stephenuk
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 3:09 am
Location: Manchester UK

Desktop Graphics Glitch

Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:30 pm

Hi I am wondering if anyone can help.

I have conky and wbar installed but when I first load up the desktop the graphics are glitched on these apps. I have to logout to command prompt then run startx again to load the desktop and it fixes the issue. Is there anyway so I don't have to keep doing this. Please find attached a screenshot of what I mean, and how it should look.

Many thanks
Attachments
screenshot1.jpg
screenshot1.jpg (183.67 KiB) Viewed 373 times
screenshot2.jpg
screenshot2.jpg (145.76 KiB) Viewed 376 times
Raspberry PI3b+

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 20766
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Desktop Graphics Glitch

Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:39 pm

A wild guess, but I suspect the frame buffer is in a 24bit rather than 32bit mode, or at least something thinks it is. Why it would be different between startup and starting later I do not know since the FB is created at boot time.

Edit. Actually, no I don't think that any more.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 20766
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Desktop Graphics Glitch

Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:47 pm

Just tried installing conky, and I do not get any transparency at all, even after a restart of X.

wbar on the other hand seems to work fine.

This is on a standard Raspbian, starting conky from a command prompt.

Anything unusual in your setup? config.txt? How do you start these programs up?
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

stephenuk
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 3:09 am
Location: Manchester UK

Re: Desktop Graphics Glitch

Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:48 pm

Hi James

Thanks for the reply
The default setting for conky you wont get transparency you need to edit the config file for it. Create a new config file in /.config called .conkyrc copy and paste the below config settings so it is the same as mine then open terminal and type conky -c ~/.config/.conkyrc I also have set to auto start so I set up a script called conkystartup.sh in the pi folder and put the terminal command into it. Then I added ./conkystartup.sh to the autostart config in /lxsession/LXDE.pi/autostart. Regarding WBAR I didn't have to create an autostart script as it appears to have done that automatically. I am running pixel desktop that comes with retropie which is based on LXDE.

background yes
use_xft yes
xftfont 123:size=8
xftalpha 0.1
update_interval 0.5
total_run_times 0
own_window yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes
minimum_size 250 5
maximum_width 400
draw_shades no
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no
default_color gray
default_shade_color red
default_outline_color green
alignment top_right
gap_x 10
gap_y 20
no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 2
net_avg_samples 1
override_utf8_locale no
use_spacer right

TEXT
${font Arial:size=10}${color red}Raspberry${color Ivory}PI${font Arial:size=10}${color green} { \ }{ / }
${font Arial:size=10}${color red} ,-${font Arial:size=10}${color green}y${font Arial:size=10}${color red}-.
,( _(_)_ ).
( ( )(_) (_) )
' ( _(_) _)'
`~(_)~'

${voffset -60}
${color DimGray}
${font}
${font Arial:bold:size=10}${color red}SYSTEM ${color DarkSlateGray} ${hr 2}
$font${color DimGray}$sysname $kernel $alignr $machine
Frequency $alignr${freq_g cpu0}Ghz
Uptime $alignr${uptime}
File System $alignr${fs_type}

${font Arial:bold:size=10}${color red}CPU ${color DarkSlateGray}${hr 2}
$font${color DimGray}Temp: $alignr ${exec /opt/vc/bin/vcgencmd measure_temp | cut -c6-9} C
$font${color DimGray}CPU1 ${cpu cpu1}% ${cpubar cpu1}
CPU2 ${cpu cpu2}% ${cpubar cpu2}
CPU3 ${cpu cpu3}% ${cpubar cpu3}
CPU4 ${cpu cpu4}% ${cpubar cpu4}
${cpugraph DimGray DarkSlateGray} $color

${font Arial:bold:size=10}${color red}MEMORY ${color DarkSlateGray}${hr 2}
$font${color DimGray}MEM $alignc $mem / $memmax $alignr $memperc%
$membar
$font${color DimGray}SWAP $alignc $swap / $swapmax $alignr $swapperc%
$swapbar

