HOWTO: Install Kodi on Raspbian


149 posts   Page 5 of 6   1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
by scar4ace » Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:30 am
Thanks gkreidl, You are correct after some power off time CEC worked again.

Default Kodi behaviour is what I actually wanted (Kodi running over HDMI display to TV) but was just curious how others were running it. Since I dont use the TV to "look into" the raspberry pi (only SSH/vnc) I was wondering why the black screen exit was an issue. Understand your setup.

Whenever I run kodi-standalone it runs over the HDMI display. Out of interest, is it possible to run kodi on raspbian over a VNC/XRDP session?

I use kodi as mediaplayer for local media on HDD attached to rPi over USB, and also use rPi as NAS/Torrent box. Although am concerned about security aspects of running torrent client on rpi in terms of it being hacked/compromised and having the hacker access to essentially a server in my network with access to my usb HDD.

Thanks.
Raspberry Pi 2B (Raspbian wheezy)
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 9:26 am
by shuthichi » Mon Dec 21, 2015 4:31 pm
Does this Kodi distribution support subsampling?

Background of the question: Sony Bravia TV's (like my KDL-55W955B) only support JPEG images with YCbCr 4:2:2 or 4:2:0 chroma subsampling. JPEG YCbCr 4:4:4 is not supported. If you edit pictures with Photoshop or PaintShop and save them with 4:4:4 chroma subsampling (which is the default in most cases) the pictures will not render on the Bravia TV's.
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 4:19 pm
by gkreidl » Tue Dec 22, 2015 12:39 am
shuthichi wrote:Does this Kodi distribution support subsampling?

Background of the question: Sony Bravia TV's (like my KDL-55W955B) only support JPEG images with YCbCr 4:2:2 or 4:2:0 chroma subsampling. JPEG YCbCr 4:4:4 is not supported. If you edit pictures with Photoshop or PaintShop and save them with 4:4:4 chroma subsampling (which is the default in most cases) the pictures will not render on the Bravia TV's.

I really don't understand your question. If the RPi runs with your TV at all, kodi will also work.
Minimal Kiosk Browser (kweb)
Slim, fast webkit browser with support for audio+video+playlists+youtube+pdf+download
Optional fullscreen kiosk mode and command interface for embedded applications
Includes omxplayerGUI, an X front end for omxplayer
Posts: 5019
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:07 pm
Location: Germany
by shuthichi » Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:55 am
gkreidl wrote:I really don't understand your question. If the RPi runs with your TV at all, kodi will also work.

Sorry for the unclear question.
At the moment i have my rasperry running with MiniDLNA. But my Sony TV supports only JPGs, with pixel composition and sampling may be either YCbCr 4:2:2 or YCbCr 4:2:0.
My question is, if KODI can provide JPGs, which are exportet as 4:4:4 as 4:2:2 to the TV. So that i can use KODI as UPNP server for the Sony TV. But i think the point here is, that KODI is not a DNLA/UPNP server.

For the MiniDLNA there exists a http://sourceforge.net/p/minidlna/patches/98/, but i'm not able to use it.
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 4:19 pm
by gkreidl » Tue Dec 22, 2015 9:52 am
shuthichi wrote:Sorry for the unclear question.
At the moment i have my rasperry running with MiniDLNA. But my Sony TV supports only JPGs, with pixel composition and sampling may be either YCbCr 4:2:2 or YCbCr 4:2:0.
My question is, if KODI can provide JPGs, which are exportet as 4:4:4 as 4:2:2 to the TV. So that i can use KODI as UPNP server for the Sony TV. But i think the point here is, that KODI is not a DNLA/UPNP server.

For the MiniDLNA there exists a http://sourceforge.net/p/minidlna/patches/98/, but i'm not able to use it.

I understand but have no solution for you.
I would disconnect Internet (ethernet or WiFi, whatever) from the TV (the damned things are spying on you!) and attach a RPi with kodi directly.
Minimal Kiosk Browser (kweb)
Slim, fast webkit browser with support for audio+video+playlists+youtube+pdf+download
Optional fullscreen kiosk mode and command interface for embedded applications
Includes omxplayerGUI, an X front end for omxplayer
Posts: 5019
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:07 pm
Location: Germany
by cjan » Tue Dec 22, 2015 2:13 pm
how to add tvheadend addon ?
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 12:00 am
by gkreidl » Tue Dec 22, 2015 3:03 pm
cjan wrote:how to add tvheadend addon ?

