yossarian

Support timeline for Jessie

Thu May 04, 2017 4:49 pm

Hi,
I'm running Raspbian Jessie and I use SSH to monitor some things when I am traveling. I assume Raspbian will move to Stretch when it becomes stable and I was wondering how long I will be able to get security updates for Jessie. I'm kind of new to linux, so I don't know if the security updates I'm interested in are coming straight from Debian repos or are dependant on the Raspbian repos. I basically just want to keep my SSH access safe and updated.
Thanks for any guidance you can provide.

DougieLawson

Re: Support timeline for Jessie

Thu May 04, 2017 6:46 pm

Jessie went stable in April 2015 and Wheezy was dropped in September with some security updates until May 2018
The same is likely to be true with Jessie to Stretch (about six months after it goes stable for Raspbian to move to Stretch only).

I have three machines running Stretch from http://mirrordirector.raspbian.org/raspbian/ already (although without any support for packages from http://archive.raspberrypi.org/debian/ as that piece wasn't available for testing when I built them).
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

fruitoftheloom

Thu May 04, 2017 8:39 pm

davesteele wrote:See Debian LTS
https://wiki.debian.org/LTS
The Raspberry Pi Foundation offer Raspbian which is a re-spin of Debian, when Wheezy wrnt end of life the RPF chosr not offer a Community Supported LTS. I would not ecpect the RPF to offer a Community Supported Radpbian Jessie LTS past May 2018
Retired disgracefully.....

yossarian

Thu May 04, 2017 9:11 pm

Ok, I think I got it. Don't expect updates for Jessie from Raspbian repos after ~May 2018.
Thanks guys.

ghans

Fri May 05, 2017 7:05 am

Uhh ... Wheezy is supposed to be dropped in May 2018. Jessie should be suppported till May 2020.