Bosse_B
Posts: 757
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:14 am

Back to my struggle with TightVNC on Jessie:
After I changed the boot option to boot into the CLI tightvnc still did not start at boot, but now I could at least start it manually by issuing this command line:

Code: Select all

vncserver :0 -geometry 1280x900 -depth 24
Now I could connect from my Win7 PC
When I reboot the Pi I get an error in the screen as follows (typed from looking at the TV output):

Code: Select all

[FAILED] Failed to start LSB: Start VNC at boot time.
See 'systemctl status vncboot.service' for details
And doing as instructed I see this:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:/home/pi# systemctl status vncboot.service
? vncboot.service - LSB: Start VNC Server at boot time
   Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/vncboot)
   Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Fri 2015-10-02 08:51:38 CEST; 5min ago
  Process: 490 ExecStart=/etc/init.d/vncboot start (code=exited, status=203/EXEC)

Oct 02 08:51:38 rpi2-jessie systemd[1]: vncboot.service: control process exited, code=exited status=203
Oct 02 08:51:38 rpi2-jessie systemd[1]: Failed to start LSB: Start VNC Server at boot time.
Oct 02 08:51:38 rpi2-jessie systemd[1]: Unit vncboot.service entered failed state.
I have the following in the /etc/init.d/vncboot file:

Code: Select all

### BEGIN INIT INFO
# Provides: vncboot
# Required-Start: $remote_fs $syslog
# Required-Stop: $remote_fs $syslog
# Default-Start: 2 3 4 5
# Default-Stop: 0 1 6
# Short-Description: Start VNC Server at boot time
# Description: Start VNC Server at boot time.
### END INIT INFO

#! /bin/sh
# /etc/init.d/vncboot

USER=pi
HOME=/home/pi

export USER HOME

case "$1" in
 start)
  echo "Starting VNC Server"
  #Insert your favoured settings for a VNC session
  su - pi -c "/usr/bin/vncserver :0 -geometry 1280x900 -depth 24 -dpi 96"
  ;;

 stop)
  echo "Stopping VNC Server"
  /usr/bin/vncserver -kill :0
  ;;

 *)
  echo "Usage: /etc/init.d/vncboot {start|stop}"
  exit 1
  ;;
esac

exit 0

This vncboot file worked fine in Wheezy but apparently not in Jessie...
The permissions are:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:/home/pi# ls -l /etc/init.d/vncboot
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 684 Oct  2 08:50 /etc/init.d/vncboot
What do I do now? Seems I am pretty close....
Bo Berglund
Sweden

Bosse_B
Posts: 757
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:46 am

I might add that if I log on to the Pi with PuTTY and issue the command:

Code: Select all

./vnc.sh
then the VNC server starts up and I can connect from Win7.
The content of the vnc.sh file is this:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
vncserver :0 -geometry 1280x900 -depth 24 -dpi 96
This is exactly what I have entered as the command to run in the boot script:

Code: Select all

su - pi -c "/usr/bin/vncserver :0 -geometry 1280x900 -depth 24 -dpi 96"
except for the path specifier for the vncserver file, so why does it fail on boot?
Bo Berglund
Sweden

User avatar
neuralassembly
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 4:23 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 02, 2015 9:16 am

When I runs OpenCV program, it crashes with the following message.

GdkGLExt-WARNING **: Window system doesn't support OpenGL.

The program is very simple one as follows.
It seems that imshow function fails.

