moos3
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:02 pm

Power multiple pi's

Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:05 pm

I'm working on building a cluster of pi's. I'm trying to find a power solution for powering 4+ pis. I was thinking a DAC but I need to interface with 208v 30A power. I'm open to suggestions.

Does anyone know how much power the pi draws ?

User avatar
aTao
Posts: 1084
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 10:41 am
Location: Howlin Eigg

Re: Power multiple pi's

Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:49 pm

The old way to go would have been to build a monster +5V rail, but days have changed...
Probably favourite now would be an intermediate ~12V psu then a DC/DC converter for each RPi
RPis take 0.75~1A each
>)))'><'(((<

plugwash
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:45 pm

Re: Power multiple pi's

Mon Oct 06, 2014 2:09 pm

Assuming no power hungry perhipherals I'd assume 1A at 5V for each Pi. It's a bit of an overestimate but it's better to overestimate than underestimate on this stuff.

For 5 Pis i'd probablly just buy a standard 5V 5A power supply and wire it out to the Pis.

Modern switched mode power supplies should have no problem with 208V but I would want to include fuses in-line if connecting them to a 30A supply.

moos3
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: Power multiple pi's

Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:42 pm

Yeah I was thinking a 5V rail or using a 90W micro atx power supply. Bascially these are going to be serial to ip systems. So I'm looking for something that I can connect to my 208V power in our datacenter.



Thanks

raspifari
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 6:11 pm
Location: France

Re: Power multiple pi's

Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:53 pm

try to find an old computer internal power supplie I have one of power mac G5 It can output 5V 25A

User avatar
Jim JKla
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Power multiple pi's

Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:57 pm

I have several I am looking for a source of cables or even just plugs to allow me to put a RPi on the end of the PC PSU Molex plugs.

ie. Quickly/Cheaply I am not looking for a soldering project
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick


plugwash
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:45 pm

Re: Power multiple pi's

Tue Oct 07, 2014 12:40 am

If he has 208V in his datacenter he is probablly in north america so linking to amazon.co.uk is of limited use ;)

moos3
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: Power multiple pi's

Tue Oct 07, 2014 12:51 am

Yes I'm in the North America. I'm ok with a soldering project to make the rail for the 5v part just need to figure how to wire the Ian connector to the molex

plugwash
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:45 pm

Re: Power multiple pi's

Tue Oct 07, 2014 1:12 am

How about something like mouser part number 709-GS40A05-P1J. 5V 5A universal input power brick with an IEC inlet (I'm guessing you are using IECs to distribute the 208V power to servers?)

You'd have to cut off the outlet plug and solder on some micro USB cables but that shouldn't be a massive deal

As for actually connecting to Pis the easiest way is probablly to chop up a micro USB cable, red wire is 5V, black wire is ground, green and white are the data lines (the Pi doesn't care about these but if you want to be able to charge phones then connect them together).

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 16916
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: Power multiple pi's

Tue Oct 07, 2014 3:26 am

plugwash wrote:If he has 208V in his datacenter he is probablly in north america so linking to amazon.co.uk is of limited use ;)
That is what happens with lack of information in post, why not put location in profile ?? :roll:


http://www.amazon.com/Family-Sized-Desk ... 422&sr=1-2

100-240 volt input
Adieu

SirNight
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2014 1:01 pm

Re: Power multiple pi's

Tue Oct 07, 2014 1:33 pm

Get a good power supply,
I run 200 Raspberry cluster.. each power supply powers 40 Raspberries.
My power supply is 220v in / 5v out 60A

but you need to get a good brand, this is just an example link : http://rgb-123.com/product/5v-60a-power-supply/

Besut
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:20 am

Re: Power multiple pi's

Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:36 am

SirNight wrote:Get a good power supply,
I run 200 Raspberry cluster.. each power supply powers 40 Raspberries.
My power supply is 220v in / 5v out 60A

but you need to get a good brand, this is just an example link : http://rgb-123.com/product/5v-60a-power-supply/
Is it possible to further explain how did you distribute the power to each RPI? GPIO/USB?

I am thinking of using multiple pi+camera arrays, which need to be positioned at some distance from each other, still trying to find alternative solution. One method was to splice ethernet twice, to inject & to GPIO, a bit complex, appreciate your insight if there's easier solution, thanks

plugwash
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 3245
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:45 pm

Re: Power multiple pi's

Thu Dec 18, 2014 10:05 am

Besut wrote: I am thinking of using multiple pi+camera arrays, which need to be positioned at some distance from each other, still trying to find alternative solution. One method was to splice ethernet twice, to inject & to GPIO, a bit complex, appreciate your insight if there's easier solution, thanks
Can you quantify "some distance"?

Return to “General discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], pootle and 38 guests