
Added packfile '/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/ports/quake2//baseq2/pak0.pak' (3307 files).
Added packfile '/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/ports/quake2//baseq2/pak1.pak' (279 files).
Added packfile '/home/pi/RetroPie/roms/ports/quake2//baseq2/pak2.pak' (2 files).
Using '/home/pi/.yq2//baseq2' for writing.
execing default.cfg
execing yq2.cfg
execing config.cfg
You can't bind the special key "ESCAPE"!
couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
Console initialized.

------- sound initialization -------
LoadLibrary(libopenal.so.1)
AL lib: (WW) alc_initconfig: Failed to initialize backend "pulse"
...opening OpenAL device:ok
...creating OpenAL context: ok
...making context current: ok

OpenAL settings:
AL_VENDOR: OpenAL Community
AL_RENDERER: OpenAL Soft
AL_VERSION: 1.1 ALSOFT 1.15.1
AL_EXTENSIONS: AL_EXT_ALAW AL_EXT_DOUBLE AL_EXT_EXPONENT_DISTANCE AL_EXT_FLOAT32 AL_EXT_IMA4 AL_EXT_LINEAR_DISTANCE AL_EXT_MCFORMATS AL_EXT_MULAW AL_EXT_MULAW_MCFORMATS AL_EXT_OFFSET AL_EXT_source_distance_model AL_LOKI_quadriphonic AL_SOFT_buffer_samples AL_SOFT_buffer_sub_data AL_SOFTX_deferred_updates AL_SOFT_direct_channels AL_SOFT_loop_points AL_SOFT_source_latency

Available OpenAL devices:
- ALSA Default
- bcm2835 ALSA, bcm2835 ALSA (CARD=ALSA,DEV=0)
- bcm2835 ALSA, bcm2835 IEC958/HDMI (CARD=ALSA,DEV=1)

Current OpenAL device:
- OpenAL Soft

Number of OpenAL sources: 31

Starting Ogg Vorbis.
Ogg Vorbis not initializing.
Sound sampling rate: 0
------------------------------------

----- refresher initialization -----
LoadLibrary(ref_gl1.so)
Byte ordering: little endian

Refresh: Yamagi Quake II OpenGL Refresher
Client: 7.11pre

Refresher build options:
 + Retexturing support
 - Gamma via X11

SDL version is: 2.0.7
SDL video driver is "x11".
setting mode 4: 640 480
MESA-LOADER: failed to retrieve device information
MESA-LOADER: failed to retrieve device information
MESA-LOADER: failed to retrieve device information
R_InitContext(): Got an OpenGL version 0.0 context - need (at least) 1.4!
ref_gl::R_SetMode() - invalid mode
ref_gl::R_Init() - could not R_SetMode()
ERROR: Loading ref_gl1.so as rendering backend failed!
------------------------------------

Shutting down OpenAL.
Cmd_RemoveCommand: force_centerview not added
Cmd_RemoveCommand: +mlook not added
Cmd_RemoveCommand: -mlook not added
Shutting down input.
recursive shutdown
Error: Couldn't load a rendering backend!
Does anyone know whats wrong. I tried everything..rebuilding a secound time..no errors. Now I'm considerably pissed. :oops: :?

spidey57
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 10:52 pm

Re: Quake and Quake III, but not Quake II?

Sun Feb 11, 2018 2:51 pm

If you are struggling with yamagi quake2 try q2pro:-

http://skuller.net/q2pro/
https://github.com/AndreyNazarov/q2pro

Latest commit 924ff39 on 3 Dec 2014

Tested on a RaspberryPi3
using
RASPBIAN STRETCH WITH DESKTOP
Image with desktop based on Debian Stretch
Version:November 2017
Release date:2017-11-29
Kernel version:4.9

unzip
q2pro-master.zip

sudo apt-get install libsdl1.2-dev

make

when compiled you need to read the INSTALL file to cp the pak files as usual and

cp src/client/ui/q2pro.menu ~/.q2pro/baseq2/
so that the menu works correctly then change to windowed mode
turn on opengl in raspi-config & reboot

You can play online if you paste a server IP address from

http://q2servers.com

then open console and type

connect ipaddress

If too dark
Check your ‘intensity’ and ‘gl_modulate’ settings.
set both to 2.