Is this problems caused by OpenCV or GTK+3?
-----
import cv2

img = cv2.imread('test.jpg')
cv2.imshow('result', img)

User avatar
PeterO
Posts: 4869
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 4:14 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 02, 2015 9:35 am

It's caused by the Pi not supporting openGL (as the error message clearly states). GtkGLExt is a library that allows an openGL context to be easily associated with a Gtk drawable (or window I forget which).
PeterO
Discoverer of the PI2 XENON DEATH FLASH!
Interests: C,Python,PIC,Electronics,Ham Radio (G0DZB),1960s British Computers.
"The primary requirement (as we've always seen in your examples) is that the code is readable. " Dougie Lawson

User avatar
procount
Posts: 1661
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 12:32 pm
Location: UK

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 02, 2015 12:06 pm

@Bosse_B - I suspect your .X0_Lock error is due to the desktop GUI already running (which will be display :0) To use that display when the GUI is already running, you might have to enable some shared opens in tightvnc to allow the main desktop to be shared between vnc and the main screen. Some other VNC tools do this better than others.
When you boot directly to the CLI, display :0 is still available, which is why it then works.

Another easier solution is to use display :1, but you must then connect to VNC using port 5901 instead of 5900 (i.e. 5900+display number). But it should work whether you boot to the desktop or the CLI.

Regarding starting VNC from boot - I have read of several issues where Jessie has broken previously working boot scripts. I suspect it is due to the way systemD initialises the system and your script is now running too early in the boot process before other dependencies have been initialised. The LSB file reference is related to systemD. I know nothing of SystemD, but I hope this points you in the right direction. Try delaying your vnc script until later in the boot process (don't ask me how - cron maybe?)
PINN - NOOBS with the extras... https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=142574

tvoverbeek
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:50 am
Location: Fieberbrunn, Austria

Different logout behavior between 'boot to desktop' and star

Fri Oct 02, 2015 12:23 pm

When booting directly to desktop (default in Jessie) you cannot get back to the command line when using the logout option. You'll get a graphical login window (graphical agetty ?) which enters again the desktop.
When booting into the command line and starting the desktop with startx the logout menu has an option to return to the command line.
I would expect there to be a possibility to get to the command line when terminating the desktop for the automatic boot into desktop case. (Option on the login screen ???).
(and yes, I know about Ctrl-Alt-Fn to get a virtual terminal).

Bosse_B
Posts: 757
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 02, 2015 12:27 pm

I have already set the boot option to go to CLI.
That was the way to get a VNC possibility in the first place by running the vnc.sh script from a PuTTY session.
I will try to change the scripts etc to use display :1 instead and see if that improves things.
EDIT:
Not a thing changed. The same error is shown on the startup as before.
And once the boot is ready the vnc.sh script successfully starts VNC...
But I would rather have it not require me going in with PuTTY and run that script before I can go to the desktop via VNC.
So could I set cron to run my vnc.sh script (it is located in the pi home dir) after the boot process is done?
How does one know that this has happened, i.e. what time should one set for cron?
And how do I disable the now failing bootup script in init.d?
Last edited by Bosse_B on Fri Oct 02, 2015 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Bo Berglund
Sweden

User avatar
procount
Posts: 1661
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 12:32 pm
Location: UK

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 02, 2015 12:39 pm

I have already set the boot option to go to CLI.
That was the way to get a VNC possibility in the first place by running the vnc.sh script from a PuTTY session.
So I saw - I was explaining why that solution worked.
I will try to change the scripts etc to use display :1 instead and see if that improves things.
It won't really be an improvement - it should just allow you to start VNC in a consistent manner whether you have booted to CLI or GUI.
But it doesn't solve the automatic startup from boot problem. Good luck with finding how to get that to work. SystemD is a mystery to me at the moment. We could do with a good tutorial on how to reliably start services from SystemD.
PINN - NOOBS with the extras... https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=142574

User avatar
bonzadog
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:40 am
Location: Rietberg/Germany

Re: Jessie Q&A problem with RPi-Cam-Web-Interface

Fri Oct 02, 2015 4:17 pm

Hello,

The software RPi-Cam-Web-Interface http://elinux.org/RPi-Cam-Web-Interfacedoes not work with Jessie.
I cannot seem to contact the author of RPi-Cam-Web-Interface
to point this out.

