User avatar
Karel Bata
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 1:56 pm
Location: London
Contact: Website

Dual montor output?

Thu Feb 05, 2015 7:51 am

Hopefully not as mad as that sounds! But you don't know till you ask...

Among other things, I create projection mapping installations. The RPi has been a fantastic help in that I can run a video file off it and leave the whole thing unattended for days or weeks (and without leaving a laptop plugged in!).

Sometimes I use two projectors. I do this by creating a dual width video and then splitting that across two monitor outputs which go to projectors. But this means using a laptop to keep both projected images in sync.

Is there any way of doing this with the Pi? Perhaps with more hardware? Or is such an idea laughable, even with the new model?

Many thanks.

http://karelbata.co.uk

ghans
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Dual montor output?

Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:41 am

Gerts VGA addon enables hardware-accelerated dual-head (provided your second "screen" can use VGA) on the models A+ , B+ and B2.
There were some limitations on color-depth and resolution last time i looked , though - something for you to research :D

ghans
• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.
• Don't like to search the forum BEFORE posting 'cos it's useless ? Try googling : yoursearchtermshere site:raspberrypi.org

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10565
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: Dual montor output?

Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:06 am

How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

User avatar
Karel Bata
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 1:56 pm
Location: London
Contact: Website

Re: Dual montor output?

Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:21 pm

Thanks a lot guys,

My soldering skills are rubbish, so Gert's board is a bit of a non-starter for me. I once tried assembling an Acorn Atom from a kit and it never booted up. :( Never again. And Gert uses tiny surface soldered components...

A shame.

Piwall looks great but the last update to the site was posted on 21 September 2013 http://www.piwall.co.uk/faq-revised Since then it seems to have gone quiet.

It looks abandoned. That's a bit off-putting. You know any more about it..?
Last edited by Karel Bata on Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.

shawaj
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:36 am

Re: Dual montor output?

Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:24 pm

The Gert VGA kits actually are using through hole parts
Support The MagPi by purchasing printed copies from one of our retailers - http://themagpi.com/en/buy

Please share with anyone who is interested!

User avatar
Karel Bata
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 1:56 pm
Location: London
Contact: Website

Re: Dual montor output?

Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:28 pm

Oh. Someone said otherwise on the forum. Guess he's changed that. Still, I'm useless at soldering...

shawaj
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:36 am

Re: Dual montor output?

Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:41 pm

Original one was, kit is through hole -http://raspi.tv/2014/gert-vga-666-review-and-video

Fair enough on soldering though!
Support The MagPi by purchasing printed copies from one of our retailers - http://themagpi.com/en/buy

Please share with anyone who is interested!

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 39626
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Dual montor output?

Thu Feb 05, 2015 12:47 pm

Karel Bata wrote:Oh. Someone said otherwise on the forum. Guess he's changed that. Still, I'm useless at soldering...
I could build one for you for a fee. It's only 95 solder joints.
Note: Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

Criticising any questions is banned on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
All fake doctors are on my foes list.

User avatar
Karel Bata
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 1:56 pm
Location: London
Contact: Website

Re: Dual montor output?

Thu Feb 05, 2015 1:09 pm

"only 95 solder joints" - to me that is hell! I've PMd you Dougie.

So will this give me the two monitor outputs I'm looking for (assuming I use the RPi 2 - which gets delivered today! :) )? I'm going to need to do more aren't I?

With my Mac laptop I currently use this gadget http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/produ ... go/analog/ but that requires installing a driver - and I strongly doubt there's one for the RPi. But maybe with a Windows 10 OS I could use the Matrox Windows driver..?

Return to “General discussion”