jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 18033
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:06 pm

I think the usual mechanism is Blutac or electrical tape...
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 30201
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:10 pm

joan wrote: Thanks. I hadn't noticed /proc/cmdline before.
You are welcome. You're also only six posts away from 7000.
We'll need to celebrate that event for all of your excellent support.
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

Since 2012: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Zero*2, 3B*3

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Do not send private messages.

Pi_Fanatic
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 1:01 pm

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:23 pm

allfox wrote:Does anyone know when could I get a Pi 2 in China? The official local distributor told me that currently they don't have a production plan yet. So would there ever be a red Raspberry Pi 2?

PS: I see some shops are already taking order for a green Pi 2 (world wide version). Most of them will start to deliver after Feb 10th. So I guess they import those Pi 2 from some where.
Element14 Asia is fully stocked. Not sure how you place orders with them but they should be able to fulfill for you.

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5106
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:58 pm

rahlquist wrote:Finally managed to find a Pi locally yesterday (thanks to Microcenter) and I am enjoying it so far but have come across a bit of an issue. The LED's seem to be much brighter. Typically my B was sitting in my front window with the camera module so I could monitor for anything coming into my yard (so my killer Corgi's dont get them). During the evening I am getting a lot of LED flare off the LED's on the pi mainboard. Is there any way in software to disable them much like you can the one on the camera board?
Disable ACT led with:

Code: Select all

echo none | sudo tee /sys/class/leds/led0/trigger
disable PWR led with:

Code: Select all

echo 35  | sudo tee /sys/class/gpio/export
echo out | sudo tee /sys/class/gpio/gpio35/direction
echo 0   | sudo tee /sys/class/gpio/gpio35/value

rahlquist
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:00 pm

jamesh wrote:I think the usual mechanism is Blutac or electrical tape...
Lol I will probably employ a non clear case in the future. I figured it couldnt hurt to ask, even my Netgear router running DD-wrt lets you turn off every LED by setting a register correctly, though I imagine adding that into a design costs more so would be contrary to the spirit of Pi.

rahlquist
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:02 pm

dom wrote:
Disable ACT led with:

Code: Select all

echo none | sudo tee /sys/class/leds/led0/trigger
disable PWR lef with:

Code: Select all

echo 35  | sudo tee /sys/class/gpio/export
echo out | sudo tee /sys/class/gpio/gpio35/direction
echo 0   | sudo tee /sys/class/gpio/gpio35/value
dom,
Thank you so much! Is there just as easy a way to re-enable them? If so I could script it to come on and off at sunrise/sunset.

rahlquist
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:05 pm

dom wrote:
Disable ACT led with:

Code: Select all

echo none | sudo tee /sys/class/leds/led0/trigger
Getting a bit of flack with this one;
pi@pi ~ $ echo none | sudo tee /sys/class/leds/led0/trigger
tee: /sys/class/leds/led0/trigger: No such file or directory
none

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 18033
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:07 pm

I think those entries are read write, so you can save the original values, set up to be off using Dom's numbers, then re-enable with the saved state.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 18033
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:08 pm

Odd, my distro has tee installed. But it is a pre-release. You need to install it perhaps?
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

rahlquist
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:10 pm

jamesh wrote:I think those entries are read write, so you can save the original values, set up to be off using Dom's numbers, then re-enable with the saved state.
Sweet will give that a shot!
Odd, my distro has tee installed. But it is a pre-release. You need to install it perhaps?
Oh I have Tee its the path I am passing to that tee is fussing about. The other 3 worked fine.

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5106
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:11 pm

rahlquist wrote:Thank you so much! Is there just as easy a way to re-enable them? If so I could script it to come on and off at sunrise/sunset.
Enable ACT led with:

Code: Select all

echo mmc0 | sudo tee /sys/class/leds/led0/trigger
Enebale PWR led with:

Code: Select all

echo 35  | sudo tee /sys/class/gpio/export
echo in  | sudo tee /sys/class/gpio/gpio35/direction

rahlquist
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:14 pm

dom wrote:
rahlquist wrote:Thank you so much! Is there just as easy a way to re-enable them? If so I could script it to come on and off at sunrise/sunset.
Enable ACT led with:

Code: Select all

echo mmc0 | sudo tee /sys/class/leds/led0/trigger
This errors too. What I see in that area that path doesn't exist.

Code: Select all

pi@pi ~ $ ls /sys/class/leds/
ACT
pi@pi ~ $ ls /sys/class/leds/ACT
brightness  device  max_brightness  power  subsystem  trigger  uevent
Hmm perhaps it should be;

Code: Select all

 echo none | sudo tee /sys/class/leds/ACT/trigger
I am not at the device currently so I cant see for sure.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 18033
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:35 pm

Hmm., I have the led0 stuff, but I'm using one of Dom's early images.

I wonder if there is a difference in the release image - anyone out there can confirm?
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

User avatar
solar3000
Posts: 982
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 12:14 am

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:21 pm

rahlquist wrote:Finally managed to find a Pi locally yesterday (thanks to Microcenter) and I am enjoying it so far but have come across a bit of an issue. The LED's seem to be much brighter. Typically my B was sitting in my front window with the camera module so I could monitor for anything coming into my yard (so my killer Corgi's dont get them). During the evening I am getting a lot of LED flare off the LED's on the pi mainboard. Is there any way in software to disable them much like you can the one on the camera board?
LEDs:
why not use tape therapy?
Antikythera

rahlquist
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:26 pm

solar3000 wrote: LEDs:
why not use tape therapy?
Why waste money on tape when bit flipping is free. Lots of devices have this ability now and some like the Pi and my router I mentioned actually expose it so you can do it. Heck my netgear router has enough white led's on it to light a room bright enough to read by. Turning them off is nice, being able to have dark without a big piece of tape across the top of my $200 router is even better.

