hgreen

Floating point hanging

Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:34 am

Hi All,
I'm new to baremetal development and also without much experience on ARM as a whole.
I've managed to setup and get running the example program from briadwiddas here https://github.com/brianwiddas/pi-baremetal which includes driving the framebuffer.

I'm trying to modify this program to call some hardware floating point functions so I started by grabbing some assembler code I found at DWelch's float02 example (https://github.com/dwelch67/raspberrypi ... er/float02) as below to initialise the floating point unit

Code: Select all

/* Enable the vector floating point (VFP) unit */
    mrc p15, 0, r0, c1, c0, 2		/* R0 = Access Control Register	*/
    orr r0,r0,#0x300000 			/* Single precision				*/
    orr r0,r0,#0xC00000 			/* Double precision				*/
    mcr p15, 0, r0, c1, c0, 2		/* Access Control Register = R0	*/
    mov r0,#0x40000000				/* Enable VFP					*/
    fmxr fpexc,r0					/* FPEXC = R0					*/
I inserted this just above the final branch ("b initsys") at the bottom of the assembler code here https://github.com/brianwiddas/pi-barem ... er/start.s

I have also added some entry points in assembler for all of the (single precision) floating point functions I need, like mult, add, subtract etc. here's an example of the multiply one (named "m4mul").

/* multiply */
.global m4mul
m4mul:
    vmov s0,r0
    vmov s1,r1
    vmul.f32 s2,s0,s1
    vmov r0,s2
    bx lr
This is defined as an external function in C with

extern unsigned int m4mul(unsigned int, unsigned int);
When run, the program initialises ok, but on calling this m4mul function it hangs. I'm calling it with a valid IEEE single precision value ...

unsigned int fb = (unsigned int)0x41c80000;	// 25.0
unsigned int xc = m4mul(fb, fb);     // <== Program hangs here.  Expected result ... 25 * 25 = 625 = 0x441c4000
I'm sure I'm doing something stupid, probably in the assembler part, but have no idea what.