User avatar
Botspot
Posts: 1262
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:47 pm
Location: Texas
Contact: Website

Re: Buster bug report thread

Fri Mar 13, 2020 12:39 am

BioHazard1282 wrote:
Fri Mar 13, 2020 12:00 am
If you close some software and right-click and open the submenu as it is closing, the submenu will be stuck and blank, making the entire taskbar unresponsive.
Confirmed - I've seen this issue since Stretch.
How to replicate:
  • Run a gui program
  • Right-click on the program to open the menu for Raise, Restore, Maximize, etc.
  • While that right-click menu is open, close the program using another means. It could be a program that takes some time to close, like maybe a half-frozen chromium or something, or you could set that program to close in a few seconds automatically using something like sleep 10 ; killall lxterminal.
Result: The program will vanish from the panel, but the right-click menu will remain open, and the entire panel will freeze.
The command lxpanelctl restart will unfreeze the panel, but good luck opening a terminal without a functional panel!
That's why I have guake terminal installed - just push F12.
I've developed the most intuitive RaspiOS img editor on the planet.
With a GUI similar to Gparted, managing imgs and sd cards is a breeze!
Boot it in a VM, Flash from the Internet at top speed, Mount (to drop in files), Shrink/Expand, Repair, and more.
https://github.com/Botspot/Pi-Power-Tools
> 400 users! 8-)

HyFy
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 10:36 am

Re: Buster bug report thread

Tue Mar 17, 2020 9:22 pm

Upgrade demolishes VNC
There seems to be an issue with the upgrade on the Buster download of 13.02.2020.(using B3+) This occurs whether you upgrade on the initial setup or later by sudo apt-get upgrade. It seems to affect the VNC which is not available afterwards. I would love to show you the full error messages but I can't VNC it across to this machine!! Once you have tried to upgrade and then tried to ignore it you are prompted at every command to deal with it. If you try to re-do the upgrade the whole thing goes to 100% (or at least I think it does because there is no percentage workload indicator either) and stays there. Eventually you have to "pull the plug". I'm off back to Stretch. At least I can get some work done!!

HyFy

pcmanbob
Posts: 9462
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:28 pm
Location: Mansfield UK

Re: Buster bug report thread

Tue Mar 17, 2020 10:35 pm

Using sudo apt upgrade or sudo apt-get upgrade has been seen to cause a problem with VNC,
this is because it does not pull in all the required dependencys .

Since the launch of raspbian buster the update command changed to sudo apt full-upgrade

https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... pdating.md

There are several threads on the forum about it.
We want information… information… information........................no information no help
The use of crystal balls & mind reading are not supported

hippy
Posts: 7728
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 10:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: Buster bug report thread

Wed Mar 18, 2020 5:10 pm

HyFy wrote:
Tue Mar 17, 2020 9:22 pm
Upgrade demolishes VNC
If you haven't fixed things; try -

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get purge vnc
sudo apt-get autoremove
sudo reboot
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get full-upgrade
sudo apt-get install vnc
That worked for me when I ran into the issue. If it doesn't then have a search of the forums for other solutions to the problem.

pedrogumucio
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2020 4:26 am

Re: Buster bug report thread

Sat Mar 21, 2020 3:45 am

Hello, I have been researching the past week an issue that I have with the upload speed using the last version of Debian 10/Raspbian GNU/Linux 10.
My internet provider gives me 100/100 Mb/s. but my speed test upload speed is only 3.8Mb/s

Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
Testing from Verizon Fios (100.36.172.81)...
Retrieving speedtest.net server list...
Selecting best server based on ping...
Hosted by PBW Communications, LLC (Herndon, VA) [21.83 km]: 115.366 ms
Testing download speed................................................................................
Download: 84.38 Mbit/s
Testing upload speed......................................................................................................
Upload: 3.85 Mbit/s

I tried fresh installations and ran it on raspberry pi 3+ and 4 having the same results with the upload speed (3.8Mb/s).