Just now (2.10.2015 GMT 17:24 ) I tries on Jessie :
apt-get update

Fetched 198 B in 20s (9 B/s)
Reading package lists... Done
W: GPG error: http://vontaene.de . Release: The following signatures couldn't be verified because the public key is not available: NO_PUBKEY F0DAA5410C667A3E
Yesterday it worked.



Any help on both of these topics ? I really liked that RPi-Cam-Web-Interface software!

BD

ShiftPlusOne
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5762
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: The unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 02, 2015 4:31 pm

bonzadog wrote:I cannot seem to contact the author of RPi-Cam-Web-Interface
Why not?
https://github.com/silvanmelchior/RPi_C ... ace/issues

diederik
Posts: 389
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 02, 2015 5:13 pm

Bosse_B wrote:And how do I disable the now failing bootup script in init.d?
I don't know the answer to your question (I don't use vnc), but this may help: https://access.redhat.com/documentation ... erVNC.html

EDIT: Oops, wrong VNC server. This may be better: https://www.namhuy.net/3134/install-vnc ... 19494496-1

This is for another VNC server (again :lol: ), but may give some ideas: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/VNC/S ... vid.2B-.29

Bosse_B
Posts: 757
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sat Oct 03, 2015 10:06 am

I gave up on Jessie and reverted to Raspbian Wheezy 2015-05-05 instead.
Then I got both the FreePascal, Lazarus and VNC installations running right off the bat (even if the compile times for fpc and lazarus were quite long).
So I will stay with Wheezy for a while more.
Bo Berglund
Sweden

User avatar
bonzadog
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:40 am
Location: Rietberg/Germany

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sat Oct 03, 2015 12:34 pm

I, too ,have now reverted to Wheezy for old projects,
Perhaps in a month or so I'll re-try Jessie on the old projects again.

But I will try Jessie on new projects if possible. Jessie is way I want to go.
BD

CraigV
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 11:45 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sat Oct 03, 2015 7:37 pm

I am very interested in showing of how Avogadro runs on the Pi to my science students, but it appears not to run (OpenGL not supported error) in Jessie. I also got that in Wheezy for the first year or two, but some wonderful update fixed that. When might I expect such an update for Jessie?

rubikwizard
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:37 pm
Location: West Yorkshire
Contact: Website

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sat Oct 03, 2015 8:27 pm

CraigV wrote:I am very interested in showing of how Avogadro runs on the Pi to my science students, but it appears not to run (OpenGL not supported error) in Jessie. I also got that in Wheezy for the first year or two, but some wonderful update fixed that. When might I expect such an update for Jessie?
Could this be a similar problem to the Stella Atari emulator? It worked on Wheezy but under Jessie it gives "Unable to create SDL renderer: Couldn't find matching render driver. Couldn't initialise video subsystem"

When started with the option "-video software" it works but is far too slow to be usable.

algif_skcipher
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:06 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sat Oct 03, 2015 11:11 pm

Thanks for putting out the jessie image.

This problem remains (apt-get -y install cryptsetup):

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ cryptsetup benchmark
# Tests are approximate using memory only (no storage IO).
PBKDF2-sha1        38550 iterations per second
PBKDF2-sha256      31813 iterations per second
PBKDF2-sha512       3378 iterations per second
PBKDF2-ripemd160   33098 iterations per second
PBKDF2-whirlpool    2859 iterations per second
Required kernel crypto interface not available.
Ensure you have algif_skcipher kernel module loaded.
[email protected] ~ $ 
Still missing a cipher in kernel. Had this same problem when I last tried compiling cryptsetup 1.6+ on wheezy last year but was hoping it would resolve eventually.

tpylkko
Posts: 373
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 5:21 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sun Oct 04, 2015 8:45 am

if your service (the vnc) is indicated by systemctl to be failed, but you can start it manually with

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl start vncboot.service
(since judging by yout output that is the name of the service in your case...)

then it is possible that the process is starting at a moment when something that it depends on is not up yet, in which case you need to add the argument to start only after what it requires. To do this see systemctl man.

pd3rfr
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 8:38 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sun Oct 04, 2015 9:18 am

I had the same problem with vnc in Jessie.

