Shazaam_Glomutron

Reading from Multiple Encoders

Thu Aug 24, 2017 10:18 pm

I'm a total beginner when it comes to GPIO programming, which is unfortunate considering the project that I need to accomplish. I have a few questions for the group and they relate to how to get data from a specific encoder.
Here's a link to the encoder (I'll be using the 12-bit encoder, for maximum encoder resolution):
https://www.usdigital.com/products/enco ... /shaft/MA3

Here's a list of the power specs:
  • Parameter / Min. / Typ. / Max. / Units
    Power Supply / 4.5 / 5.0 / 5.5 / Volts
    Supply Current / - / 16 / 20 / mA
    Power-up Time / - / - / 50 / mS
The Pin Out is very simple:
  • Pin / Name / Description
    1 / 5 / +5VDC power
    2 / A / PWM output
    3 / G / Ground
This is the square wave math listed with the 12-bit encoder
  • 12-bit PWM:
    x = ((t on * 4098) / (t on+ t off)) -1
    If x <= 4094, then Position = x
    If x = 4096, then Position = 4095
So... the questions:
  • Q: How do I read a square wave via GPIO programming
  • Q: I assume I can do this with python, yes?
  • Q: Is it easy to do this with C++?
  • Q: Can I attach two encoders, power them both, and get unique data for them both?
  • Q: What's the frequency at which I'll get data from the encoders?
  • Q: Is this a defined by the computer clock speed, or the encoder speed?
  • Q: Is this something I can do on the RPi Zero?
Ideally, all I'm trying to do is get the encoder positions at any point in real time. I'd like to be able to wire at least two of these devices onto a single board and preferably I'd like to use the Raspberry Zero because of it's smaller form factor. Once I've collected the data, I'll be broadcasting it over the Ethernet port, because RJ45 allows for long cable runs without signal degradation.

Thank you,
Shazaam_Glomutron

dwelch67

Re: Reading from Multiple Encoders

Fri Aug 25, 2017 12:56 am