Makogan

Why is a stub function changing the behaviour of my program?

Mon Jun 12, 2017 9:30 pm

Ok this will sound like I am crazy, an idiot or both. I am attempting to make a "print" library for my embedded program. So I got a hard coded ascii font (8x8 bits) to render it. I started playing around with the idea of scaling the text up since 8x8 bits is a little small for my current resolution, then weird things started to happen.

This is exactly what is going on right now. As a test I am first drawing a white rectangle, and then on top of that a smaller cyan rectangle.

If I call no functions in between, I get the expected behaviour.
If I call a blank function (a stub, no arguments, no implementation) there are 2 possibilities.
If a variable is 11 or less I get the expected behaviour.
if a variable is 12 or more I only get the rectangle drawn before calling the stub.

In other words, making a variable have a value greater than 11 seems to change the machine state in such a way I cannot draw anymore. The function is:

Code: Select all

drawChar(){}

void init_display()
{
  Display_info disp = {1360, 768, 1360, 768, 32};

set_init_display_message(&disp);

write_to_mailbox((uint32_t) &mailbox_message | BUS_MASK, (Channel)(PTAG_ARM_TO_VC));
  read_from_mailbox(PTAG_ARM_TO_VC);

while(mailbox_message[FB_RESPONSE] == RESPONSE_ERROR){}

uint32_t size = 11;

size = 13;\\ If this is >11 things don't work
  for(uint32_t i=0; i<CHAR_BITS*size; i++)
  {
    for(uint32_t j=0; j<CHAR_BITS*size; j++)
    {
      *(volatile uint32_t *)((mailbox_message[FB_PTR] & ~BUS_MASK) 
        + (i*mailbox_message[FB_VIRTUAL_WIDTH] + j)*mailbox_message[FB_DEPTH]/CHAR_BITS) = WHITE_32;//charTest[i*CHAR_BITS*size+j];
    }
  }

const char *test = basic_font['A'];
  uint32_t charTest[CHAR_BITS*CHAR_BITS*size*size];
  drawChar(); //<- dark magic blank function that breaks things 

size = 10;
  for(uint32_t i=0; i<CHAR_BITS*size; i++)
  {
    for(uint32_t j=0; j<CHAR_BITS*size; j++)
    {