welford
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 12:05 am

Re: Quake 1 Port, Optimization Questions

Tue Aug 23, 2016 11:17 pm

I have been busy updating this over the last few weeks. Performance should be a lot better see: https://github.com/welford/qurp

On an overclocked Raspberry Pi 1 @ 720p, the latest version should run at a solid 60fps. and 30fps at 1080p. On a stock Raspberry Pi 1 @ 720p, it should run at 50~60fps and at just under 30fps at 1080p. I still have a few more changes planned soon and hopefully I can boost the 1080p framerate some more. I don't have a model 2 or 3 but I imagine it's at least better than what I have mentioned here.

vol.2
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 5:17 pm

Re: Quake 1 Port, Optimization Questions

Wed Dec 14, 2016 4:51 pm

welford wrote:I have been busy updating this over the last few weeks. Performance should be a lot better see: https://github.com/welford/qurp

On an overclocked Raspberry Pi 1 @ 720p, the latest version should run at a solid 60fps. and 30fps at 1080p. On a stock Raspberry Pi 1 @ 720p, it should run at 50~60fps and at just under 30fps at 1080p. I still have a few more changes planned soon and hopefully I can boost the 1080p framerate some more. I don't have a model 2 or 3 but I imagine it's at least better than what I have mentioned here.
Can I run this using the composite output on my 2B Pi?

welford
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 12:05 am

Re: Quake 1 Port, Optimization Questions

Fri Dec 16, 2016 7:42 am

I don't see why not.

User avatar
stuartheath
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:42 pm

Re: Quake 1 Port, Optimization Questions

Sat Jan 07, 2017 1:53 am

I love this! I've been following this for a while and glad to see it's being worked on still. I'm hoping at some point I'll be able to have a Quake box on permanently behind my TV ready to play my friends online at any time. Is it possible to run this at lower resolutions for higher framerates? or are there bottlenecks elsewhere on the Pi?

User avatar
stuartheath
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:42 pm

Re: Quake 1 Port, Optimization Questions

Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:13 pm

Hello again,

I managed to compile this and it works great. i'm able to adjust the resolution in the runtime option but does anyone know the command to disable vsync, as i'm locked at 60hz. I'd like to see the performance at 640x480.

welford
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 12:05 am

Re: Quake 1 Port, Optimization Questions

Sat Jan 21, 2017 5:01 pm

Not sure about vsync. But the game is most probably GPU bound. Lower resolutions do give better framerates (at least they do on the rpi1)

User avatar
antiriad
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 7:38 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Twitter

Re: Quake 1 Port, Optimization Questions

Tue Mar 14, 2017 1:21 pm

Hi,
I was looking for a source port of Quake "easy" to install on Raspberry Pi, and now I have discovered this gem!

I saw this video and... WHOOHOOOO!!! :D
Qurp looks fantastic, can't wait to try it on RPi3 tonight!

The project is still in development?
There are hopes for the future support of some mods like the wonderful Arcane Dimensions?

Anyway Qurp definitely deserves much more visibility!
Thank you and congrats!

User avatar
antiriad
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 7:38 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Twitter

Re: Quake 1 Port, Optimization Questions

Wed Mar 15, 2017 6:28 am

Well, I've compiled Qurp on RPi and... what can I say? This port is awesome! Performances are outstanding!

It only needs a couple of refinements:

- Qurp does not save settings because it does not create and write on a config.cfg (I had to manually create an autoexec.cfg in the ID1 folder)

- (probably related to the first issue) it seems ignoring "vid_mode" parameter in console: the only way to change resolution is using "-width" and "-height" parameters in CLI; it would be great if there was permanent (I get 60fps in 1280x1024!)

- since it's a very important part of the Quake experience, it would be nice to enable music somehow

- in Dimension of The Past episode (2016) when you are on a surface on the water (like a bridge) the player starts "floating" as it is in the water. But this could be a problem related to the fact that these maps are modern.

Again, Qurp is FANTASTIC. I really hope that development will continue for some fine-tuning.

sebboh
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 5:45 pm

Re: Quake 1 Port, Optimization Questions

Mon Jul 15, 2019 5:49 pm

hello,
sorry for revive an old thread like this with this but with rp3 i've no sound with this game, it works perfect but i can't get sound (only noise can be heard). I followed the steps that appear in github, maybe it's because it's not compatible with rpi3?

welford
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 12:05 am

Re: Quake 1 Port, Optimization Questions

Mon Jul 29, 2019 7:26 pm

by "no sound only noise" do you mean that there is no soundtrack? If so then it is because the soundtrack is not supported yet. There is a bug for this on the github. I haven't had any time to work on this for a couple of years now - that will hopefully change soon.

Return to “Graphics programming”