Have a look at the pipplware repository.
Minimal Kiosk Browser (kweb)
Slim, fast webkit browser with support for audio+video+playlists+youtube+pdf+download
Optional fullscreen kiosk mode and command interface for embedded applications
Includes omxplayerGUI, an X front end for omxplayer
Posts: 5019
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:07 pm
Location: Germany
by dj_janker » Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:32 am
gkreidl wrote:Edit May, 1st, 2015: modified for recent 14.2 version. Kodi is now also in the Raspbian repository, but I'll stay with Michaels repository, as it also contains newer versions of libcec and libtag,

If you want to have the best of both worlds (Raspbian and XBMC, now called Kodi) without having to install different operating systems or using multiple SD cards, you can install Kodi on Raspbian. Here's an easy way how to do that.

We have to add Michael Gorven's repository:
Code: Select all
sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mene.list

enter the following and save it:
Code: Select all
deb http://archive.mene.za.net/raspbian wheezy contrib


Add Michael's key
Code: Select all
sudo apt-key adv --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com --recv-key 5243CDED


We have to create the group "input" if it doesn't exist.

Code: Select all
sudo addgroup --system input

Install kodi
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install kodi

Create & edit the following file:
Code: Select all
sudo nano /etc/udev/rules.d/99-input.rules


enter the following text and save it:
Code: Select all
SUBSYSTEM==input, GROUP=input, MODE=0660
KERNEL==tty[0-9]*, GROUP=tty, MODE=0660

Create & edit the following file:
Code: Select all
sudo nano /etc/udev/rules.d/10-permissions.rules


enter this text and save it:
Code: Select all
# input
KERNEL=="mouse*|mice|event*",   MODE="0660", GROUP="input"
KERNEL=="ts[0-9]*|uinput",     MODE="0660", GROUP="input"
KERNEL==js[0-9]*,             MODE=0660, GROUP=input
# tty
KERNEL==tty[0-9]*,            MODE=0666
# vchiq
SUBSYSTEM==vchiq,  GROUP=video, MODE=0660


run the following commands for user pi (if you haven't changed your user name):
Code: Select all
sudo usermod -a -G audio pi
sudo usermod -a -G video pi
sudo usermod -a -G input pi
sudo usermod -a -G dialout pi
sudo usermod -a -G plugdev pi
sudo usermod -a -G tty pi


To play full HD video in Kodi, you have to set
gpu_mem=160
in /boot/config.txt (or higher)

Start kodi from the command line with:
Code: Select all
kodi-standalone


Kown problem: If you start it for the first time (after booting), it will return to the console window. If you start it a second time, it will return to a black screen. This is the often discussed black screen problem.

If you want to get rid of it and have a RPi 2 you can update it to kodi-15-beta:
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... 6&t=109088


Hi, exists any command for stop kodi from command line?
I tried with:

Code: Select all
sudo killall -w ` ps aux|grep kodi|grep -v grep|awk -F ' ' '{print $11}'`


but this kill kodi service and config.... :( :(
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 6:15 pm
by Gabek » Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:04 am
Hi,

I run Kodi on Raspberry Pi2 on Raspbian.

It works quite well but the keyboard!

I can only type (like search for a video) using the numbers like an old phone.

But as i have a full conventional hardware keyboard it is insane!

Is there a configfile i have to change or any other possible setting that can fix this?

Thank you in advance!

Regards,
Gábor
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 8:14 pm
by kbordzan » Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:43 am
Gabek wrote:Hi,

I run Kodi on Raspberry Pi2 on Raspbian.

It works quite well but the keyboard!

I can only type (like search for a video) using the numbers like an old phone.

But as i have a full conventional hardware keyboard it is insane!

Is there a configfile i have to change or any other possible setting that can fix this?

Thank you in advance!

Regards,
Gábor


Page 2 in this topic: https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... 24#p721224
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 12:40 pm
by Gabek » Tue Mar 22, 2016 3:10 pm
kbordzan wrote:
Gabek wrote:Hi,

I run Kodi on Raspberry Pi2 on Raspbian.

It works quite well but the keyboard!

I can only type (like search for a video) using the numbers like an old phone.

But as i have a full conventional hardware keyboard it is insane!

Is there a configfile i have to change or any other possible setting that can fix this?

Thank you in advance!

Regards,
Gábor


Page 2 in this topic: https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... 24#p721224


Hi kbordzan,

Thx for the link!

