El_Presidente

Changing Distros - Help

Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:46 am

I'm about to try the Raspbian release candidate distro as my third after softfp Squeeze and Wheezy. Just wondering if there is anything to help me catalogue the changes I made to Wheezy over the last couple of weeks, done in order to sort quite a few glitches?

I'm a relative newbie on Linux and I'm trying to avoid the feeling of going back to square one again. I managed (with help from the forums, MagPi, Google et al) to crack a list of probably 10-15 issues across config, video, sound, legacy drivers, LXDE, Python, Bluetooth, USB stick, hub/keyboard etc.

Now I want to get onto Raspbian and do a little overclock to get things running smoother, but it would be great if I had a way of kind of doing a 'diff' on my current Wheezy first, against the stock Wheezy image. Maybe a list of changed files, settings etc. (OK - I know, I should have written things down! :? )

If Raspbian continues the evolutionary general improvements that I saw from Squeeze to Wheezy then fine - I can cope with revisiting a few old friends...

Too much to ask? :ugeek:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Never trust a man, who when left alone with a tea cosey, doesn't try it on.

mpthompson

Re: Changing Distros - Help

Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:36 pm

Sorry, I don't know of a tool that catalogs such changes. You could try to see how much is captured in our command line "history". Hopefully someone will chime in with hints that will smooth out the process of changing distributions.

joan

Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:43 pm

You may have some joy with the find command to pinpoint files that have been modified recently,

e.g.

find /etc -mtime 1 -type f

will show all the files in /etc which have changed in the last 2 days.

That may jog your memory enough to be able to document the changes.

El_Presidente

Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:41 pm