caspart

System freezes - howto diagnose

Wed May 06, 2020 2:02 pm

Hi,
I am using the xRTOS solution by LdB for my experiments (I'm a student). I have extended the system with running benchmarks and measuring the number of cycles and some events. But unfortunately, I am experiencing system freezes now and then. Sometimes they seem to happen randomly and for some cases they happen often. I have noticed that often (not sure if always) the program keeps stuck here in this while loop:

Code: Select all

/*-[pl011_uart_putc]--------------------------------------------------------}
. Send a character out via uart.
.--------------------------------------------------------------------------*/
void pl011_uart_putc (char c)
{
	while (PL011UART->FR.TXFF != 0) {};								// Check tx fifo is not full
	PL011UART->DR.DATA = c;											// Transfer character
}

I have read the thread called
Bare metal UART w/FIQ stops working
and I'd like to diagnose my problem. But the code is different and I don't see how/if the UART is linked to the FIQ in my case. (If related to my problem at all.)

I managed to connect to the running image with a JLink probe and OpenOCD. When I use OpenOCD on the terminal, I can inspect registers, select the core and halt it, etc. But ideally I'd like to debug with Eclipse. So I made a debug configuration for this, now I can also connect to the Pi from Eclipse but unfortunately I get the message
Break at address “0x872a4” with no debug information available, or outside of program code
I did compile with -g for debug symbols, and in Eclipse I specified the ELF binary as the executable.

Any ideas how to get this working? Thanks!

LdB

Re: System freezes - howto diagnose

Wed May 06, 2020 2:51 pm

As xRTOS will run on every Pi model you need to provide more info.
You will need to give Pi model and if a multicore model are you running single core or multicore?