BillStephenson

The Pi as a development platform

Sun Dec 28, 2014 5:38 am

I've been looking at Django and I've got it running on a Pi with the help of this Github project. I'm still going through the "Writing your first Django app" tutorial now but it seems to me it's up to the task I'm considering it for.

I got to thinking that if one created a disk image with Django and a project pre-installed then developers would have a consistent platform to develop on with a well documented and supported framework that they could use their favorite tools on. For me, that would be BBEdit and few other apps on a Mac.

I've been developing my own web apps with my own framework for a couple years now on the Pi and this has worked great for me. I can still work when my internet connection is down, and since I live in a rural area that's still pretty common. I can test my work on my wife's iPhone and Windows tablet, and my Mac and Android phone, over our wifi LAN. And since my apps are deployed on a Linux VPS I only have to make a few changes to paths in a setup file to run them on my production server.

It seems to me this approach has some pretty big advantages. You could have a team spread out in diverse locations all working mostly offline on the exact same platform which could make "telecommuting" a much more efficient process than it has been previously (as far as I know).

Now, since I'm almost never the brightest bulb in the chandelier I suspect this is either being done, or there's good reason it's not, so any feed back that sheds light on what I don't know is welcome.

Heater

Re: The Pi as a development platform

Sun Dec 28, 2014 8:13 am

BillStephenson,
....if one created a disk image with .... pre-installed then developers would have a consistent platform to develop on with a well documented and supported framework