When tape is needed I have used it, and I even covered all the LED's on a Buffalo brand ethernet/wifi bridge once with a chunk of Sugru(some of the best stuff on the planet).

EDIT: and lastly of course, power consumption, its a pittance, but less is less.
Last edited by rahlquist on Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
joan
Posts: 12782
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: UK

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:32 pm

jamesh wrote:Hmm., I have the led0 stuff, but I'm using one of Dom's early images.

I wonder if there is a difference in the release image - anyone out there can confirm?
May have got the wrong end of the stick but I think the name has been toggling between ACT and led0 in recent firmware releases. I think the final decision is to call it led0.

tvjon
Posts: 557
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 9:11 am

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:35 pm

Turn off power red led works here.

If you paste that code from the forum into the terminal, it won't work because you end up with stray '\240' char's.

Ok, tried the green ACT, & I'm completely ledless now :)

rahlquist
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:48 pm

joan wrote:
jamesh wrote:Hmm., I have the led0 stuff, but I'm using one of Dom's early images.

I wonder if there is a difference in the release image - anyone out there can confirm?
May have got the wrong end of the stick but I think the name has been toggling between ACT and led0 in recent firmware releases. I think the final decision is to call it led0.
When I went to bed last night everything seemed up to date. After what you said I tried a 'sudo rpi-update' and it pulled new FW and now it wont boot lol.

The adventures of pi2.

EDIT: retrieved Pi, re updated everything and now I have led0 go figure. LOL

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5106
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:32 pm

rahlquist wrote: EDIT: retrieved Pi, re updated everything and now I have led0 go figure. LOL
I believe it used to be called led0, but device tree changed the name to ACT and someone reported it broke their scripts so it's been changed back to led0 (if you run rpi-update).
led0 is the name that will be supported in the future, but if it's not there now, use ACT...

Bakul Shah
Posts: 297
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 1:25 am

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:49 pm

I reread the Sept 19, 2012 blog post on the turbo mode (aka the irreversible bit and the voided warranty) but am still not clear. If the bit is set, is the warranty voided? In the context of Pi2, are there any settings (manually done) that will void the warranty?

Thanks!

jdb
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 1699
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 2:37 pm

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 7:52 pm

Bakul Shah wrote:I reread the Sept 19, 2012 blog post on the turbo mode (aka the irreversible bit and the voided warranty) but am still not clear. If the bit is set, is the warranty voided? In the context of Pi2, are there any settings (manually done) that will void the warranty?

Thanks!
The settings in raspi-config will not set the warranty (overclocking) bit.

Setting other stuff in /boot/config.txt, namely:
- Increasing the temperature limit at which underclocking (or overclock removal) kicks in
- Excessive overvolting (beyond the options offered by raspi-config)

Will set the warranty bit. This applies for Pi2 as well as Pi1.
Rockets are loud.
https://astro-pi.org

RobHenry
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:04 pm
Location: UK

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 8:05 pm

I thought (from my dim and distant memory) that the warranty bit was only set if force_turbo was switched on. I've done this by accident to my pi-2b by re-using an old sd card:

Code: Select all

rob@raspberrypi2 ~ $ cat /boot/config.txt |grep force_turbo && cat /proc/cpuinfo |grep Revision 
force_turbo=1
Revision	: 1a01041
I wouldn't mind except for the fact that my initial experience of the pi-2 indicates that the device is so fast that overclock isn't actually required!

mpnico
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:03 pm

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Fri Feb 06, 2015 10:09 pm

Hi, I just noticed I have my warranty bit set on my fresh new RPi2. I set-up last openelec 5.0.1 on it and just changed force_turbo to 1 in config.txt. My config.txt is basicaly this :

Code: Select all

# arm_freq=700
# core_freq=250
# sdram_freq=400
# over_voltage=0

# set to 'force_turbo=1' to disable dynamic overclocking (you can lose your warranty!)
  force_turbo=1
_freq and over_voltage settings are commented out but I still did loose the warranty :

Code: Select all

OpenELEC:~ # cat /proc/cpuinfo |grep Revision
Revision        : 1a01041
I thought that force_turbo with no over_voltage doesn't void the warranty. Is this not correct for the RPi2 ?

Thanks for your help.

[IDC]Dragon
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 9:47 pm

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Sat Feb 07, 2015 8:52 am

I have a question about the Pi2 (probably it has been raised elsewhere):

I'm surprised that the existing binaries run on it. Isn't it that the Pi1 with its ARMv6 hard float was a rather unusual beast, requiring a specially compiled distro like Raspian? Well, obviously the Pi2 is somewhat downwards compatible, I wonder how and why.
I noticed the kernel is now split into both ABI flavours. Shoudn't the userland be, too?
Could things run better if the binaries are compiled for the newer ARMv7 architecture, perhaps ordering the instructions for superscalar execution where possible?

Jörg
Last edited by [IDC]Dragon on Sat Feb 07, 2015 9:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 11719
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: The Raspberry Pi 2 Q&A thread

Sat Feb 07, 2015 9:00 am

[IDC]Dragon wrote:I'm surprised that the existing binaries run on it. Isn't it that the Pi1 with its ARMv6 hard float was a rather unusual beast, requiring a specially compiled distro like Raspian? Well, obviously the Pi2 is somewhat downwards compatible, I wonder how and why.
The ARMv7 supports everything the ARMv6 did and more. Any ARMv6 code will run on an ARMv7, but not vice-versa.

The Pi needed Raspbian because Debian armhf only supports ARMv7 and higher.

Return to “General discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: laminateaw, rpdom and 34 guests