RaspiPaspi

Command line Image viewer?

Tue Sep 11, 2012 8:53 am

Hi,

I'm new to Linux but I've tried to get-apt some of the available command line image viewers.

The only one that compiled and installed was one called gqview, but it says it can't open a display.

Is there any way to view images in the command line on Rasberry debian?

I would like, for now, for the raspBerry to boot and display a slideshow of animated gifs.

Licaon_Kter

Re: Command line Image viewer?

Tue Sep 11, 2012 9:21 am

1: sudo apt-get install links2
2: links2 -g <picture.jpg> ?

also, FYI, apt-get just downloads the binary pre-compiled packages, you are not compiling anything on you Pi with it.
BFQ+BFS or RT on a RPi? 4'real: https://github.com/licaon-kter/ (source and compiled!)

paulk

Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:06 am

Also don't forget you still need to run up X to display any graphics. Although you don't need a display manager.

I use "pqiv" to display slide shows of images within a directory, it's pretty simple

To start your slide show when you type "startx" something like this in .xinitrc in your home directory:

#!/bin/bash
exec /usr/bin/pqiv -<bunch of options> <directory or list of files>
#exec startlxde
#exec xinit xbmc-standalone

RaspiPaspi

Tue Sep 11, 2012 11:23 am

I downloaded and tried to 'make' something called 'image magic'. It didn't work :D

Links2 doesn't seem to work either. If I run it from the command line it says: Initialization error! Cannon open /dev/mem. Error opening /dev/lty0

Although it does run when I just start 'links2', doesn't show images though just dumps them on the screen as ascii.

RaspiPaspi

Tue Sep 11, 2012 11:29 am

Ah, I see.

Both links2 and gqview work from command line if x is running. That's incredibly slow though and neither displays animated gif images.

And Paul, you say you can startx without actually starting the desktop?

RaTTuS

Tue Sep 11, 2012 11:42 am

/me wonders if omxplayer does stills ?