Please help :|

Kred1t
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2020 9:57 pm

Re: Buster bug report thread

Mon Apr 06, 2020 8:44 pm

Hi,

I have a usb sound card Creative and a wireless headphones Sennheiser with a usb dongle. Both of them are identified in Raspbian 2020-02-13 but don’t play. In the Libreelec 9.2.1 only the Creative sound card works. In the Ubuntu 18.04 both work.

Thank you.

pjnoxon
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 7:15 am

Re: Buster bug report thread

Thu Apr 23, 2020 1:48 am

I bought a RPi0W and camera, downloaded Raspian from here with your tool, got things working, and then the cursor wouldn't update to the correct sprite (I've seen other reports of that sort of thing) when using it. It was a hand, then became a big black X, and now the cursor is invisible. Very frustrating.

I bought another RPi0W, moved the SD card over with the camera to test it. The dang cursor is invisible again. I ran update and upgrade-all. Same problem. How can I fix the 'missing' cursor problem? Is there some workaround like change the sprite to something else with the setup tool?

User avatar
lscw
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 5:18 pm
Location: North south-west UK

Re: Buster bug report thread

Fri Apr 24, 2020 2:37 am

Pi Zero (not wireless) CPU usage error

I am finding there is an issue with the CPU usage reporting on the Pi Zero. It is between 98 and 100% in idle, as reported in htop, top (40/60 split usr/sys) and Task Manager despite having a sum of parts equalling ~15%. The problem remains when the CPU does actually have 100% utilisation.

I have reimaged the SD card twice using the 13/02/2020 full (2.5GB) release. It occured both times.
The problem also occured upon booting up 13/02/2020 full (1.1GB) release after performing the initial software update. However a reimage works correctly. One attempt with the same release of Raspbian lite didn't demonstate the error either.
The problem doesn't occur with 13/11/2018 full (2GB) release of Stretch.

I don't know what other info you might need.
Revision, according to pinout, is: 900093
Machine ID, according to hostnamectl, is: 5c01ac7520d3476da0ab8df1be8efa4e
I can't see which board version it is but it was bought through official channels this year.
There's no need to remind me every 6 months about it, I'm all over it!

cr1cr1-78
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 2:16 pm

Re: Buster bug report thread

Fri Apr 24, 2020 2:34 pm

Hi,
On a brand new Pi 4 Modeb B with 2GB of memory, I experienced a Kernel bug when running stress-ng:

The command I ran under the pi user, after having installed its package is :

Code: Select all

stress-ng --all 2
It produced a Kernel Bug message / dump:

