RustyNeX

booting to a single graphical program

Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:08 pm

Hi there,

first of all i am new to the forum and the Pi, i have some experience in programming but thats about it.

what i want to do is use the Pi to display graphical information, for example gauges that show sensor values read by the GPIOs, i want to take full advantage of the graphics power of the Pi, but i am not sure where to start.

the main point though is that it must boot fast, a boot time of 30 seconds is just not viable. so i was thinking is there a way to create a small bit of software that boots quickly and simply runs a simple program? it would simply read the sensors on the GPIOs and then update the graphics.

i have done similar things with huge success using an arduino and the Gameduino, as well as 4D system's products. they are easy to program, boot pretty much instantly and are easy to learn, but they are very limited by what can be done with graphics.

If i wanted to do any kind of 3D images, fancy transparency or layers or even basic video then they pretty much fail completely.

the raspberry Pi is way more powerful (1Ghz quadcore, 1Gb) than the other things i have been using but i feel like that only adds complexity, i don't want to have to deal with a whole operating system to do basic functions that i have already been doing with other technology.

does anyone know if there is any good platforms that i can start from or if there is a good point to start from? so far all the graphical information about the Pi seems to start from a full blown OS,

thanks for your help guys and sorry if this is a really dumb question

kriss

Re: booting to a single graphical program

Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:39 pm

i don't know about something "light" that support opengl
you can try to make a light pilfs with only what you need but it continue to be a kernel ...
to code a self-bootable-gl look not what you want ...

RustyNeX

Wed Apr 22, 2015 6:06 pm

thanks for the reply