${font Arial:bold:size=10}${color red}HDD ${color DarkSlateGray}${hr 2}
$font${color DimGray}/home $alignc ${fs_used /home} / ${fs_size /home} $alignr ${fs_free_perc /home}%
${fs_bar /home}

${font Arial:bold:size=10}${color red}TOP PROCESSES ${color DarkSlateGray}${hr 2}
${color DimGray}$font${top_mem name 2}${alignr}${top mem 2} %
$font${top_mem name 3}${alignr}${top mem 3} %
$font${top_mem name 4}${alignr}${top mem 4} %
$font${top_mem name 5}${alignr}${top mem 5} %

${font Arial:bold:size=10}${color red}NETWORK ${color DarkSlateGray}${hr 2}
$font${color DimGray}Wlan IP$alignr ${addr wlan0}
Wlan Down $alignr ${downspeed wlan0} kb/s
Wlan Up $alignr ${upspeed wlan0} kb/s
Wlan Downloaded: $alignr ${totaldown wlan0}
Wlan Uploaded: $alignr ${totalup wlan0}
$font${color DimGray}Lan IP$alignr ${addr eth0}
Lan Down $alignr ${downspeed eth0} kb/s
Lan Up $alignr ${upspeed eth0} kb/s
Lan Downloaded: $alignr ${totaldown eth0}
Lan Uploaded: $alignr ${totalup eth0}
Last edited by stephenuk on Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Raspberry PI3b+

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 20766
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Desktop Graphics Glitch

Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:57 pm

Since you are not using Raspbian, it would be worth trying it on Raspbian, I cannot really do support on a non-Raspberry Pi O/S.

I'll try to find time to try the Conky settings for transparency and also to make it all start up automatically.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

stephenuk
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 3:09 am
Location: Manchester UK

Re: Desktop Graphics Glitch

Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:01 pm

Ok James

I will install a new image on another SD card with vanilla rasbian and see if the same happens, at least then it will narrow it down to being a pixel desktop issue.

Thanks for the support.
Raspberry PI3b+

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 20766
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Desktop Graphics Glitch

Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:19 pm

Just tried on Raspbian, there is definitely something weird going on. I'll need to pass this on to our desktop expert, as I have no idea what it could be.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

stephenuk
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 3:09 am
Location: Manchester UK

Re: Desktop Graphics Glitch

Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:27 pm

ok brill look forward to seeing what the issue is

I was possibly thinking could it be a timing issue? maybe delaying the app loading so the desktop initialises. Im just thinking back to the old amiga workbench days when you wanted certain apps to autoload at desktop you had to put delays in or they wouldnt load properly.
Last edited by stephenuk on Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Raspberry PI3b+

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 20766
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Desktop Graphics Glitch

Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:30 pm

stephenuk wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:27 pm
ok brill look forward to seeing what the issue is

I was possibly thinking could it be a timing issue? maybe delaying the app loading so the desktop initialising. Im just thinking back to the old amiga workbench days when you wanted certain apps to autoload at desktop you had to put delays in or they wouldnt load properly.
That would be my guess, but I am not an expert in this area.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

stephenuk
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 3:09 am
Location: Manchester UK

Re: Desktop Graphics Glitch

Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:34 pm

i'm new to linux but it works very simular to amiga workbench. But im not sure where you would put delay timers in will have a search.
Raspberry PI3b+

stephenuk
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 3:09 am
Location: Manchester UK

Re: Desktop Graphics Glitch

Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:37 pm

Ok managed to sort the issue with conky, definitely a timing issue added this to the .c.sh file sleep 10s && conky -c ~/.config/.conkyrc

WBAR i have no idea where it puts the autostart options as there is no reference in /lxsessions-pi/autostart
Raspberry PI3b+

DarkPlatinum
Posts: 461
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:30 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Desktop Graphics Glitch

Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:59 pm

My conky is fine with transparency? I had that glitch before, I think after logging into root, it was fine.
1 * Raspberry Pi Zero W, 1 * Raspberry Pi 2, 1 * Raspberry Pi 3 1 * Raspberry Pi 3B + :mrgreen:

Return to “Raspbian”