Code: Select all

[138408.980906] NET: Registered protocol family 38
[138409.308079] hrtimer: interrupt took 5815 ns
[138409.767244] sched: DL replenish lagged too much
[138410.119922] ------------[ cut here ]------------
[138410.119939] kernel BUG at mm/memory.c:1995!
[138410.119948] Internal error: Oops - BUG: 0 [#1] SMP ARM
[138410.119959] Modules linked in: af_alg binfmt_misc veth ipt_MASQUERADE nf_conntrack_netlink nft_counter nft_chain_nat_ipv4 nf_nat_ipv4 xt_addrtype nft_compat nf_tables nfnetlink xt_conntrack nf_nat nf_conntrack nf_defrag_ipv6 nf_defrag_ipv4 br_netfilter bridge overlay bnep hci_uart btbcm serdev bluetooth ecdh_generic 8021q garp stp llc vc4 brcmfmac brcmutil v3d drm_kms_helper gpu_sched sha256_generic snd_soc_core drm snd_compress snd_pcm_dmaengine sg syscopyarea sysfillrect sysimgblt fb_sys_fops drm_panel_orientation_quirks raspberrypi_hwmon hwmon cfg80211 snd_bcm2835(C) rfkill snd_pcm snd_timer snd bcm2835_v4l2(C) v4l2_common videobuf2_vmalloc bcm2835_codec(C) v4l2_mem2mem bcm2835_mmal_vchiq(C) videobuf2_dma_contig videobuf2_memops videobuf2_v4l2 videobuf2_common videodev vc_sm_cma(C) media rpivid_mem
[138410.120092]  uio_pdrv_genirq uio ip_tables x_tables ipv6
[138410.120109] CPU: 3 PID: 9535 Comm: stress-ng-dev Tainted: G         C        4.19.97-v7l+ #1294
[138410.120120] Hardware name: BCM2835
[138410.120137] PC is at remap_pfn_range+0x2c0/0x340
[138410.120147] LR is at remap_pfn_range+0x268/0x340
[138410.120155] pc : [<c039cf98>]    lr : [<c039cf40>]    psr: 20000013
[138410.120164] sp : c1f8fdc0  ip : 05e00000  fp : c1f8fe2c
[138410.120172] r10: ffeceab0  r9 : c0c0f000  r8 : b6f56000
[138410.120181] r7 : 00000000  r6 : feb30000  r5 : 000feb31  r4 : ffeceab8
[138410.120190] r3 : 5ce2cfdf  r2 : 5c22cfdf  r1 : c021d078  r0 : ffeceaa8
[138410.120200] Flags: nzCv  IRQs on  FIQs on  Mode SVC_32  ISA ARM  Segment user
[138410.120211] Control: 30c5383d  Table: 1b702f40  DAC: 55555555
[138410.120221] Process stress-ng-dev (pid: 9535, stack limit = 0x942b2693)
[138410.120231] Stack: (0xc1f8fdc0 to 0xc1f90000)
[138410.120241] fdc0: f081400c debfd228 c1128bc0 b6f64fff 00047bdb dbc48600 b6f64fff c0105dc0
[138410.120253] fde0: db702f58 b6f65000 b6f65000 b6f65000 feb30743 05600000 5c22cfdf 04e00000
[138410.120265] fe00: c02177d4 dc2ad138 000feb30 00000743 04600000 dc8cd600 b6f56000 dc2ad138
[138410.120277] fe20: c1f8fe5c c1f8fe30 bf13e13c c039cce4 00000743 04600000 00000000 dcd57428
[138410.120288] fe40: b6f55000 dcd57420 dbc48600 dcd575b0 c1f8fec4 c1f8fe60 c03a48dc bf13e0dc
[138410.120300] fe60: 000000d1 00000000 c00b7900 00000000 00000000 00002000 b6f5a000 00000000
[138410.120312] fe80: 00000001 dc2ad138 c00b7900 00000000 00000000 b6f55000 c1f8fec4 00001000
[138410.120323] fea0: b6f55000 00000001 00000001 c00b7900 000000d1 dbc48600 c1f8ff04 c1f8fec8
[138410.120335] fec0: c03a4e54 c03a44d0 00000000 c1f8ff24 ffffefff 00000000 c09c9984 c1004d88
[138410.120346] fee0: dbc4863c c1f8ff24 00000001 00001000 c00b7900 00000000 c1f8ff5c c1f8ff08
[138410.120358] ff00: c03847dc c03a4af4 00000001 00000000 00000000 c1f8ff20 c1f8ff24 c03f52d8
[138410.120370] ff20: 00000000 c1f8ff24 c1f8ff24 8788f8ca 00000001 00000001 00000001 00001000
[138410.120382] ff40: 00000000 c00b7900 c1f8e000 000000c0 c1f8ff8c c1f8ff60 c03a2850 c0384728
[138410.120393] ff60: 00000001 00000000 c0201068 0000000a 00000000 b6711d50 000000c0 c02011c4
[138410.120405] ff80: c1f8ffa4 c1f8ff90 c03a289c c03a27b4 0000000a 00000000 00000000 c1f8ffa8
[138410.120417] ffa0: c0201000 c03a287c 0000000a 00000000 00000000 00001000 00000001 00000001
[138410.120429] ffc0: 0000000a 00000000 b6711d50 000000c0 ffffffff 000d9899 00225c70 00225c74
[138410.120440] ffe0: 00000000 b6711bd0 00000000 b6cead30 60000010 00000000 00000000 00000000
[138410.120462] [<c039cf98>] (remap_pfn_range) from [<bf13e13c>] (rpivid_mem_mmap+0x6c/0x7c [rpivid_mem])
[138410.120483] [<bf13e13c>] (rpivid_mem_mmap [rpivid_mem]) from [<c03a48dc>] (mmap_region+0x418/0x624)
[138410.120498] [<c03a48dc>] (mmap_region) from [<c03a4e54>] (do_mmap+0x36c/0x490)
[138410.120514] [<c03a4e54>] (do_mmap) from [<c03847dc>] (vm_mmap_pgoff+0xc0/0xec)
[138410.120529] [<c03847dc>] (vm_mmap_pgoff) from [<c03a2850>] (ksys_mmap_pgoff+0xa8/0xc8)
[138410.120543] [<c03a2850>] (ksys_mmap_pgoff) from [<c03a289c>] (sys_mmap_pgoff+0x2c/0x34)
[138410.120559] [<c03a289c>] (sys_mmap_pgoff) from [<c0201000>] (ret_fast_syscall+0x0/0x28)
[138410.120569] Exception stack(0xc1f8ffa8 to 0xc1f8fff0)
[138410.120579] ffa0:                   0000000a 00000000 00000000 00001000 00000001 00000001
[138410.120591] ffc0: 0000000a 00000000 b6711d50 000000c0 ffffffff 000d9899 00225c70 00225c74
[138410.120602] ffe0: 00000000 b6711bd0 00000000 b6cead30
[138410.120613] Code: e1530002 1affff7c e3a00000 ea000006 (e7f001f2)
[138410.120624] ---[ end trace 566d4ee412b3aac3 ]---
And finally an unexpected system halt.
I reproduced this twice.

