saldavonschwartz

Getting Irrlicht engine to run on GL ES 2.

Mon Mar 20, 2017 6:17 am

I apologize if this is not the right section in the forums to post this question. If so, feel free to move it to the right section.
I am posting in this section because I believe the root of my issue might be in EGL and X11 in the Pi, which I am not familiar with (I am familiar with GL programming on Windows, OS X and iOS though).

I am new to the Pi and also new to the Irrlicht engine (http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net). I've been trying to compile the engine to use it with GL ES 2 on a Pi 3 running Raspbian 8, unsuccessfully. In case it matters, I am trying to do this because my ultimate goal is to run Minetest on the Pi, which is built on top of Irrlicht. And I want to run it on GL ES 2 because the alternative, the experimental desktop GL 2.1 drivers for Pi, seem to perform worse than using GL ES 2.

What I tried so far:

1. Cloned the source from here https://github.com/zaki/irrlicht
2. Ran make on the ogl-es branch. Had to do the following changes for it to compile:
a- COGLESExtensionHandler.cpp and CEGLManager.h: change #include <GLES/egl.h> to #include <EGL/egl.h>
b- -I/opt/vc/include and -L/opt/vc/lib on the Makefile.

At this point I got the engine to compile into a static lib.
I then tried making and running example01 (loads a simple model: sydney.md2). By default the example renders with the software renderer (E_DRIVER_TYPE::EDT_SOFTWARE).
This worked: it created a new window and rendered the 3d model.

I then tried recompiling and running with E_DRIVER_TYPE::EDT_OGLES2. Does not work. Fails in CEGLManager.cpp:

Code: Select all

#if defined(_IRR_COMPILE_WITH_WINDOWS_DEVICE_)
	EglWindow = (NativeWindowType)Data.OpenGLWin32.HWnd;
	Data.OpenGLWin32.HDc = GetDC((HWND)EglWindow);
	EglDisplay = eglGetDisplay((NativeDisplayType)Data.OpenGLWin32.HDc);
#elif defined(_IRR_COMPILE_WITH_X11_DEVICE_)
	EglWindow = (NativeWindowType)Data.OpenGLLinux.X11Window;