mpthompson

New Raspbian "Pisces" Image

Tue May 29, 2012 12:59 am

Some users have found the Raspbian image created by Hexxeh to be a little too minimal. To help these user I went ahead and created a larger, less minimal image that can be found at the following page on the Wiki:

http://www.raspbian.org/PiscesImages

Please note, this image must be installed on a 4GB or larger SD card.

This image was created using the Debian installer discussed in another thread in this forum. Therefore, this image of Raspbian is what the Debian installer builds as a minimal system with the LXDE and compiler packages added to it. Users should find this image contains more of the common applications that most users might expect to find on a Linux system.

This is my first attempt at an image so please bear with me if there are some issues with it. Check back on the wiki page for any new notes added about the image as more people test it out and use it. If needed, I can fix significant problems and update the image on the server.

Good luck, and let me know how it goes.

I didn't have luck setting up a torrent. If someone can seed a torrent and send me a link, I'll post the link to the .torrrent URL in the wiki page.

Mike

mpthompson

Re: New Raspbian "Pisces" Image

Tue May 29, 2012 1:26 am

First problem with the image -- dhcp may appear to not work or not be installed for network connectivity.

To fix this, delete the last line in the file '/etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules' and reboot. DHCP should then be functional and your Raspberry Pi should be assigned an IP address from the DHCP server on your local LAN.

The problem is that ethernet address of the Raspberry Pi I created the image on differs from the ethernet address on your Raspberry Pi. The OS notices this and assigns the ethernet interface to device 'eth1' rather than 'eth0' which is configured to use DHCP in the '/etc/network/interfaces' file.

ScoobyDoo

Tue May 29, 2012 9:50 am