Mike1369

GPS Hat to talk to the serial port

Sat May 28, 2016 9:05 pm

I'm new at this, just registered today and I have a question related to this subject. I have a RPI 2 and after the latest Jessie update/upgrade /dev/ttyAMA0 went away and my GPS Hat no longer works. I have tried all kinds of combinations of turning off serial in rasp-config, updating /boot/config.txt enable_uart=1, which looks to me to be the same as turning on serial in raspi-config and I cannot get data to/from the ttyAMA0. I really have tried to find the answer on my own but I'm at a dead end.
What combination of settings will allow the GPS Hat to talk to the serial port ttyAMA0 again?
Thanks,
Mike

Milliways

Re: Where is /dev/serial0

Sun May 29, 2016 4:40 am

Mike1369 wrote:I'm new at this, just registered today and I have a question related to this subject. I have a RPI 2 and after the latest Jessie update/upgrade /dev/ttyAMA0 went away and my GPS Hat no longer works. I have tried all kinds of combinations of turning off serial in rasp-config, updating /boot/config.txt enable_uart=1, which looks to me to be the same as turning on serial in raspi-config and I cannot get data to/from the ttyAMA0. I really have tried to find the answer on my own but I'm at a dead end.
What combination of settings will allow the GPS Hat to talk to the serial port ttyAMA0 again?
Thanks,
Mike
If you are using a Pi2 that has NOTHING to do with this Topic which is about Pi3.

Mike1369

Re: GPS Hat to talk to the serial port

Sun May 29, 2016 1:24 pm

Very helpful, thanks.

DirkS

Sun May 29, 2016 2:13 pm

Mike1369 wrote:Very helpful, thanks.
It is, because now you have your own topic and you may even get a relevant response...

Does /dev/ttyAMA0 exist?

Please give more details of the hardware you're using (what GPS hat?).
What software do you use?
And details of any relevant settings.

quinness

Sun May 29, 2016 2:35 pm

May it be that the GPS is on /dev/ttyUSB0?