jorisvergeer

Compiler options

Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:49 pm

The raspbian FAQ states that the following flags should be used:

Code: Select all

-march=armv6
-mfpu=vfp
-mfloat-abi=hard
Shouldn't they be these for the best optimization?

-march=armv6zk
-mcpu=arm1176jzf-s
-mtune=arm1176jzf-s
-mfpu=vfp
-mfloat-abi=hard
I am no expert but this looks like it gives gcc some more specific information about the CPU.

Does it make some difference using those flags, did i overlook something, is there more optimization possible?

I was curious why the FAQ states those generic flags while OpenElec.tv uses more specific flags when they are both optimized for the RPi.

Sources:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Raspberry_Pi (right bar with CPU)
http://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc/ARM-Options.html
OpenElec.tv build system
http://www.raspbian.org/RaspbianFAQ

blackarchon

Re: Compiler options

Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:40 pm

If I would know how to compile the kernel and all other packages with these compiler switches, I would try it, just out of curiosity.

mpthompson

Wed Jul 18, 2012 10:30 pm

jorisvergeer wrote:Shouldn't they be these for the best optimization?

-march=armv6zk
-mcpu=arm1176jzf-s
-mtune=arm1176jzf-s
-mfpu=vfp
-mfloat-abi=hard
I am no expert but this looks like it gives gcc some more specific information about the CPU.