jumpa

Bluetooth Data from Rasp to Android

Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:27 pm

Hi, my requirements are:

"An Android app that communicates via BT to a Raspberry and show real time data from temperature sensor attached to it".

I'm a real beginner with Rasp, but I know Android programming. Could you please help me getting started?
Some questions/requests:

1. Should i use Rasp or Arduino? In case which Rasp model do I need?
2. Do I need a breadboard?
3. Is BT communication quiet hard? Should I use something else like Wifi?
4. Any tutorial link would be very useful.

Many thanks in advance!

thagrol

Re: Bluetooth Data from Rasp to Android

Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:23 pm

jumpa wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:27 pm
Hi, my requirements are:

"An Android app that communicates via BT to a Raspberry and show real time data from temperature sensor attached to it".

I'm a real beginner with Rasp, but I know Android programming. Could you please help me getting started?
Some questions/requests:

1. Should i use Rasp or Arduino? In case which Rasp model do I need?
Um, doesn't your requirement specify "a Raspberry"?
2. Do I need a breadboard?
Probably
3. Is BT communication quiet hard? Should I use something else like Wifi?
Maybe but bluetooth has both a serial port profile and a network profile. Use one of those (depending on which your 'droid device supports) and, once paired, it should be transparent to your code. Just write it as you would any other piece of serial or network code.

If you go the network profile route, you should be able to switch to a different transport (wifi, ethernet, ...) with minimal code changes.
4. Any tutorial link would be very useful.
Nope, sorry. And while I do know what feature are available to bluetooth, I don't have any example code.
Note to self: don't feed the trolls

If I've asked you a question, please answer it. I'm unlikely to be able to help without that information.

xl97

Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:54 pm

I have not doen BT on RaspberryPi before...