I added a simple line in one of the files and it works!

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/rc.local
Add the following line:

Code: Select all

sudo /etc/init.d/vncboot start
looks like:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh -e
#
# rc.local
#
# This script is executed at the end of each multiuser runlevel.
# Make sure that the script will "exit 0" on success or any other
# value on error.
#
# In order to enable or disable this script just change the execution
# bits.
#
# By default this script does nothing.

sudo /etc/init.d/vncboot start

# Print the IP address
_IP=$(hostname -I) || true
if [ "$_IP" ]; then
  printf "My IP address is %s\n" "$_IP"
fi

exit 0
Have fun!

cloud_strife84
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 1:38 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sun Oct 04, 2015 11:02 am

Hi I can't install PiStore after a clean install of jessie. When i input sudo apt-get install pistore it says "E: Unable to locate package pistore". Can you help me?

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 35529
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sun Oct 04, 2015 11:03 am

It's no surprise. The pistore has been dead since January 2015.
Note: Having anything remotely humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tinfoil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

cloud_strife84
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 1:38 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sun Oct 04, 2015 11:06 am

Oh... How can I install apps found on pistore? I'm interested into http://store.raspberrypi.com/projects/netio and http://store.raspberrypi.com/projects/q ... rol-server

JarJarGeek
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:32 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sun Oct 04, 2015 1:19 pm

AndyD wrote:
Bosse_B wrote:I tried to install tightvnc according to instructions found here:
https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... /README.md
But on the 3rd command I got an error message:

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ vncserver :0 -geometry 1280x900 -depth 24

Warning: rpi2-jessie:0 is taken because of /tmp/.X0-lock
Remove this file if there is no X server rpi2-jessie:0
A VNC server is already running as :0
And my attempt at connecting from Windows TightVNC client failed.
On another Pi1B+ with Raspbian Wheezy this dis not happen.
What could be wrong here?
The Raspbian Jessie image now boots into the Desktop by default, the instruction for VNC assume that the raspberrypi is booting to the command line. If you are using your Raspberry Pi headless, use raspi-config to change the boot behaviour of your Raspberry Pi.
I tried installing tightvnc first after first boot and sudo update etc of Jessie; installed OK BUT could not connect at all. So I removed (apt-get uninstall) tightvnc and used Simon Walters trusted install - did a reboot and boom - works like a charm !! Very impressed with Jessie so far. Link below to VNC (X11) install;

http://simplesi.net/auto-install-x11vnc/
@jarjargeek

syntax-err0r.com

Zhendos
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 2:46 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Mon Oct 05, 2015 7:21 pm

How to go to Wi-Fi settings? :?

User avatar
bonzadog
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:40 am
Location: Rietberg/Germany

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:12 am

@ Zhendos

sudo su

for example (with out wpa-config)
nano /etc/networks/interfaces

uto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet manual

auto wlan0
allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet static
address 192.168.178.225 <--- the address taht will allocated to the RPi
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.178.1 <--- the router ip address
wpa-passphrase router password
wpa-ssid ssid of router
#wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

#auto wlan1

#allow-hotplug wlan1
#iface wlan1 inet manual
#wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

tvoverbeek
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:50 am
Location: Fieberbrunn, Austria

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:59 am

Zhendos wrote:How to go to Wi-Fi settings? :?
I am assuming you are booting into the desktop.
Just click on the wi-fi symbol (top right).
It will show the wifi networks detected (provided your wifi adapter is supported).
Just click on the one you want and then fill in the password.
That is all now under Jessie.
Much simpler as the old wifi-config under Wheezy.

Return to “Raspbian”