Darktrax

Graphics Acronyms & What works with what?

Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:29 pm

I am new to PI, but what I am trying to read up about does not quite fit in beginner's section.

It would be great to get a bit of an overview of how the common programming languages and resources can best be applied to use the built-in features in the Raspberry Pi. There are so many acronyms, libraries, and much stuff to read that seems not to refer to the other hardware features.

I have a list of things that seem related, or sometimes alternative, or sometimes together, or sometimes in conflict. Naturally, also the questions they bring to mind. I have to rely on some goodwill here, on the grounds that there is no question too silly to ask. If any provoke some derision, in my case, it is probably deserved!

X.org, xorg.conf
Yes, this is about display resolution and (Nouveau?) graphics driver, but also about mouse, keyboard and most other aspects of user input. Something that OpenGL ES seems to bypass?

Framebuffer
Something I thought absolutely everything needs on the way to the display screen. I guess I was wrong!

OpenGL and OpenGL ES - There is a GPU in the ARM processor in the Pi that can use this. There are impressive moving textured examples that show off 3D graphics tricks.
Invoked from C, C++, Java - not sure, and not sure how?

GLES and GLES2??
Are these shortened names for OpenGL ES? Are they library names, or just part of path names?

OpenVG
A feature with "support" apparently built-in to the Raspberry Pi processor. Not sure what form this support takes. To use it may require much import of "libraries". Clearly at least one expert can take us down this road. --> https://github.com/ethanol100/RaspiVidYUV

Question1: Is OpenVG something that can be used along with OpenGL ES together, in the same app, with the benefit of both, though possibly in different threads?

Question2: Can OpenVG be used independently, but simultaneously with OpenGL ES, in different apps?