mtylerb

[SOLVED] DHCP Server Issues

Sat Apr 07, 2018 3:28 am

Hey folks,

I'm new to RPi. I've setup my RPi 3 B+ as a DNS/DHCP/Web/File/Printer server. It works great. What I'm a little confused by is that I'm getting errors when restarting the DHCP server. It almost looks like it's trying to start twice, claiming that it's already running. Or at least that's how I'm reading it. I'm no Linux expert, by any means, but I'm making a push right now to try and change how things work in the house. So, here's the output from a couple commands:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~ $ sudo service isc-dhcp-server stop

[email protected]:~ $ sudo service isc-dhcp-server start

Job for isc-dhcp-server.service failed because the control process exited with error code.
See "systemctl status isc-dhcp-server.service" and "journalctl -xe" for details.

[email protected]:~ $ sudo journalctl -xe

Apr 06 21:06:25 raspberrypi sudo[27415]: pam_unix(sudo:session): session opened for user root by (uid=0)

Apr 06 21:06:25 raspberrypi systemd[1]: Starting LSB: DHCP server...
-- Subject: Unit isc-dhcp-server.service has begun start-up
-- Defined-By: systemd
-- Support: https://www.debian.org/support
-- 
-- Unit isc-dhcp-server.service has begun starting up.

Apr 06 21:06:25 raspberrypi isc-dhcp-server[27445]: Launching IPv4 server only.

Apr 06 21:06:26 raspberrypi isc-dhcp-server[27445]: Starting ISC DHCPv4 server: dhcpddhcpd service already running (pid file /var/run/dhcpd.pid currenty exists) ... failed!

Apr 06 21:06:26 raspberrypi systemd[1]: isc-dhcp-server.service: Control process exited, code=exited status=1

Apr 06 21:06:26 raspberrypi systemd[1]: Failed to start LSB: DHCP server.
-- Subject: Unit isc-dhcp-server.service has failed
-- Defined-By: systemd
-- Support: https://www.debian.org/support
-- 
-- Unit isc-dhcp-server.service has failed.
-- 
-- The result is failed.

Apr 06 21:06:26 raspberrypi systemd[1]: isc-dhcp-server.service: Unit entered failed state.