Actual kernel version:

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ uname -a
Linux raspberrypi 4.19.97-v7l+ #1294 SMP Thu Jan 30 13:21:14 GMT 2020 armv7l GNU/Linux

beta-tester
Posts: 1377
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:57 pm
Location: de_DE

@Simon Long, %20 issue in PCmanFM

Tue May 05, 2020 7:47 pm

@Simon Long, i just still found one place left where the %20 issue in PCmanFM is present.
when you copy a file with spaces in its filename to a samba share but the file already exists at the destination...
then a dialog pops up for what to do (skip, overrider)...
and there the filename is shown still with %20 instead of a space.

its a follow up of the comments here: https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/a-new- ... nt-1521860
{ I only give negative feedback }
RPi B (256MB), B (512MB), B+, ZeroW; 2B; 3B, 3B+; 4B (4GB)

pjnoxon
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 7:15 am

Re: Buster bug report thread

Fri May 08, 2020 10:38 pm

About the disappearing mouse cursor - I got a suggestion that might help finding this bug in my Buster RPi0W:

open the terminal and type the command lxappearance - boom the mouse cursor instantly reappears!
It was recommended to change from PXflat to Adwaita which I did for desktop and mouse cursor.

Remember it had disappeared when I closed Image Viewer.

CustardTheCat
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 13, 2020 5:06 pm
Location: North East of England

Buster Lite with Pi4B 4GB (v1.2) won't connect to router on 5GHz

Wed May 20, 2020 1:41 pm

Buster Lite with Pi4B 4GB (v1.2) won't connect to router on 5GHz

I have an EE BrightBox 2 dual band wifi router modem.

When installing Buster Lite on my Pi4B (v1.2) from the current image on this site, or using network installation via NOOBS, I can connect to my router via the 2.4GHz band, but NOT via the 5GHz band (indeed, the NOOBS network installation shows both my 2.4GHz and 5GHz SSIDs, but won't connect to the 5GHz one).

