tangoviktor
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:56 pm

Strange issue with HDMI on Android TV

Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:29 pm

Hello,

I used an rpi3 and raspand to make my dumb tv into a smart tv. But i have ran into a slight issue regarding the hdmi settings. I have tried pretty much every possible combination that i can have with the config file, but i only get it so far that i get mode not supported by the TV and then a rainbow poweron screen from rpi aaaand after that a black blank page. The strange issue occurs when i unplug the power. Then i suddenly get a glimps of what is on the screen. In this case the android logo. If i would have waited longer i would have had the android tv main menu. Can anybody help me sort this out? I cant be the only one.
Video of the issue is here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W5WUDd5x8Jg

current config.txt settings are as follows

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_drive=2
config_hdmi_boost=11
hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=4
disable_overscan=1
framebuffer_width=1280
framebuffer_height=720
kernel=zImage
device_tree=bcm2710-rpi-3-b.dtb
dtparam=audio=on
dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d,cma-256
initramfs ramdisk.img 0x01f00000
mask_gpu_interrupt0=0x400
avoid_warnings=2
gpu_mem=256
enable_uart=1

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 36570
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Strange issue with HDMI

Wed Apr 26, 2017 9:56 pm

tangoviktor wrote:

Code: Select all

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_drive=2
config_hdmi_boost=11
hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=4
disable_overscan=1
framebuffer_width=1280
framebuffer_height=720
kernel=zImage
device_tree=bcm2710-rpi-3-b.dtb
dtparam=audio=on
dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d,cma-256
initramfs ramdisk.img 0x01f00000
mask_gpu_interrupt0=0x400
avoid_warnings=2
gpu_mem=256
enable_uart=1
Try this:

Code: Select all

#hdmi_force_hotplug=1
#hdmi_drive=2
#config_hdmi_boost=11
#hdmi_group=1
#hdmi_mode=4
#disable_overscan=1
#framebuffer_width=1280
#framebuffer_height=720
kernel=zImage
device_tree=bcm2710-rpi-3-b.dtb
dtparam=audio=on
#dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d,cma-256
initramfs ramdisk.img 0x01f00000
#mask_gpu_interrupt0=0x400
avoid_warnings=2
gpu_mem=256
enable_uart=1
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

tangoviktor
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:56 pm

Re: Strange issue with HDMI

Thu Apr 27, 2017 4:47 am

Nope, did not work.

tangoviktor
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:56 pm

Re: Strange issue with HDMI

Thu Apr 27, 2017 6:28 am

Works on an HDMI monitor, so i think that the config settings are wrong for my TV.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 36570
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Strange issue with HDMI

Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:05 pm

Try booting a copy of plain Raspbian Jessie 2017-04-10.

If that works you can capture the edid data and use that to create a custom setting on your non-Raspbian SDCard.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

tangoviktor
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:56 pm

Re: Strange issue with HDMI

Fri Apr 28, 2017 6:39 pm

I got this info , tried
hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=5

but still got the same problem. Boots into other raspbian GUI with no problems. picture shows the info that i got.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bxzv- ... VBOd3J4cFE

watch what happens if i unplug the power to the raspberry after a minute or so..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GXbgrUHpmu4

beta-tester
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:57 pm
Location: de_DE

Re: Strange issue with HDMI

Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:01 am

am i got it right, your TV is able to display Raspbian installation on the screen properly, but your TV is not able to display your "android" installation?
is on your SD card NOOBS installed? then you maybe are dealing with the wrong config.txt file - if you plug such a SD card into your PC, the config.txt file you normally will see is that for NOOBS only.

BTW, those settings i used sucessfully for all the TV's i ever tried (at home, at parents, at friends, at hotels)

Code: Select all

[pi1]
arm_freq=1000
core_freq=500
sdram_freq=600
over_voltage=6

[pi2]
arm_freq=1000
core_freq=500
sdram_freq=500
over_voltage=2

[all]
max_usb_current=1

gpu_mem=128
gpu_mem_256=112
gpu_mem_512=160
gpu_mem_1024=256

disable_overscan=1
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
config_hdmi_boost=4
hdmi_drive=2
{ I only give negative feedback }
RPi B (256MB), B (512MB), B+, ZeroW; 2B; 3B, 3B+; 4B (4GB)

tangoviktor
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:56 pm

Re: Strange issue with HDMI

Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:31 am

Nope, not NOOBS, but i used the win32diskimager to write the Android tv image to the sd card.

beta-tester
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:57 pm
Location: de_DE

Re: Strange issue with HDMI

Sun Apr 30, 2017 7:34 am

where did you got your android tv image for RPi from?
maybe better and more efficient to ask them - if there is a forum/community to ask.
{ I only give negative feedback }
RPi B (256MB), B (512MB), B+, ZeroW; 2B; 3B, 3B+; 4B (4GB)

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 21081
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Strange issue with HDMI

Sun Apr 30, 2017 8:26 am

tangoviktor wrote:Hello,

I used an rpi3 and raspand to make my dumb tv into a smart tv. But i have ran into a slight issue regarding the hdmi settings. I have tried pretty much every possible combination that i can have with the config file, but i only get it so far that i get mode not supported by the TV and then a rainbow poweron screen from rpi aaaand after that a black blank page. The strange issue occurs when i unplug the power. Then i suddenly get a glimps of what is on the screen. In this case the android logo. If i would have waited longer i would have had the android tv main menu. Can anybody help me sort this out? I cant be the only one.
Video of the issue is here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W5WUDd5x8Jg

current config.txt settings are as follows

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_drive=2
config_hdmi_boost=11
hdmi_group=1
hdmi_mode=4
disable_overscan=1
framebuffer_width=1280
framebuffer_height=720
kernel=zImage
device_tree=bcm2710-rpi-3-b.dtb
dtparam=audio=on
dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d,cma-256
initramfs ramdisk.img 0x01f00000
mask_gpu_interrupt0=0x400
avoid_warnings=2
gpu_mem=256
enable_uart=1
Android all flavors has its own Community Forum:

https://groups.google.com/forum/m/#!forum/android-rpi
Retired disgracefully.....
This at present is my daily "computer" https://www.asus.com/us/Chrome-Devices/Chromebit-CS10/

Return to “Android”