simplesi
Posts: 2327
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Euxton, Lancashire, UK
Contact: Website

Gert's VGA Board

Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:55 pm

Gert's VGA out for the Pi - £5 - no brainer :)

http://kck.st/1oe0I6D

Simon
Seeking help with Scratch and I/O stuff for Primary age children
http://cymplecy.wordpress.com/ @cymplecy on twitter

riklaunim
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 7:34 pm

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Mon Sep 22, 2014 10:07 pm

But you loose all of the GPIO pins of B+.

simplesi
Posts: 2327
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Euxton, Lancashire, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Mon Sep 22, 2014 10:25 pm

Agreed
But its just £5 :)

£5 is my price to have a play with something - maybe the I2C pins are still free and we could use them?

Some people have suggested using less pins for less resolution (I have no idea is this is tru/will work but fro £5 I'll have a play)

:)

Simon
Seeking help with Scratch and I/O stuff for Primary age children
http://cymplecy.wordpress.com/ @cymplecy on twitter

User avatar
mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 12534
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
Location: South Holland, The Netherlands

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:56 pm

many applications don't need any GPIO's, they may just want add a PI to an old via monitor to get an awesome media player, they can buy a second pi if they want to play with the GPIO's.

Joe Schmoe
Posts: 4277
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:37 am

mahjongg wrote:many applications don't need any GPIO's, they may just want add a PI to an old via monitor to get an awesome media player, they can buy a second pi if they want to play with the GPIO's.
Besides, it's not permanent, is it?

I mean, you can always snap it off, if you need to do something that involves GPIOs, right?
And some folks need to stop being fanboys and see the forest behind the trees.

(One of the best lines I've seen on this board lately)

User avatar
mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 12534
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
Location: South Holland, The Netherlands

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Tue Sep 23, 2014 9:36 am

yes, if you don't need a monitor a the same moment, but you also need to disable the VGA driver, or it would interfere with your GPIO driving program.

User avatar
Burngate
Posts: 6151
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:34 pm
Location: Berkshire UK Tralfamadore
Contact: Website

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Tue Sep 23, 2014 9:51 am

Surely, any reputable GPIO library would:
(1) note the pre-existing GPIO setup - including the ALT2 required by the VGA driver
(2) set the GPIOs as required for whatever needs to hijack the GPIOs
(3) afterwards cleanup, which will re-apply the original setup including ALT2 for the VGA
So nothing should notice the hijacking in the middle

toxibunny
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:21 pm

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Tue Sep 23, 2014 9:56 am

I thought it just used *most* of the gpio pins, and that there were still about 3 or 4 left over..?
note: I may or may not know what I'm talking about...

DirkS
Posts: 10086
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:25 am

toxibunny wrote:I thought it just used *most* of the gpio pins, and that there were still about 3 or 4 left over..?
From Gert's docs at https://github.com/fenlogic/vga666:
How many GPIO pins does it use?
It uses the GPIO pins 2-21. Thus you only have 6 GPIO pins left: 22..27.

riklaunim
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 7:34 pm

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:28 am

I have this board: http://www.suptronics.com/RPI.html which converts HDMI to VGA and doesn't block GPIO... but I didn't tested it yet ;)

PiGraham
Posts: 3678
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 12:37 pm
Location: Waterlooville

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:35 am

Backed.

Joe Schmoe
Posts: 4277
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:40 am

riklaunim wrote:I have this board: http://www.suptronics.com/RPI.html which converts HDMI to VGA and doesn't block GPIO... but I didn't tested it yet ;)
I'm curious why you haven't tested it yet. I was very interested in that board; if I had one, I'd not waste any time putting it to the test.

Two questions come to mind:
  • 1) Does it work with the B+ (the web site says specifically that it works with the B) ?
    2) Does it work as "multi-monitor" (like the Gert VGA board does) ?
And some folks need to stop being fanboys and see the forest behind the trees.

(One of the best lines I've seen on this board lately)

DirkS
Posts: 10086
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:53 am

1) Does it work with the B+ (the web site says specifically that it works with the B) ?
Can't see a reason why it wouldn't work electronically, but there are some mechanical problems:
* Can't use the mounting posts
* HDMI ports don't line up, so you can't use the adapter. You'll need a cable (that will stick out quite a bit)
* USB ports probably don't line up, so again, you can't use the adapter
* GPIO header on B+ has moved slightly. The board will stick out on one side.

PiGraham
Posts: 3678
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 12:37 pm
Location: Waterlooville

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:28 pm

Joe Schmoe wrote: Two questions come to mind:
  • 1) Does it work with the B+ (the web site says specifically that it works with the B) ?
    2) Does it work as "multi-monitor" (like the Gert VGA board does) ?
The answer to 2 is NO. It has an HDMI->VGA converter so VGA is only what the standard HDMI puts out.Strictly single screen.

Joe Schmoe
Posts: 4277
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:50 pm

The answer to 2 is NO. It has an HDMI->VGA converter so VGA is only what the standard HDMI puts out.Strictly single screen.
Ah, yes. Obvious when you think about it.

Silly me…
And some folks need to stop being fanboys and see the forest behind the trees.

(One of the best lines I've seen on this board lately)

riklaunim
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 7:34 pm

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Tue Sep 23, 2014 2:57 pm

Joe Schmoe wrote:
riklaunim wrote:I have this board: http://www.suptronics.com/RPI.html which converts HDMI to VGA and doesn't block GPIO... but I didn't tested it yet ;)
I'm curious why you haven't tested it yet. I was very interested in that board; if I had one, I'd not waste any time putting it to the test.
I was waiting for the servo connection cables, or just being lazy to connect it :) It has an servo controller for big amount of servos and 2 or more continuous servos could make a driving robot move :)

As for VGA there is also this: http://www.hobbytronics.co.uk/serial-vga - it's not a real display VGA but you can draw basic gui on your own via serial connection and board API :)

User avatar
mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 12534
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
Location: South Holland, The Netherlands

Re: Gert's VGA Board

Tue Sep 23, 2014 6:07 pm

riklaunim wrote:
Joe Schmoe wrote:
riklaunim wrote:I have this board: http://www.suptronics.com/RPI.html which converts HDMI to VGA and doesn't block GPIO... but I didn't tested it yet ;)
I'm curious why you haven't tested it yet. I was very interested in that board; if I had one, I'd not waste any time putting it to the test.
I was waiting for the servo connection cables, or just being lazy to connect it :) It has an servo controller for big amount of servos and 2 or more continuous servos could make a driving robot move :)

As for VGA there is also this: http://www.hobbytronics.co.uk/serial-vga - it's not a real display VGA but you can draw basic gui on your own via serial connection and board API :)
That's in fact a complete serial ("green screen") terminal with VGA output based on the brilliant parallax propeller multicore microcontroller. Its complete in the sense that it is also possible to connect (with minimal logic) a PS/2 keyboard to it, the parallax forum will tell you how.

Return to “General discussion”