Ruptor

High speed pulse generation

Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:39 pm

What is the fastest I can rattle a pin up and down on the GPIO? I am an engineer and I want to make a pulse generator capable of giving a 10nS pulse. I don't know anything about the Pi circuit yet and thought I would ask the question before getting involved in the schematics. The processor runs at 700 MHz so I would have thought that in assembler writting directly to a processor pin it would give me 1.43 nS pulses increasing in 1.43 nS steps allowing me to get about 10 nS with 7 cpu clock cycles but is it possible to do this with the Pi?

joan

Re: High speed pulse generation

Mon Jan 27, 2014 2:41 pm

I think circa 25 MHz is the best that can be done.

It would be an almost pointless exercise as I don't think there will be any possibility of fine tuning the rate.

Ruptor

Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:39 pm

OK thanks Joan I assume you are talking about the GPIO pins. I just wonder if there is any other pin that could be used to generate fast pulses with special low level code? I shall have a look at the Broadcom chip specifications.

rst

Mon Jan 27, 2014 6:21 pm

Perhaps you can use the general purpose clock GPCLK0 (pp. 105 in the Broadcom manual) which can generate up to 125 MHz square wave according to this document. The signal can be accessed through GPIO4 on the P1 header (select alternate function 0). I haven't tested this.

Rene
Last edited by rst on Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

joan

Mon Jan 27, 2014 7:17 pm

rst wrote:Perhaps you can use the general purpose clock GPCLK0 (pp. 65 in the Broadcom manual) which can generate up to 125 MHz square wave according to this document. The signal can be accessed through GPIO4 on the P1 header (select alternate function 0). I haven't tested this.

Rene
Page 106 of the Broadcom BCM2835 ARM Peripherals does say

"Operating Frequency
The maximum operating frequency of the General Purpose clocks is ~125MHz at 1.2V but