It is! The fact that the keyboard partially works is also pointing to that. :(
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 8:14 pm
by Loki-Pi » Sat Mar 26, 2016 6:41 pm
I keep getting this
i@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo apt-get install kodi
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
kodi : Depends: kodi-bin (>= 2:15.2-2~wheezy) but it is not going to be installed
Depends: kodi-bin (< 2:15.2-2~wheezy.1~) but it is not going to be installed
Recommends: libva-intel-vaapi-driver but it is not installable
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.
Any help would be appreciated
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 6:33 pm
by gkreidl » Sun Mar 27, 2016 11:45 am
Are you still on Wheezy? What does your sources.list look like?
Minimal Kiosk Browser (kweb)
Slim, fast webkit browser with support for audio+video+playlists+youtube+pdf+download
Optional fullscreen kiosk mode and command interface for embedded applications
Includes omxplayerGUI, an X front end for omxplayer
Posts: 5019
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:07 pm
Location: Germany
by logitech575 » Sun Mar 27, 2016 3:52 pm
Hello.

Would be grateful fore some help here...

I've had kodi installed before on my raspbian system (some months back so i dont remember with what settings/installer). But it wasnt able to play the media. Just paused after a few secs. So I've used the guide in the beginning of this thread to hopefully get it fixed.

But i've encountered new problems with this. On startup, mouse cursor is visable for a few seconds. The info about "starting eight-(someting) CEC" appears, and then I cant access neither keyboard or mouse. Cant access the tty with ctrl+alt+F1 either. So it seems like a lockout. Clock keeps on running in kodi, so its not system crash. i've tried pulling my dongle for the logitech-desktop to get it back (this might not be appliable in linux, but old windows behavior). No result though.
Tried the disabling of cec in /boot/config.txt with hdmi_ignore_cec=1
It gets an error in the kodi now, that cec seems to be turned off, but it doesn't help me with getting keyboard/mouse back. Hard reset (power off) is the only thing that works.

Any clues?
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 3:39 pm
by IceBolt » Tue May 17, 2016 8:54 pm
Abnormal display only in kodi.

I honestly haven't looked through every post, but here goes, . .
( I'm running kodi/wheezy on Pi2b, 32Gb Class10, 7inch hdmi touch )

Every time I press a key. My screen does a random pattern for 15/25 seconds.
when it settles down, it's often a dulled screensaver. I'm currently trying to add source. Won't accept the first 'h' ( of http:// )
I have stable builds.

any ideas?

( using usb keyboard, kodi not recognizing any touch input, 800x480 HDMI no audio, head phones not connected, not done that config/use all SD after restart )
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 6:18 pm
by Nikkolash » Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:53 am
Create & edit the following file:
CODE: SELECT ALL
sudo nano /etc/udev/rules.d/99-input.rules


enter the following text and save it:
CODE: SELECT ALL
SUBSYSTEM==input, GROUP=input, MODE=0660
KERNEL==tty[0-9]*, GROUP=tty, MODE=0660


I don't see a "save" option. What does this mean?
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 5:49 am
by gkreidl » Thu Jul 21, 2016 9:24 am
Nikkolash wrote:Create & edit the following file:
CODE: SELECT ALL
sudo nano /etc/udev/rules.d/99-input.rules


enter the following text and save it:
CODE: SELECT ALL
SUBSYSTEM==input, GROUP=input, MODE=0660
KERNEL==tty[0-9]*, GROUP=tty, MODE=0660


I don't see a "save" option. What does this mean?

CTRL+o
Minimal Kiosk Browser (kweb)
Slim, fast webkit browser with support for audio+video+playlists+youtube+pdf+download
Optional fullscreen kiosk mode and command interface for embedded applications
Includes omxplayerGUI, an X front end for omxplayer
Posts: 5019
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:07 pm
Location: Germany
by alexserver » Thu Aug 18, 2016 5:44 am
should I type
Code: Select all
kodi-standalone

as sudo ?
I typed this command as pi user and the app just hangs
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 3:44 am
by gkreidl » Thu Aug 18, 2016 7:01 am
alexserver wrote:should I type
Code: Select all
kodi-standalone

as sudo ?
I typed this command as pi user and the app just hangs

No sudo!
GPU memory?
Did you enable the OpenGL driver? (Don't!).
Minimal Kiosk Browser (kweb)
Slim, fast webkit browser with support for audio+video+playlists+youtube+pdf+download
Optional fullscreen kiosk mode and command interface for embedded applications
Includes omxplayerGUI, an X front end for omxplayer
Posts: 5019
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:07 pm
Location: Germany
by Kincaidc » Fri Aug 26, 2016 2:49 pm
I am new to the Kodi thing but when I type in the command line that is listed in these threads it doens't turn out the same on my RPi2. For example if the command starts with a # when I go to put the # in the first line it shows up as ~. why would this be happening. It is not just the number sign it is with several others as well. The | shows up as ^. really irritating
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 2:46 pm
by berne » Mon Sep 26, 2016 6:39 am
i have installed https://wiki.debian.org/KodiBuildingFromSource

but i think i did something strange:S..... the control.tex i should create, i dit not.
and the code git clone -b Isengard git://github.com/xbmc/xbmc.git
i did git clone git://github.com/xbmc/xbmc.git semes the install work out any way...

