The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread


443 posts   Page 18 of 18   1 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18
by DougieLawson » Tue Mar 03, 2015 11:52 am
pattagghiu wrote:can i assume now the "official" firmware (with dist-upgrade) is 3.18.8 or should i look elsewhere?

To get the leading edge 3.18.8 "firmware" and kernel you'll need to use rpi-update, the stock kernel with apt-get hasn't got past 3.18.7 yet.
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Since 2012: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Zero*2, 3B*3

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Do not send private messages.
User avatar
Posts: 27903
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
by Massi » Tue Mar 03, 2015 11:56 am
DougieLawson wrote:
pattagghiu wrote:can i assume now the "official" firmware (with dist-upgrade) is 3.18.8 or should i look elsewhere?

To get the leading edge 3.18.8 "firmware" and kernel you'll need to use rpi-update, the stock kernel with apt-get hasn't got past 3.18.7 yet.


Ok, so i'll stay there for now :)
Where can i see the stockversion? I need to upgrade wifi drivers before dist-upgrade :)
Posts: 1555
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 1:52 pm
Location: Italy
by Jo13310 » Thu Mar 05, 2015 2:24 pm
Hello! I bought a RPi 2 with an adaptor 5V/2A. I'd like to buy a powered usb hub. The problem is backfeed from the USB port. I'm new in this and I really don't understand it all.

If someone could tell me which usb hub to buy and if backfeed wouldn't hurt my RPi that would be nice.

Thanks in advance
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 2:21 pm
by W. H. Heydt » Thu Mar 05, 2015 6:36 pm
Jo13310 wrote:Hello! I bought a RPi 2 with an adaptor 5V/2A. I'd like to buy a powered usb hub. The problem is backfeed from the USB port. I'm new in this and I really don't understand it all.

If someone could tell me which usb hub to buy and if backfeed wouldn't hurt my RPi that would be nice.

Thanks in advance

This is the type of hub I use: http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/83-12399
It doesn't backfeed.
Posts: 6708
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:36 pm
Location: Vallejo, CA (US)
by findx » Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:41 pm
jdb wrote:
findx wrote:
jdb wrote:The USB timer/counter was actually something that I requested - there's some Gert magic in there that means you can route the ARMCTRL FIQ to an arbitrary core and multiplex it with a very basic timer (19.2MHz/24-bit compare-counter) to get around some of the limitations in the OTG core.


Will specifics of the FIQ implementation be released? I currently use GPIO FIQ code on the Raspberry Pi 1 model B for somewhat fast data acquisition, and it'd be great to have some documentation on what needs to change to move it to the new multi-core architecture.


I believe the document detailing the ARM-local peripherals (i.e. implemented at the boundary of the Cortex-A7 block) is still confidential to licensees. I'll see if that's going to change anytime soon.


Just following up -- are there any updates?
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 7:52 pm
by mob-i-l » Wed Jun 03, 2015 7:39 pm
How do you detect if the warranty bit is set on a Raspberry Pi 2 B? I found a test for Raspberry Pi 1 that I run on Raspberry Pi 2 and according to that the warranty bit is set on my computer, but I have only used microSD-cards with settings according to raspi-config.
cat /proc/cpuinfo
gives
Revision : a01041
Raspberry Pi 0&1 A&1 B2&1 B+&2 B w/ Raspbian. Started w/ BASIC on ABC80 & ZX81 then Forth, Z80… http://scratch.mit.edu/users/mobluse/ https://github.com/mobluse/ https://www.youtube.com/MOBiL4u/ https://twitter.com/mobluse/
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:45 am
Location: Lund, Skåne/Scania, Sweden
by jdb » Wed Jun 03, 2015 7:56 pm
findx wrote:
jdb wrote:
I believe the document detailing the ARM-local peripherals (i.e. implemented at the boundary of the Cortex-A7 block) is still confidential to licensees. I'll see if that's going to change anytime soon.


Just following up -- are there any updates?


The A7 peripheral documents are up on our doc tree:
https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... /README.md
mob-i-l wrote:How do you detect if the warranty bit is set on a Raspberry Pi 2 B? I found a test for Raspberry Pi 1 that I run on Raspberry Pi 2 and according to that the warranty bit is set on my computer, but I have only used microSD-cards with settings according to raspi-config.
cat /proc/cpuinfo
gives
Revision : a01041

https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... 76#p687876

Bit 25 is the warranty bit. If the script is not updated for Pi2 then it'll mistake the revision scheme as the warranty bit.
Rockets are loud.
https://astro-pi.org
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 1643
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 2:37 pm
by mob-i-l » Mon Jun 08, 2015 8:23 pm
davidcoton wrote:Possible solution: keep the overclock settings separate for Pi1 and Pi2, so that transferring to a different version will not activate the wrong set of settings :?