With full-blown Buster, both 2.4 and 5GHz connections work perfectly after installation.

busywait
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat May 09, 2020 10:48 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Buster Lite with Pi4B 4GB (v1.2) won't connect to router on 5GHz

Wed May 20, 2020 2:32 pm

@custardthecat What WiFi locale did you configure for your Pi 4? One way to set it from the command line is to run

Code: Select all

sudo raspi-config


Or, just take a look at what you have now in the file wap_supplicant.conf

Code: Select all

cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
I'm in Great Britain, country=GB

Is your 5GHz WiFi access point configured for "AC mode only" or similar? Try relaxing that to allow older protocols (eg N). Any different?

CustardTheCat
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 13, 2020 5:06 pm
Location: North East of England

Re: Buster Lite with Pi4B 4GB (v1.2) won't connect to router on 5GHz

Wed May 20, 2020 8:50 pm

busywait wrote:
Wed May 20, 2020 2:32 pm
@custardthecat What WiFi locale did you configure for your Pi 4? One way to set it from the command line is to run

Code: Select all

sudo raspi-config


Or, just take a look at what you have now in the file wap_supplicant.conf

Code: Select all

cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
I'm in Great Britain, country=GB

Is your 5GHz WiFi access point configured for "AC mode only" or similar? Try relaxing that to allow older protocols (eg N). Any different?
Thanks for the response :)

With Buster Lite installed from the image here, the only way I can get wifi to work at all - even just on 2.4GHz - is to place a wpa_supplicant.conf file in the boot volume prior to first run. The following file works, but only if I use my 2.4GHz SSID (if I replace this with the 5GHz SSID, it doesn't work):


ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1
country=GB

network={
ssid="EE-myssid"
psk="9876543210"
}



My router is configured to allow B+G+N on 2.4GHz, and A+N+AC on 5GHz.

What's confusing me most is that full-blown Raspbian Buster (i.e. not the Lite version) has no problems with 5GHz. Nor does Lakka, the game emulation platform. But the network installer for NOOBS, as well as Buster Lite itself - whether installed via NOOBS or using the image from this site - won't connect via 5GHz. With NOOBS, the network installer can see the 5GHz connection but shows zero signal strength, and won't allow connection...

mstroh
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 28, 2020 8:21 am

Faltpak cannot export $XDG_DATA_DIRS

Thu May 28, 2020 8:37 am

When installing flatpak on Raspberry Pi Desktop i noticed that the installed flatpak apps do not appear in the LXDE menu (after reboot). Faltpak gives the following warning when installing an app:

Code: Select all

Note that the directories 

'/var/lib/flatpak/exports/share'
'/home/chris/.local/share/flatpak/exports/share'

are not in the search path set by the XDG_DATA_DIRS environment variable, so
applications installed by Flatpak may not appear on your desktop until the
session is restarted.
Adding the the pathes to the variable by using the files

Code: Select all

~/.profile
or

Code: Select all

~/.xsessionrc
does not work. It seems that the variable XDG_DATA_DIRS gets overwritten during login sometime.

Only thing that works, as far as I can see, is defining the whole variable in

Code: Select all

~/.config/lxsession/LXDE-pi/desktop.conf 
The same issue seems to exist on Raspbian as described in this blog post: viewtopic.php?t=275001#p1666188

fbe
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 9:08 pm

Raspberry Pi OS (2020-05-27) (german) raspi-config "No internal audio devices found"

Sun May 31, 2020 4:25 pm

Raspberry Pi OS (Release date: 2020-05-27) with german localisation.

raspi-config
-> 7 Advanced Options -> A4 Audio
is broken (No internal audio devices found).

raspi-config fails to handle german output from aplay.

