Page 1 of 1

[fixed] maximized window - scratch unresponsive

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 3:19 pm
by nisw
Hi!

I was just testing if the sd cards I copied work on our new Raspberry Pi B+'s, and now I noticed that Scratch stops responding when I maximize the window. The window is blank, but I can get it to show up by switching desktop back an forth. But it still will not respond to anything. The cpu is not doing anything, so that is not the issue. Waiting for a long time doesn't help. Restoring the window makes it respond again. I can even manually resize the window to fill the screen without problems. I've done an update && upgrade and reboot, but that didn't help.

Any ideas?

Edit:
The summary of the solution is to update everything

Re: maximized window - scratch unresponsive

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 3:33 pm
by simplesi
Lots of things have changed in past 5 weeks - can you get your system up to date and try again before we start investigating - Scratch itself was updated a few days ago

Simon

Re: maximized window - scratch unresponsive

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 3:45 pm
by nisw
Like I wrote, I just did a sudo apt-get update && upgrade. Anything else I should update?

Re: maximized window - scratch unresponsive

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 3:54 pm
by simplesi
I believe that it depends on what base image is but I have lost the plot with things :) (As yuo can see by inability to fully read a post) :)

Anyway - my systems works fine when I maximise the Scratch window

This is with new GUI and Scratch 1.4 of 14-Jan-15

Are you on new GUI?
Are you on Scratch 14-Jan-15?

Simon

Re: maximized window - scratch unresponsive

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 4:11 pm
by nisw
(This might be a stupid question) Is updating and upgrading not equal to downloading the latest raspbian image? Because the image I'm using is from some time ago indeed. That probably means I'm not on the new GUI. How do I check this?

Re: maximized window - scratch unresponsive

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 4:23 pm
by B.Goode
nisw wrote:Is updating and upgrading not equal to downloading the latest raspbian image?
No.
Because the image I'm using is from some time ago indeed. That probably means I'm not on the new GUI. How do I check this?
If the 'start' button is at the bottom left (and you haven't customised it to force it to be there) you have the 'original' gui.

If the start point for the gui menu system is at the top left (and you haven't customised it to force it to be there) you probably have the 'improved' (Dec 2014) gui.

The instructions for upgrading the gui, and a description of the changes, are in the RPF blog here - http://www.raspberrypi.org/changes-to-t ... nt-1173414

Re: maximized window - scratch unresponsive

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 4:35 pm
by nisw
Thanks a lot, I'll do that!

Re: maximized window - scratch unresponsive

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 5:03 pm
by nisw
Ok so now I've done
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
sudo apt-get install raspberrypi-ui-mods
sudo reboot

And I got the new GUI. But still, when Scratch is running in maximized window it does not update the window. The program does run, because when I resize it back, I can see that the cat has moved because of my input during the time it was maximized. Also the window does not repaint itself when resizing back (to a smaller window), so it stays black except for the parts that update (like the moving cat and the triggered codeblocks).

Re: maximized window - scratch unresponsive

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 5:09 pm
by simplesi
And what version of Scratch is showing in the title bar?

Re: maximized window - scratch unresponsive

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 5:10 pm
by nisw
Ah.. 2013.... Is there any terminal command to update that?

Re: maximized window - scratch unresponsive

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 5:28 pm
by simplesi

Re: maximized window - scratch unresponsive

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 5:44 pm
by nisw
Awesome, that fixed it! Thanks a bunch for the quick help!

Re: [fixed] maximized window - scratch unresponsive

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2015 6:10 pm
by simplesi
Your welcome :)
Its a bit of mess at the moment until all these changes get rolled up into one working image but hopefully there will be master image update soon

Simon