MargaritaD

QTCreator 5 for raspberry pi?

Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:48 pm

I'm new to the PI, linux, etc, so please excuse what may be basic questions..

I used the command: sudo apt-get install qtcreator, on my raspberry pi, assuming it would install the latest version of QT Creator (which I believe is 5?)

Instead it installed a suite of QT4 apps.

Is there a way to install QT5 - which does NOT involve needing to download sources, then compiling those on the pi... Brief searches suggest this may be do-able, but we're hoping to avoid that..

Thanks in advance for any help,
Margarita

Heater

Re: QTCreator 5 for raspberry pi?

Fri Jan 16, 2015 3:47 am

I have a package of Qt5.2 libraries that allow running of Qt apps in X Windows or directly to the frame buffer, no X in the way. Supports accelerated OpenGl graphics as well.

You can download the package from here http://the.linuxd.org/qt-5-2-for-raspberry-pi/ where there are also instructions for installation and use. Ignore the stuff about building it yourself.

I don't use QtCreator on the Pi. I do all development on a PC and then copy the sources over to the Pi and build them with a simple "qmake; make".
Memory in C++ is a leaky abstraction .

Heater

Fri Jan 16, 2015 11:52 am

I'm sure this is mentioned here many times but there are "backports" packages of Qt5 you can install.

Edit the file: /etc/apt/sources.list and add:

Code: Select all

deb http://twolife.be/raspbian/ wheezy main backports
deb-src http://twolife.be/raspbian/ wheezy main backports
Install the required key:

$sudo apt-key adv --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com --recv-key 2578B775
Then get Qt5 and esoteric requirements installed:

$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get install qt5-default qt5-qmake libegl1-mesa libgles2-mesa
This will take some time, and install a plethora of packages.

I'm guessing a very recent version of QtCreator is also available as a package there.
Last edited by Heater on Sat Jan 17, 2015 1:16 am, edited 1 time in total.