Workaround:

Code: Select all

LANGUAGE=en sudo raspi-config

beta-tester
Posts: 1377
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:57 pm
Location: de_DE

Re: localisation

Sun May 31, 2020 7:15 pm

localisation to another than en-UK is always a big issue in Raspberry Pi OS (Raspbian) in the past and at present.
i guess nobody is testing localisation seriously and nobody cares when reporting those issues...

also following the first run wizard is not working smoothly
changing keyboard layout, but keep us english as display language...
when you then have to type in a new password, in the wizard, your password is still not using your keyboard layout as you selected before.

or the keyboard layout changed for the desktop only, but in the terminal (when you not boot into desktop) it is still en-UK.

i always have trouble with localisation in one or another way.
{ I only give negative feedback }
RPi B (256MB), B (512MB), B+, ZeroW; 2B; 3B, 3B+; 4B (4GB)

ShiftPlusOne
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 6229
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: The unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Re: localisation

Sun May 31, 2020 7:42 pm

beta-tester wrote:
Sun May 31, 2020 7:15 pm
localisation to another than en-UK is always a big issue in Raspberry Pi OS (Raspbian) in the past and at present.
i guess nobody is testing localisation seriously and nobody cares when reporting those issues...

also following the first run wizard is not working smoothly
changing keyboard layout, but keep us english as display language...
when you then have to type in a new password, in the wizard, your password is still not using your keyboard layout as you selected before.

or the keyboard layout changed for the desktop only, but in the terminal (when you not boot into desktop) it is still en-UK.

i always have trouble with localisation in one or another way.
Not sure where the claim that nobody cares is coming from. I raised the issue with raspi-config as soon as I saw that post and of course it will be fixed.

Keeping the display language as English make sense if you just changed the keymap. They're two independent settings and changing one does not imply you want to change the other.

How do I reproduce the issue with terminal keymap not changing?

As for the other problems, all anybody needs to do is raise the issue. Although English is not my native language, I don't use non-English localisation myself. We can't know all the issues with features we don't use ourselves unless somebody flags them up.

It's easy to miss things on the forum, so they should be filed here:
https://github.com/RPi-Distro/repo/issues/

beta-tester
Posts: 1377
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:57 pm
Location: de_DE

Re: localisation

Mon Jun 01, 2020 7:57 am

ShiftPlusOne wrote:
Sun May 31, 2020 7:42 pm
beta-tester wrote:
Sun May 31, 2020 7:15 pm
i guess nobody is testing localisation seriously and nobody cares when reporting those issues...
sorry, it was talked too harsh of me.
ShiftPlusOne wrote:
Sun May 31, 2020 7:42 pm
Keeping the display language as English make sense if you just changed the keymap. They're two independent settings and changing one does not imply you want to change the other.
yes, it makes absolutely sense and this is also what i want and prefere.
keeping the display language in english to have log messages and screenshots in a language the moste people of the community do understand.

the other localisation stuff should be taken form the country/language you selected
like papersize, currency, time/date format, ... and especially the keyboard layout.

but changing the keyboard layout/mapping to e.g. "Germany" (QWERTZ) did not worked for me in the wizard.
it did not take the changes in the password field in the wizard at the very first use.
so typing in the password was done in the initially default english (QWERTY) keyboard layout/mapping instead of the just changed German (QWERTZ) one.
  1. # download newest image and flash it to SD-card

    Code: Select all

    sudo umount /dev/sdX*; unzip -p ~/Downloads/2020-05-27-raspios-buster-armhf.zip | sudo dd of=/dev/sdX bs=4M oflag=sync status=progress; sudo eject /dev/sdX;
    
  2. boot into Raspberry Pi OS
  3. Welcome to Raspberry Pi Desktop!
    [Next]
  4. Country: German
    Language: Germany
    Timezone: Berlin
    [X]Use English language [_]Use US Keyboard
    [Next]
  5. Setting location - please wait
  6. Enter new password: type in QWERTZ but QWERTY is shown
    Confirm new password: type in QWERTZ but QWERTY is shown
    [_]Hide characters
    [Next]
  7. [X]This screen shows a black border around the desktop
    [Next]
  8. Select your wireless network from the list.
    [Skip]
  9. Update Software
    [Skip] or [Update]
  10. Setup Completed
    [Restart]

