maxwelltl

Loading Pycharm

Thu Aug 07, 2014 7:14 pm

Hi I am pretty new to raspian and the raspi so please be gentle. My end game is to get Pycharm loaded and running on my B+ and have it available to all users. The program cannot be loaded with Apt-Get. The instructions on the product page are very vague, "Download the tar file, unpack it, run Pycharm.sh from /bin in the directory you installed it."

Not being a raspian guru, I was not sure where to install it and how to go about it. I read that the /opt directory is an OK place. So I placed the tar file there and unpacked it. It created a directory called "pycharm-community-3.4.1" and under that it created several directories one of which is "bin" and that is where the "pycharm.sh" file resides. I think that all looks OK.

When I try to run "pycharm.sh" from the command line I get "command not found" I also tried running it from the pycharm-community-3.4.1 directory and get the same result.

So that is where I am at. I am looking for some very basic help on setting up Pycharm to run on raspian. I appreciate any guidance those who have Pycharm up and running might be able to provide.

Regards,
Tom

gkreidl

Re: Loading Pycharm

Thu Aug 07, 2014 8:09 pm

This is proprietary software and I don't believe they offer an ARM version.
Minimal Kiosk Browser (kweb)
Slim, fast webkit browser with support for audio+video+playlists+youtube+pdf+download
Optional fullscreen kiosk mode and command interface for embedded applications
Includes omxplayerGUI, an X front end for omxplayer

maxwelltl

Fri Aug 08, 2014 2:22 am

I understand . Thank you for the information. I installed Adafruit's WebIDE and am pretty happy with it. It at least has a debugger. The visualizer is pretty good as a learning tool.

diederik

Fri Aug 08, 2014 11:21 am

maxwelltl wrote:When I try to run "pycharm.sh" from the command line I get "command not found" I also tried running it from the pycharm-community-3.4.1 directory and get the same result.