exzile

LED help please

Tue Jul 29, 2014 1:51 pm

Project Purpose:
Develop Plant Grow light with 4-8 100 Watt LEDS. LED's run independent of each other, so if one burns out, others don't shut off. Control each LED via the Raspi if possible. Control temperature of the LED's by using a temp sensor and switching a fan on and off when needed to cool.

Notes:

I am new to electronics and am still in the beginning learning phase.

I want to create a circuit that can power 4-8 100 watt LEDS. If possible, control the LEDs via the PI and if one burns out, the others don't shut down. I don't know how to use the formulas yet to compute what I need (ohms law). I chose this project as a learning point for me. As I said, my electronic knowledge is small, so details and explanations can help me understand. I am currently learning electronics, but have not applied it, hence doing this project. Much help is appreciated, and as always, will be giving back when I encounter other noobs that are in my place.

Resources

LED: http://www.ebay.com/itm/1-PC-100w-20000 ... 4897.l4275
Last edited by exzile on Tue Jul 29, 2014 4:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AndrewS

Re: LED help please

Tue Jul 29, 2014 2:17 pm

For switching that kind of power, you'll probably need to use high-power relays. So you'd typically have a Pi GPIO pin connected to the 'input' of a transistor, and the 'output' of the transistor would be connected to the 'input' of the relay, and then the 'output' of each relay will be connected to each LED.
And you'll obviously need a seriously chunky power-supply! :shock:

RaTTuS

Tue Jul 29, 2014 2:22 pm

100watt is massive for LED
see
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BkUGNtYKasU for 10watt
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

exzile

Tue Jul 29, 2014 2:22 pm

Im thinking a laptop charger for the power supply? Unless any other suggestion?
Or