Happy fragging!

spidey57
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 10:52 pm

Re: Quake and Quake III, but not Quake II?

Sat Mar 17, 2018 4:14 pm

Quake2 server running on RaspberryPiZero-W RaspberryPi2 or RaspberryPi3.

Do you have a spare RpiZeroW gathering dust? Use it as a Quake2 server.

This assumes you have successfully compiled and configured YamagiQ2, Rogue and Xatrix
as detailed earlier in this thread.
It is quicker to configure the server(s) on a RaspberryPi3 and then move the SD card to the Rpi0w/2.
Once configured reboot the Rpi0/2/3 into CLI mode for better performance.
No need to configure all the servers just pick the one you need.

No additional software required for 1.1, 1.2, 1.3

1.1 standard dm
1.2 xatrix dm
1.3 rogue dm

1.1 create server.cfg in quake2\baseq2 with these params

set hostname "rpi standard dm"
set deathmatch 1
set maxclients 8
set fraglimit 50
set timelimit 20
set sv_maplist "q2dm1 q2dm2 q2dm3 q2dm4 q2dm5 q2dm6 q2dm7 q2dm8"
map q2dm1

to start the server ./q2ded +set game baseq2 +exec server.cfg

1.2 create server.cfg in quake2\rogue with these params

set hostname "rpi rogue dm"
set deathmatch 1
set maxclients 8
set fraglimit 50
set timelimit 20
set sv_maplist "rdm1 rdm2 rdm3 rdm4 rdm5 rdm6 rdm7 rdm8 rdm9 rdm10 rdm11 rdm12 rdm13 rdm14"
map rdm1

to start the server ./q2ded +set game rogue +exec server.cfg

1.3 create server.cfg in quake2\xatrix with these params

set hostname "rpi xatrix dm"
set deathmatch 1
set maxclients 8
set fraglimit 50
set timelimit 20
set sv_maplist "xdm1 xdm2 xdm3 xdm4 xdm5 xdm6 xdm7"
map xdm1

to start the server ./q2ded +set game xatrix +exec server.cfg

Happy fragging!

spidey57
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 10:52 pm

Re: Quake and Quake III, but not Quake II?

Wed Mar 21, 2018 5:32 pm

2 more Quake2 server mods that run fine on any rpi0w, rpi0, rpi2, rpi3.

This assumes you have successfully compiled and configured YamagiQ2 as detailed earlier in this thread.

1.4 Capture The Flag (CTF) and
1.5 Lithium (LITH)

Files required:-

https://www.yamagi.org/quake2/
Three Wave Capture The Flag: Three Wave CTF Version 1.05 (06/08/2017)
https://deponie.yamagi.org/quake2/quake ... .05.tar.xz

https://deponie.yamagi.org/quake2/idstu ... ll-ctf.exe

https://github.com/mattayres/li2mod
Latest commit 6415a7e on Sep 23, 2010
https://github.com/mattayres/li2mod/archive/master.zip

1.4 create a ctf folder alongside baseq2
unzip quake2-ctf-1.05.tar.xz
make
cp game.so into the ctf folder

copy pak0.pak from q2-3.20-x86-full-ctf.exe into ctf folder

create server.cfg in quake2/ctf with these params

set hostname "rpi ctf"
set deathmatch 1
set maxclients 8
set fraglimit 50
set timelimit 20
set sv_maplist "q2ctf1 q2ctf2 q2ctf3 q2ctf4 q2ctf5"
map q2ctf1

to start the server ./q2ded +set game ctf +exec server.cfg

1.5 create a lithium folder alongside baseq2

unzip li2mod-master.zip
make

copy the contents of the li2mod-master/lithium folder to the lithium folder created earlier
cp gamei386.so to game.so

cp lithium.cfg to server.cfg

edit server.cfg

set hostname "rpi lithium"

to start the server
./q2ded +set dedicated 1 +set game lithium +exec server.cfg

Happy fragging!

Return to “Gaming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests