User avatar
mad-hatter
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:58 pm
Location: By the UK seaside

"RANDR" missing

Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:39 am

Hello,


2012-08-16-wheezy-raspbian

Running headless from Windows 7 - (tightvnc)

Various programs I install and start are complaining:

Xlib: extension "RANDR" missing on display ":1.0"

(GParted, QT3, synaptic and others)

Can somebody tell me what I need to install to get rid of this or what I've done wrong?


Regards

bredman
Posts: 1415
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:38 pm

Re: "RANDR" missing

Thu Sep 06, 2012 1:12 pm

RANDR relates to the Resize AND Rotate functionality in X.

Are you using a non-standard display size in VNC? Try starting VNC without specifying a display size and let the RPi pick its own size, then it might not need the RANDR to resize the screen to suit VNC.

User avatar
mad-hatter
Posts: 419
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:58 pm
Location: By the UK seaside

Re: "RANDR" missing

Thu Sep 06, 2012 3:36 pm

Hello bredman,

This is my normal call :- "vncserver :1 -geometry 1265x930 -name Win7 -depth 24 -pixelformat rgb8888", fills screen.
I tried :- "vncserver :1 -name Win7 -depth 24 -pixelformat rgb8888", but display is only about 4/5ths screen size.

Same complaints about RANDR missing.

Could this be anything to do with the Pi memory split, 192MB for the CPU and 64MB for the GPU.

Regards

User avatar
Mortimer
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:57 pm

Re: "RANDR" missing

Thu Sep 06, 2012 5:08 pm

I get the same error popping up when opening up X windows sessions over SSH from my MacBook Pro (My Topic). It doesn't seem to stop it from working though.

sixbacon
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 4:22 pm

Re: "RANDR" missing

Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:57 pm

I only got this problem after upgrading from tightVNC 2.6.4 to 2.7.7.
sixbacon

herwin
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 9:51 pm

Re: "RANDR" missing

Tue Aug 13, 2013 11:35 pm

bredman wrote:RANDR relates to the Resize AND Rotate functionality in X.

Are you using a non-standard display size in VNC? Try starting VNC without specifying a display size and let the RPi pick its own size, then it might not need the RANDR to resize the screen to suit VNC.


yes, I also experienced the same thing, what’s the solution??
thanks

THOR_bot
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 6:54 pm

Re: "RANDR" missing

Tue Mar 29, 2016 6:57 pm

Yes, where the solution is?

THOR_bot
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 6:54 pm

Re: "RANDR" missing

Thu Mar 31, 2016 12:04 pm

Hello,

Some body have the solution about this problem?

Plz

mbrown956
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:09 pm

Re: "RANDR" missing

Thu Jul 14, 2016 10:10 pm

Tightvnc does not appear to support xrandr. Vnc4server does.

Uninstall tightvncserver and install vnc4server.

guillermoarreola
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:51 pm

Re: "RANDR" missing

Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:55 pm

somebody knows how instal vnc4server ??

guillermoarreola
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 11:51 pm

Re: "RANDR" missing

Thu Jan 26, 2017 12:02 am

mbrown956 wrote:Tightvnc does not appear to support xrandr. Vnc4server does.

Uninstall tightvncserver and install vnc4server.
somebody knows how to install vnc4server on a raspberry??

User avatar
Mortimer
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:57 pm

Re: "RANDR" missing

Fri Jan 27, 2017 6:41 am

Perhaps...
sudo apt-get vnc4server

mickymcline
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:49 am

Re: "RANDR" missing

Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:51 am

sudo apt-get install <app name to install>

Return to “Raspbian”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests