Page 1 of 2

No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 1:42 pm
by richard_robust
What did they do ??? The program works , but now raspberry change the layout and the tulip connection so we dont have a analog connection any more : :shock: (WHAAAAAAA going nuts )

That is a real bummer , what do we do now ? ... I have to wait untill week 50 (element14) to get the old 512 mb back ... that is a ramp !!!

What do we got to do now ... this is realy a problem , we dont have a need of 4 usb's but we do have need of that analoge signal ...

Orderd 45 pieces all can go into the garbage now ... or is there a sollution ? without big extra stuff to change the rgb into 0100011100 ... :roll:

the story contiguous ..

BR

Richard

Re: what is loose with that new Raspberry 512+

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 1:50 pm
by scotty101
Next to no idea what you are talking about!!

What analog connection are you talking about?

Re: what is loose with that new Raspberry 512+

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 1:50 pm
by RaTTuS
http://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewt ... 63&t=81736

please learn how to type when ranting - it makes it easier

need more CAPS ;)

Re: what is loose with that new Raspberry 512+

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 1:53 pm
by redhawk
analoge signal
Are you referring to the Composite video port??The B+ has moved video signal to the headphone jack as part of the non-standardised 4 pole 3.5mm thingy.
If you have an Apple compatible 3.5mm video cable then extracting the video shouldn't be a problem else you could always hax0r the circuit board to fit a RCA connector.

Richard S.

Re: what is loose with that new Raspberry 512+

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 2:37 pm
by fruitoftheloom
richard_robust wrote:so we dont have a analog connection any more
:roll: :roll: http://www.raspberrypi-spy.co.uk/2014/0 ... video-jack

Re: what is loose with that new Raspberry 512+

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 2:59 pm
by richard_robust
fruitoftheloom wrote:
richard_robust wrote:so we dont have a analog connection any more
:roll: :roll: http://www.raspberrypi-spy.co.uk/2014/0 ... video-jack
Thx mate , I know I 'm a bit lazzy at the moment , it is like the whole world collapse in 1 second when opening the box ..
fruitoftheloom wrote:
richard_robust wrote:so we dont have a analog connection any more
:roll: :roll: http://www.raspberrypi-spy.co.uk/2014/0 ... video-jack
Yes Redhawk , that is the one , but it is still there I just found out thanks of you guys.
Just have to find the right cables , or focus on the HDMI cable and buy a TFTscreen with HDMI connection. That will work.

Just have experience an other problem regarding SD card I try to install our image on the new mini SDcard but it says "the SD card is not Big enough ? :o
How is that possible a cloned image from a SD card (8GIG) Doesnt fit on a miniSD card (8GIG) ... Maybe time for a vacation now ...

:roll:

Re: what is loose with that new Raspberry 512+

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:02 pm
by BMS Doug
richard_robust wrote:What did they do ??? The program works , but now raspberry change the layout and the tulip connection so we dont have a analog connection any more : :shock: (WHAAAAAAA going nuts )

That is a real bummer , what do we do now ? ... I have to wait untill week 50 (element14) to get the old 512 mb back ... that is a ramp !!!

What do we got to do now ... this is realy a problem , we dont have a need of 4 usb's but we do have need of that analoge signal ...

Orderd 45 pieces all can go into the garbage now ... damn or is there a sollution ? without big extra stuff to change the rgb into 0100011100 ... :roll:

the story contiguous ..

BR

Richard

Hi Richard,

as others have hinted the B+ does have a composite video output, it is included in the 3.5mm Jack connection. This is still compatible with the monitors you mentioned using previously.

STOP RANTING AT THE WRONG PERSON !

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:17 pm
by Philip42
Why are you not ranting at whoever placed the order AND ORDERED THE WRONG PART !!!

The B+ does not REPLACE the B, which is still available !

As has been said, the B+ has not 'lost' any audio or video connectors - they're just presented differently; and it's all fully documented - if you bother to look !

I'm now awaiting your next post, when you complain that the existing image files for various OS releases no longer work !

In anticipation of this, I suggest you READ THE FAQs about the B+ CAREFULLY, BEFORE POSTING !!!

Re: what is loose with that new Raspberry 512+

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:22 pm
by RaTTuS
richard_robust wrote:...
Just have experience an other problem regarding SD card I try to install our image on the new mini SDcard but it says "the SD card is not Big enough ? :o
How is that possible a cloned image from a SD card (8GIG) Doesnt fit on a miniSD card (8GIG) ... Maybe time for a vacation now ...

:roll:
not all sd cards are the same [in fact it's likely that any 2 are not the same size]
if you have not used the entire space you may be OK with a quick e2fsck
personally
I'll build a fresh image from raspbian and add the things you need
or backup via rsync [my personal favourite]

Re: No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:39 pm
by abishur
Mod edit: Changed thread title to accurate description of the problem

On the SD card issue, like RaTTus said, no two cards are made alike, but a common problem is some manufactures define a Gig in base 10 or base 2, that is, is a gigabyte 1000*(10^3) bites, for base 10, or is it 1024*(10^3) bites, for base 2. Many (most?) use the base 10 because then they can claim a larger capacity for less space, some choose to be honest and use base 2.

Regardless, starting with a fresh image might be in your best interest no matter what. The B+ requires updated boot files that the new images contain. You can update the boot files with an rpi-update, or doing a distro update (sudo apt-get upgrade for raspbian I believe)

Re: No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:21 pm
by W. H. Heydt
abishur wrote:Mod edit: Changed thread title to accurate description of the problem

On the SD card issue, like RaTTus said, no two cards are made alike, but a common problem is some manufactures define a Gig in base 10 or base 2, that is, is a gigabyte 1000*(10^3) bites, for base 10, or is it 1024*(10^3) bites, for base 2. Many (most?) use the base 10 because then they can claim a larger capacity for less space, some choose to be honest and use base 2.

Regardless, starting with a fresh image might be in your best interest no matter what. The B+ requires updated boot files that the new images contain. You can update the boot files with an rpi-update, or doing a distro update (sudo apt-get upgrade for raspbian I believe)
Or, of course, if you stick to one manufacturer, you'll probably see some consistency.

Re: what is loose with that new Raspberry 512+

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:57 pm
by plugwash
richard_robust wrote: Just have experience an other problem regarding SD card I try to install our image on the new mini SDcard but it says "the SD card is not Big enough ? :o
How is that possible a cloned image from a SD card (8GIG) Doesnt fit on a miniSD card (8GIG) ... Maybe time for a vacation now ...
Because unfortunately not all "8GB" cards are exactly the same size.

Theres a few ways arround this but i'm not aware of any that are easy enough to reccomend to a novice.

Re: No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 5:44 pm
by Jessie
http://softwarebakery.com/shrinking-images-on-linux

Edit: Also camcorder cables are often cheaper than ipod cables and all you need to do is swap the red and yellow connectors at the TV. The ground is in the proper location.

Re: No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 7:24 am
by richard_robust
abishur wrote:Mod edit: Changed thread title to accurate description of the problem

On the SD card issue, like RaTTus said, no two cards are made alike, but a common problem is some manufactures define a Gig in base 10 or base 2, that is, is a gigabyte 1000*(10^3) bites, for base 10, or is it 1024*(10^3) bites, for base 2. Many (most?) use the base 10 because then they can claim a larger capacity for less space, some choose to be honest and use base 2.

Regardless, starting with a fresh image might be in your best interest no matter what. The B+ requires updated boot files that the new images contain. You can update the boot files with an rpi-update, or doing a distro update (sudo apt-get upgrade for raspbian I believe)
Thank you abishur for this very useful info , didn't knew that. I will figure it out, and maybe just start a new image clean one and put everything manualy like you sugested.

I will search and find now , you guys are right , had to read the Faq first but whooowie I didn't expected those changes (I'm still a believer in this nice piece of fine technology)

Also good to see that the "old ones " are still around on this forum 'HI DOUGH' :) you guys helped me a lot a few month's ago A VERY VERY BIG THANKS to you all !! nowww must find the dude that made TFT with Touchscreens here somewhere on the forum 8-) .

Re: No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 7:29 am
by DougieLawson
richard_robust wrote:
Also good to see that the "old ones " are still around on this forum 'HI DOUGH' [SIC] :) you guys helped me a lot a few month's ago A VERY VERY BIG THANKS to you all !! nowww must find the dude that made TFT with Touchscreens here somewhere on the forum 8-) .
Everyone of us called "Doug" (or variants of that name) loves the way speeling chuckers on phones rename us to "Dough".

Texy's the man with the TFT screens
http://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewt ... 93&t=65566

Notro is the man with the fbtft code for driving all sorts of TFT screens.
https://github.com/notro/fbtft

Re: No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 7:45 am
by BMS Doug
DougieLawson wrote:
richard_robust wrote:
Also good to see that the "old ones " are still around on this forum 'HI DOUGH' [SIC] :) you guys helped me a lot a few month's ago A VERY VERY BIG THANKS to you all !! nowww must find the dude that made TFT with Touchscreens here somewhere on the forum 8-) .
Everyone of us called "Doug" (or variants of that name) loves the way speeling chuckers on phones rename us to "Dough".

Texy's the man with the TFT screens
http://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewt ... 93&t=65566

Notro is the man with the fbtft code for driving all sorts of TFT screens.
https://github.com/notro/fbtft

So very true Dougie, so very true.

Of course as a result I have truly grown to enjoy sharing Doughnuts around the office....

Re: No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Fri Sep 12, 2014 8:07 am
by BMS Doug
richard_robust wrote: nowww must find the dude that made TFT with Touchscreens here somewhere on the forum 8-) .
You know that you can still connect the B+ to your monitors?

It still has the composite output, it's just that it has been included into the 3.5mm socket, see abishur's comprehensive description from the Pictorial buying guide
mahjongg wrote: If you have a model B+ and want to use the composite Video (A/V) for composite video and analog sound, you need an A/V cable, like this one:
Image
But note that there are many cables that look exactly like this one but do NOT work! That is because the wiring within them must be correct!

This is a picture listing the most common A/V cables, and their wiring:
Image

The Raspberry PI can use cables designed for the Ipod, or for the Microsoft Zune, but can also work with some "camcorder cables" (but see below)
The PI does not work with the "hodgepodge" of systems that have pin 1 as GND.

As in the picture above, the tables below count, from sleeve (1) to tip (4) of the four pole 3.5mm jack plug.

A real "Raspberry PI model B+" 4-pole 3.5mm A/V output jack cable uses:
B+ wired cable
1 Video out
2 GND
3 Right audio
4 Left audio

Only Zune Cables are exactly right, because the PI want to keep left and right audio in the right place, and for some obscure reason iPod cables have those swapped.


The most common, and reasonably compatible, cable that is on the market now, uses the iPod wiring:
Ipod wired cable
1 Video out
2 GND
3 Left audio
4 Right audio

Note that you can make this cable 100% compatible by switching the two audio channels, that is the white and red RCA plugs. Its possible that in future software releases, when the system detects you are using a B+ with composite video, the software will swap the audio channels automatically.


A common cable that is also on the market now and often very cheap, is normally called a "camcorder cable"
Camcorder cable
1 Right audio
2 GND
3 Video out
4 Left audio

Note that you can use this cable by switching the video and right channels, that is the yellow and red RCA plugs.
When using a "camcorder" cable, try plugging in the red RCA plug of the cable into the yellow RCA receptacle of your TV and see if you get a picture, if so you can put the yellow plug in the red receptacle, and the white plug into the white receptacle.

Note that no cable you try to use should be able to damage your PI, so you can safely just try.

The cheap ($1.99) cable below is a camcorder cable, and has been tested and is reported to work (with the "camcorder RCA swap").
http://www.amazon.com/Fosmon-Technology ... B00HND2FW8

The iPod compatible cable below has also been confirmed to work, is more expensive but does not require the camcorder swap.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004UCU72U/

Note that instead of such an A/V cable, you could also use an adapter like this. Note that the same reservations as for the cables apply, it might not work, or the signals come out of the wrong plugs. Also, normally its more of a hassle to use and more expensive, but you might have one lying around you can try:
Image

Re: No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Sat Sep 13, 2014 2:38 am
by jojopi
abishur wrote:On the SD card issue, like RaTTus said, no two cards are made alike, but a common problem is some manufactures define a Gig in base 10 or base 2, that is, is a gigabyte 1000*(10^3) bites, for base 10, or is it 1024*(10^3) bites, for base 2. Many (most?) use the base 10 because then they can claim a larger capacity for less space, some choose to be honest and use base 2.
They all use decimal prefixes. Nobody ever markets an 8GB card as "7.4GiB".

The card controller needs to reserve a significant chunk of the actual flash storage for translation layer, wear levelling, bad block reallocation, and error correction.

Re: No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 1:14 pm
by richard_robust
BMS Doug wrote:
richard_robust wrote: nowww must find the dude that made TFT with Touchscreens here somewhere on the forum 8-) .
You know that you can still connect the B+ to your monitors?

It still has the composite output, it's just that it has been included into the 3.5mm socket, see abishur's comprehensive description from the Pictorial buying guide
abishur wrote: If you have a model B+ and want to use the composite Video (A/V) for composite video and analog sound, you need an A/V cable, like this one:
Image
But note that there are many cables that look exactly like this one but do NOT work! That is because the wiring within them must be correct!

This is a picture listing the most common A/V cables, and their wiring:
Image

The Raspberry PI can use cables designed for the Ipod, or for the Microsoft Zune, but can also work with some "camcorder cables" (but see below)
The PI does not work with the "hodgepodge" of systems that have pin 1 as GND.

As in the picture above, the tables below count, from sleeve (1) to tip (4) of the four pole 3.5mm jack plug.

A real "Raspberry PI model B+" 4-pole 3.5mm A/V output jack cable uses:
B+ wired cable
1 Video out
2 GND
3 Right audio
4 Left audio

Only Zune Cables are exactly right, because the PI want to keep left and right audio in the right place, and for some obscure reason iPod cables have those swapped.


The most common, and reasonably compatible, cable that is on the market now, uses the iPod wiring:
Ipod wired cable
1 Video out
2 GND
3 Left audio
4 Right audio

Note that you can make this cable 100% compatible by switching the two audio channels, that is the white and red RCA plugs. Its possible that in future software releases, when the system detects you are using a B+ with composite video, the software will swap the audio channels automatically.


A common cable that is also on the market now and often very cheap, is normally called a "camcorder cable"
Camcorder cable
1 Right audio
2 GND
3 Video out
4 Left audio

Note that you can use this cable by switching the video and right channels, that is the yellow and red RCA plugs.
When using a "camcorder" cable, try plugging in the red RCA plug of the cable into the yellow RCA receptacle of your TV and see if you get a picture, if so you can put the yellow plug in the red receptacle, and the white plug into the white receptacle.

Note that no cable you try to use should be able to damage your PI, so you can safely just try.

The cheap ($1.99) cable below is a camcorder cable, and has been tested and is reported to work (with the "camcorder RCA swap").
http://www.amazon.com/Fosmon-Technology ... B00HND2FW8

The iPod compatible cable below has also been confirmed to work, is more expensive but does not require the camcorder swap.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004UCU72U/

Note that instead of such an A/V cable, you could also use an adapter like this. Note that the same reservations as for the cables apply, it might not work, or the signals come out of the wrong plugs. Also, normally its more of a hassle to use and more expensive, but you might have one lying around you can try:
Image
Thank you bmsdough for this fine information , with this we can figuring it out!
;)

Br

Richard

Re: No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 1:26 pm
by richard_robust
[quote="jojopi"][quote="abishur"]On the SD card issue, like RaTTus said, no two cards are made alike, but a common problem is some manufactures define a Gig in base 10 or base 2, that is, is a gigabyte 1000*(10^3) bites, for base 10, or is it 1024*(10^3) bites, for base 2. Many (most?) use the base 10 because then they can claim a larger capacity for less space, some choose to be honest and use base 2.[/quote]They all use decimal prefixes. Nobody ever markets an 8GB card as "7.4GiB".

The card controller needs to reserve a significant chunk of the actual flash storage for translation layer, wear levelling, bad block reallocation, and error correction.[/quote]

That I totaly understand.. But if you look at the sd image, there is only 2.5 gig all the rest is unalocated space so as i understand it is just empty space, right . So isn't possible to get rit of the ghost space so i can get my freaking image back on a sd? I tried win32 thingy doesn't work. Try a script on this forum to schrink it. Doesnt work. I workt on the image a long time now it is finished and ready to stress test the wole thing changed. But that is not the real problem. It is the SD card size what is freaking me off. Also tried gparted can see it but unable to schrink it, anybody got a sollution for this one? :(

BR

Gino

Re: No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 1:31 pm
by plugwash
If you are sure there are no partitions beyond the end of the new card then you can write the image with dd (it will complain when it reaches the end of the card but it will have written everything before the card end successully).