I also think this is a good idea because it would make it easier to move overclocked SD-cards between Pi1 and Pi2, and vice versa. AFAIK it works like this for the GPU-memory setting and different RAM.
Raspberry Pi 0&1 A&1 B2&1 B+&2 B w/ Raspbian. Started w/ BASIC on ABC80 & ZX81 then Forth, Z80… http://scratch.mit.edu/users/mobluse/ https://github.com/mobluse/ https://www.youtube.com/MOBiL4u/ https://twitter.com/mobluse/
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:45 am
Location: Lund, Skåne/Scania, Sweden
by cedricj » Tue Jun 09, 2015 3:27 pm
Hi everybody,

I had a quick look in the forum but i didn't want to post in the "warranty" thread since I don't exactly talk about the same subject.

I had the luck to order a pi2 on its firsts days of availability on RS japanese website (I live in Japan) and it appeared that my pi crashed 2 weeks ago. I use it as a classic media center (openelec) through berryboot and sometimes Raspbian (still by berryboot) to make some tests.
The pi kept giving me a black screen and didn't boot so I first thought that it was caused by a card corruption (indeed it was) but after changing it yesterday I found that the boot stop at a point, doesn't go further and display a "kernel panic".

I didn't overclocked the pi, used a 5V2A power supply, unplugged and replugged the wire to restart the machine - well i usually do a "reboot" via ssh but I didn't have my phone near... -

So I wanted to have your opinion, do you think I can replace it under warranty? Since I didn't do anything abnormal with it (I used to do the same with my Pi 1 and never had any issues).

By advance thank you,
Cedric
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 1:03 am
by jamesh » Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:23 pm
Have you used a new SD card?
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 17116
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm
by cedricj » Wed Jun 10, 2015 1:11 am
jamesh wrote:Have you used a new SD card?


yes, I bought a new one because I wanted to extend the memory from the beginning. I tried to boot after copying the previous image or by setting up a new installation of berryboot but I got the same result.
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 1:03 am
by jamesh » Wed Jun 10, 2015 9:03 am
Can you try a raw installation of the latest Raspbian, rather than NOOBS or berryboot? That way we can be sure the software is the right version.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 17116
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm
by cedricj » Wed Jun 10, 2015 2:45 pm
I tried to write the Raspbian wheezy 05-05 image by windows (I was a bit lazy and prefered the safest way) and the pi doesn't turn on when I plug the power supply :/
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 1:03 am
by jamesh » Wed Jun 10, 2015 3:06 pm
cedricj wrote:I tried to write the Raspbian wheezy 05-05 image by windows (I was a bit lazy and prefered the safest way) and the pi doesn't turn on when I plug the power supply :/


Did you use win32DiskImager - you need to use that with the raw ISO of Raspbian.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 17116
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm
by fruitoftheloom » Wed Jun 10, 2015 3:08 pm
cedricj wrote:I tried to write the Raspbian wheezy 05-05 image by windows (I was a bit lazy and prefered the safest way) and the pi doesn't turn on when I plug the power supply :/

https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... windows.md
.
Ex Computer Repair & Service Technician.
RPi 3B, HP Envy 4500 Wireless Printer, Google Chromecast, Android Smart Phone, HD 1080p TV and 3/4G Mobile Internet make ideal companions.
Posts: 13738
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Bognor Regis UK
by cedricj » Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:32 pm
yes I used win32DiskImager with an img file (from the zip file on the download section) and it didn't worked.
before that I tried to restore an image backup from weeks ago by the OSX terminal and got a partial boot (which stopped saying kernel panic)
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 1:03 am
by cedricj » Tue Jun 16, 2015 12:06 am
any similar feedback anyone? I think I can't solve it by a software fix so I'll ask the distributor for a product exchange :/
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 1:03 am
by ukusbobra » Wed Nov 11, 2015 12:16 pm
We need memory addresses of Secure Extensions(TrustZone) DRAM on Raspberry Pi 2. Base address and size. Maybe something like a memory map.
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2015 12:08 pm