    ...
  11. open "Accessories|Text Editor" and type in QWERTZ but QWERTY is shown
  12. open "Accessories|Terminal" and type in QWERTZ but QWERTY is shown
you have to re-run the Raspberry Pi configuration and/or raspi-config to take effect the keyboard language
{ I only give negative feedback }
RPi B (256MB), B (512MB), B+, ZeroW; 2B; 3B, 3B+; 4B (4GB)

ArnoPi
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 9:39 pm

Re: Buster bug report thread

Mon Jun 01, 2020 4:40 pm

After a fresh install (2020-05-27-raspios-buster-armhf.img) in a localisation other then English the menu is a mess.
Some items are translated, most items not. Programs look OK (filemanager / vlc / office i.e.).

My other computer runs Mint 19. On that computer I had to install some extra language packages.
Do I need to do that in Pi OS too?

ShiftPlusOne
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 6229
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: The unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Re: Buster bug report thread

Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:59 pm

ArnoPi wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 4:40 pm
After a fresh install (2020-05-27-raspios-buster-armhf.img) in a localisation other then English the menu is a mess.
Some items are translated, most items not. Programs look OK (filemanager / vlc / office i.e.).

My other computer runs Mint 19. On that computer I had to install some extra language packages.
Do I need to do that in Pi OS too?
That's probably just a case of lack of translations.

bobg
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 8:56 am
Location: London, UK

Re: STICKY: Buster bug report thread

Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:28 pm

Cloned SDcard boot: first of many FAILED errors "Failed to start Remount Root and Kernel File Systems"

Starting with "2020-05-27-raspios-buster-lite-armhf.img" I built an image with all my required options. The original SD card worked nicely, however cloned cards have many FAILED messages on boot. The first error was "Failed to start Remount Root and Kernel File Systems".

Investigation showed that the PARTUUID was wrong in /boot/cmdline.txt and /etc/fstab on the cloned card.
I resolved this by replacing PARTUUID with /dev/mmcblk0p1 or /dev/mmcblk0p2 as appropriate on SDcard before making my master.img (using dd).
(I read that there are recent changes to UUID to make in unique on each raspberry pi)

plugwash
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 3614
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:45 pm

Re: STICKY: Buster bug report thread

Tue Jun 09, 2020 11:12 pm

What exactly were you using to clone the card?

pidd
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 8:29 pm
Location: Birkenhead, Wirral, UK
Contact: Website

Re: STICKY: Buster bug report thread

Wed Jun 10, 2020 4:37 am

Booting into command line mode, running startx, playing around in LXDE then shutting LXDE back down to command line - sometimes gvfs closes down, sometimes it doesn't. I've not been able tie it in with any particular actions in LXDE.

I've disabled the two Chromium "carry on after closing" things, made no difference.

bobg
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 8:56 am
Location: London, UK

Re: STICKY: Buster bug report thread

Wed Jun 10, 2020 5:33 pm

Re: Cloned SDcard boot: first of many FAILED errors "Failed to start Remount Root and Kernel File Systems"

I use a Debian PC to download software from the internet and the dd command to write the image to the SD card in USB adaptor.
Before I remove the card from the the PC I add a ssh file to the boot directory and add 3600M to the /etc/init.d/resize2fs_once file.
So when I plug it into the RPi it resizes to the size i want. I currently use a RPI 3B+ do make my masters.
I then configure the RPi as i wish e,g. updates add vlan php7.3 etc. I use dd to make my master image on the PC from the SD card.
This SD continues to work well in any of my RPI's
I then use dd to clone the master onto another SD card, this card fails to boot successfully as above.
I have used this technique for several years

Due to this issue i now edit the SD card in the PC using nano before making the master image.

Hope this helps.

Return to “Raspberry Pi OS”