now to the problem. dont know wher it has been install:(.. how can i start from termeol or sercer fot it?
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 10:53 pm
by gkreidl » Mon Sep 26, 2016 7:16 am
berne wrote:i have installed https://wiki.debian.org/KodiBuildingFromSource

but i think i did something strange:S..... the control.tex i should create, i dit not.
and the code git clone -b Isengard git://github.com/xbmc/xbmc.git
i did git clone git://github.com/xbmc/xbmc.git semes the install work out any way...

now to the problem. dont know wher it has been install:(.. how can i start from termeol or sercer fot it?

1) Wrong thread! And you have already posted the same question in another thread.
2) Building kodi on the RPi requires a lot of experience. You have to select the right configuration options or it will never work. You may also have to compile and install additional packages (or newer package versions) which are not available on Raspbian.
Minimal Kiosk Browser (kweb)
Slim, fast webkit browser with support for audio+video+playlists+youtube+pdf+download
Optional fullscreen kiosk mode and command interface for embedded applications
Includes omxplayerGUI, an X front end for omxplayer
Posts: 5019
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:07 pm
Location: Germany
by berne » Mon Sep 26, 2016 9:48 am
gkreidl wrote:
berne wrote:i have installed https://wiki.debian.org/KodiBuildingFromSource

but i think i did something strange:S..... the control.tex i should create, i dit not.
and the code git clone -b Isengard git://github.com/xbmc/xbmc.git
i did git clone git://github.com/xbmc/xbmc.git semes the install work out any way...

now to the problem. dont know wher it has been install:(.. how can i start from termeol or sercer fot it?

1) Wrong thread! And you have already posted the same question in another thread.
2) Building kodi on the RPi requires a lot of experience. You have to select the right configuration options or it will never work. You may also have to compile and install additional packages (or newer package versions) which are not available on Raspbian.



1. no i have not.. that was other question, but i have taking the one away, i fixt on my one.
i have followed a guide, how to install... but don't know where it has been installed.

what thread should i post in? pls link so i can post my question
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 10:53 pm
by gkreidl » Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:55 am
berne wrote:
gkreidl wrote:
berne wrote:i have installed https://wiki.debian.org/KodiBuildingFromSource

but i think i did something strange:S..... the control.tex i should create, i dit not.
and the code git clone -b Isengard git://github.com/xbmc/xbmc.git
i did git clone git://github.com/xbmc/xbmc.git semes the install work out any way...

now to the problem. dont know wher it has been install:(.. how can i start from termeol or sercer fot it?

1) Wrong thread! And you have already posted the same question in another thread.
2) Building kodi on the RPi requires a lot of experience. You have to select the right configuration options or it will never work. You may also have to compile and install additional packages (or newer package versions) which are not available on Raspbian.



1. no i have not.. that was other question, but i have taking the one away, i fixt on my one.
i have followed a guide, how to install... but don't know where it has been installed.

what thread should i post in? pls link so i can post my question

If you followed the guide you have linked to, it was installed in $HOME/local/. But even if it compiled to the end without throwing errors, it won't work without a lot of options which you have to add to ./configure
I've published the options I have used for compiling kodi 15.2 in the OP of this thread ( https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... 6&t=109088 near the bottom). With these options it will be installed in /usr/bin (requires sudo for the install command).
Minimal Kiosk Browser (kweb)
Slim, fast webkit browser with support for audio+video+playlists+youtube+pdf+download
Optional fullscreen kiosk mode and command interface for embedded applications
Includes omxplayerGUI, an X front end for omxplayer
Posts: 5019
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:07 pm
Location: Germany
by berne » Mon Sep 26, 2016 11:25 am
1. no i have not.. that was other question, but i have taking the one away, i fixt on my one.
i have followed a guide, how to install... but don't know where it has been installed.

what thread should i post in? pls link so i can post my question[/quote]
If you followed the guide you have linked to, it was installed in $HOME/local/. But even if it compiled to the end without throwing errors, it won't work without a lot of options which you have to add to ./configure
I've published the options I have used for compiling kodi 15.2 in the OP of this thread ( https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... 6&t=109088 near the bottom). With these options it will be installed in /usr/bin (requires sudo for the install command).[/quote]


the problem is i what carpc to work.. that is my goal with all of this. and that forum is relly bad... no know sems to be using it:( so i cant get any answer of them.
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 10:53 pm