rebelweems

Using Raspberry Pi to fix infected PC.

Tue May 20, 2014 2:14 pm

I am new to the Raspberry Pi. I know I am not the first person to think of this so here goes....

Can a Pi be setup to be used a an emergency boot device to destroy viruses and trojans in PC's?

If so...What software can be used?

I was thinking of using CC cleaner and any other AV that would allow me to help clean up a system.

I would like to be able to simple plug it in and boot the infected system and begin repairs. I feel that there has to be a way to make this happen.

Any ideas would be thankful, and please remember that I am still new to the Pi.

Thank you

fruitoftheloom

Re: Using Raspberry Pi to fix infected PC.

Tue May 20, 2014 3:10 pm

It has not been undertaken because it is not in the real world a feasible project.....
Retired disgracefully.....
This at present is my daily "computer" https://www.asus.com/us/Chrome-Devices/Chromebit-CS10/

plugwash
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Tue May 20, 2014 3:23 pm

The beaglebone black would be a better choice than the Pi for this usecase.

redhawk

Tue May 20, 2014 3:28 pm

This is a bad idea since you would have to physically remove the hard drive something you really want to avoid at all costs (as well as other reasons I can't be bothered to mention).

There already exist anti-virus/anti-malware software which you can burn to CD and boot from your computer (no hard drive removal needed) most of which I understand are Linux based and free.
There is also Hiren's tools which has bootable XP mode (MiniXP) this can provide a safe environment to copy / backup files and to run cleaning software.

Richard S.

rebelweems

Tue May 20, 2014 7:21 pm

Thank you for all of your replies. I appreciate the information.

gadgethome

Tue May 20, 2014 7:28 pm

Would be easier to make a usb stick bootable and then place the anti-virus/recovery software on it.