Re: No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 1:38 pm
by klricks
richard_robust wrote:...
...

That I totaly understand.. But if you look at the sd image, there is only 2.5 gig all the rest is unalocated space so as i understand it is just empty space, right . So isn't possible to get rit of the ghost space so i can get my freaking image back on a sd? I tried win32 thingy doesn't work. Try a script on this forum to schrink it. Doesnt work. I workt on the image a long time now it is finished and ready to stress test the wole thing changed. But that is not the real problem. It is the SD card size what is freaking me off. Also tried gparted can see it but unable to schrink it, anybody got a sollution for this one? :(

BR

Gino
Your current question has drifted far away from the original topic. You might want to Google this forum and read the many threads already covering shrinking SD images, then if you still problems make a new thread.

Re: No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 12:30 pm
by richard_robust
richard_robust wrote:
BMS Doug wrote:
richard_robust wrote: nowww must find the dude that made TFT with Touchscreens here somewhere on the forum 8-) .
You know that you can still connect the B+ to your monitors?

It still has the composite output, it's just that it has been included into the 3.5mm socket, see abishur's comprehensive description from the Pictorial buying guide
abishur wrote: If you have a model B+ and want to use the composite Video (A/V) for composite video and analog sound, you need an A/V cable, like this one:
Image
But note that there are many cables that look exactly like this one but do NOT work! That is because the wiring within them must be correct!

This is a picture listing the most common A/V cables, and their wiring:
Image

The Raspberry PI can use cables designed for the Ipod, or for the Microsoft Zune, but can also work with some "camcorder cables" (but see below)
The PI does not work with the "hodgepodge" of systems that have pin 1 as GND.

As in the picture above, the tables below count, from sleeve (1) to tip (4) of the four pole 3.5mm jack plug.

A real "Raspberry PI model B+" 4-pole 3.5mm A/V output jack cable uses:
B+ wired cable
1 Video out
2 GND
3 Right audio
4 Left audio

Only Zune Cables are exactly right, because the PI want to keep left and right audio in the right place, and for some obscure reason iPod cables have those swapped.


The most common, and reasonably compatible, cable that is on the market now, uses the iPod wiring:
Ipod wired cable
1 Video out
2 GND
3 Left audio
4 Right audio

Note that you can make this cable 100% compatible by switching the two audio channels, that is the white and red RCA plugs. Its possible that in future software releases, when the system detects you are using a B+ with composite video, the software will swap the audio channels automatically.


A common cable that is also on the market now and often very cheap, is normally called a "camcorder cable"
Camcorder cable
1 Right audio
2 GND
3 Video out
4 Left audio

Note that you can use this cable by switching the video and right channels, that is the yellow and red RCA plugs.
When using a "camcorder" cable, try plugging in the red RCA plug of the cable into the yellow RCA receptacle of your TV and see if you get a picture, if so you can put the yellow plug in the red receptacle, and the white plug into the white receptacle.

Note that no cable you try to use should be able to damage your PI, so you can safely just try.

The cheap ($1.99) cable below is a camcorder cable, and has been tested and is reported to work (with the "camcorder RCA swap").
http://www.amazon.com/Fosmon-Technology ... B00HND2FW8

The iPod compatible cable below has also been confirmed to work, is more expensive but does not require the camcorder swap.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004UCU72U/

Note that instead of such an A/V cable, you could also use an adapter like this. Note that the same reservations as for the cables apply, it might not work, or the signals come out of the wrong plugs. Also, normally its more of a hassle to use and more expensive, but you might have one lying around you can try:
Image
Thank you bmsdough for this fine information , with this we can figuring it out!
;)

Br

Richard

This one comes in very handy now , when experiencing the HDMI and new jack problem

10x

BR

Richard

Re: No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 3:36 pm
by BMS Doug
richard_robust wrote: This one comes in very handy now , when experiencing the HDMI and new jack problem

10x

BR

Richard
Glad to have been of assistance but all the hard work was done by abishur mahjongg.

Re: No composite video on new B+?

Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 3:47 pm
by mahjongg
BMS Doug wrote:
richard_robust wrote: This one comes in very handy now , when experiencing the HDMI and new jack problem

10x

BR

Richard
Glad to have been of assistance but all the hard work was done by abishur.
Actually he only did a small starter, I expanded and updated it since then, for example, anything about the B+ I did.