jayt80
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 11:53 pm

Copying SD card image for additional raspberry pi

Tue Nov 15, 2016 11:35 pm

Hi there,

Sorry of this has already been discussed but I have a raspberry pi 3 which has the latest version of raspbian installed as well as other applications etc which took a while to setup and I'm wanting to save time and copy the image to a new raspberry pi zero to run on the same network.

I'm assuming making a backup on of the image to put on a new micro SD card will not do as I'm wanting to operate it as a completely separate pi on my network.

How would I do this?

User avatar
FTrevorGowen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 5464
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:12 pm
Location: Bristol, U.K.
Contact: Website

Re: Copying SD card image for additional raspberry pi

Wed Nov 16, 2016 12:03 pm

jayt80 wrote:Hi there,
Sorry of this has already been discussed but I have a raspberry pi 3 which has the latest version of raspbian installed as well as other applications etc which took a while to setup and I'm wanting to save time and copy the image to a new raspberry pi zero to run on the same network.
...
Raspbian Jessie's "built-in" cloning tool** worked fine for me:
http://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi ... _a_Pi_Zero
http://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi ... uSDHC_card
Trev.
** https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/anothe ... -raspbian/
Still running Raspbian Jessie or Stretch on some older Pi's (an A, B1, 2xB2, B+, P2B, 3xP0, P0W, 2xP3A+, P3B+, P3B, B+, and a A+) but Buster on the P4B's. See: https://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi/raspiidx.htm

jayt80
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 11:53 pm

Re: Copying SD card image for additional raspberry pi

Wed Nov 16, 2016 9:37 pm

Thanks.

I've already cloned the card but I want to set it up this cloned card as a new raspberry pi on the zero. (different IP, pi name etc) so it won't have any conflicts on my network.

how would I go about doing this?

Regards,

JT.
...
[/quote]
Raspbian Jessie's "built-in" cloning tool** worked fine for me:
http://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi ... _a_Pi_Zero
http://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi ... uSDHC_card
Trev.
** https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/anothe ... -raspbian/[/quote]

User avatar
FTrevorGowen
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 5464
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:12 pm
Location: Bristol, U.K.
Contact: Website

Re: Copying SD card image for additional raspberry pi

Thu Nov 17, 2016 10:02 am

jayt80 wrote:Thanks.
I've already cloned the card but I want to set it up this cloned card as a new raspberry pi on the zero. (different IP, pi name etc) so it won't have any conflicts on my network.
how would I go about doing this?
Regards,
JT.
...
The only thing you should need to change is the hostname (via raspi-config or its GUI). Assuming you're connected to a router, because the Zero's MAC address** is different, that will assign a different IP address to it by dhcp, hence no network conflicts. If your router supports it you can also arrange for each pi to get the same (but different) IP address each time they're plugged in from the router's dhcp server**** (rather than setting a static IP address on the Pi) - that's what I do.
Trev.
** strictly-speaking, for the Zero, the MAC address of the USB-to-ethernet or WiFi adapter in use.
**** each "pseudo-static" IP address is associated to the Pi's MAC address by the router, usually called DHCP address reservation or similar.
Still running Raspbian Jessie or Stretch on some older Pi's (an A, B1, 2xB2, B+, P2B, 3xP0, P0W, 2xP3A+, P3B+, P3B, B+, and a A+) but Buster on the P4B's. See: https://www.cpmspectrepi.uk/raspberry_pi/raspiidx.htm

jayt80
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 11:53 pm

Re: Copying SD card image for additional raspberry pi

Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:56 am

Thanks!

Just one other question:

I have a wifi dongle for the pi zero. Is it easy to configure it on a pi 3 first (for the pi zero) even though the pi 3 already has built in wifi. Can I choose to use the dongle over the built in pi 3 wifi to configure it to my router so it's all ready to go when I plug it into the pi zero?

Thanks for you time and help.

JT.

ElEscalador
Posts: 786
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 4:55 pm
Location: Detroit, MI USA
Contact: Website

Elescalador

Mon Nov 28, 2016 1:38 am

No need to use the dongle on the Pi3- I've setup several zeros on a 3 and configuring wifi has worked with the onboard wifi.
Robotics tips, hacks, book extras https://youtube.com/c/practicalrobotics

jayt80
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 11:53 pm

Re: Elescalador

Mon Nov 28, 2016 4:40 am

ElEscalador wrote:No need to use the dongle on the Pi3- I've setup several zeros on a 3 and configuring wifi has worked with the onboard wifi.
Thanks!

Return to “Raspbian”