Page 1 of 1

Faulty PI

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:15 pm
by TheVillage
I was looking around web site for different os for my PI. I found RetroPi and tried it. The normal text scrolled on screen then it froze on sticky KB. I rebooted and it froze at same place. I turned off and inserted a SD with rasp ops but on inserting power cable only RED LED lite up, nothing else. Left it for a day or two and tried again,nothing.

Any ideas why RetroPi seems to have killed my PI?
Thanks

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:27 pm
by GTR2Fan
I very much doubt that RetroPie would be the cause.

Are you able to check the voltage coming out of your power supply?

Have you checked the Pi with all peripherals unplugged apart from the SD card and the monitor lead?

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:01 pm
by TheVillage
Cant find meter at moment. Have removed all peripherals with no change. Will try to find another PSU. Many thanks for advice so far.

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 4:38 am
by Jessie
Are you waiting long enough? The boot length of RetroPie is quite long before it becomes responsive ( I would guess close to 1 to 1.5 min). My cab with no Ethernet connected I often get just a red light most of the time except when roms are loading. Are you overclocked? If your R Pi died I doubt it has anything to do with RetroPie it would be that you just got bad luck.

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 6:41 am
by DeeJay
A couple of thoughts.

1] It is (almost) impossible to change/destroy an RPi circuit board via software. If your RPi has died (and it probably hasn't) it is way more likely to be a hardware fault.

2] How was your "SD with rasp ops" created? Has it been tested/proven on another RPi? If not - are you sure it was created correctly?

3] as a bonus - is your RPi in a case? Could anything have shorted out the exposed pins under the circuity board?

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:52 pm
by TheVillage
Jessie wrote:Are you waiting long enough? The boot length of RetroPie is quite long before it becomes responsive ( I would guess close to 1 to 1.5 min). My cab with no Ethernet connected I often get just a red light most of the time except when roms are loading. Are you overclocked? If your R Pi died I doubt it has anything to do with RetroPie it would be that you just got bad luck.
Just used meter on tp1 & tp2 and gave reading of 6v from the supplied with Kit PSU. This is quite high. No devices installed.

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:57 pm
by GTR2Fan
That's potentially dangerously high for the Pi and anything plugged into the USB ports. I'd unplug it pretty quickly if it were mine and hunt around for another known-good PSU to test it with.

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 3:26 pm
by TheVillage
GTR2Fan wrote:That's potentially dangerously high for the Pi and anything plugged into the USB ports. I'd unplug it pretty quickly if it were mine and hunt around for another known-good PSU to test it with.
I did. Will send psu back to cpc and find another

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 3:38 pm
by GTR2Fan
It might be worth mentioning to them in an email before you send anything anywhere that the faulty PSU may have damaged the Pi. They may want both returning together for replacement under the circumstances.

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 5:47 pm
by Jessie
6 is a tad high. That means the psu is putting out more due to voltage drop through the cable and polyfuse.

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 10:43 pm
by TheVillage
Jessie wrote:6 is a tad high. That means the psu is putting out more due to voltage drop through the cable and polyfuse.
Just tried Pi with USB plugged into Mac keyboard. Meter reports 4.96V but still only red led lit. Is is fried?

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:19 am
by Nikki81
Try adding boot_delay=2 to the config file on the Raspbian sd card. It has worked for me when I had this problem

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:40 am
by TheVillage
Can't do anything as won't boot. Before problem when powered up red yell green lit up but now only red. It's not accessing as card.

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 11:40 am
by DougieLawson
TheVillage wrote:Can't do anything as won't boot. Before problem when powered up red yell green lit up but now only red. It's not accessing as card.
You can edit the config.txt and cmdline.txt file on a Windows machine.
Insert the card and edit F:\config.txt with Notepad

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:38 pm
by TheVillage
Thanks I'll give it a try when home

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 9:53 pm
by TheVillage
No difference, no sign of card been read.

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:06 pm
by Nikki81
Have you tried a different sd card ? Also make sure that the sd card holder is not damaged or has any bent pins

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:29 pm
by TheVillage
Tried diff card, no signs of damage. It started when ran new OS, tow boot errors then Freeze then just RED LED. very strange.

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:53 pm
by electronicman
Does the Broadcom chip get hot?.
I fried one of Pi's with too high a voltage, and now the red LED come on but nothing else happens, except the chip heats up quickly

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:15 pm
by TheVillage
No left on over minute, no noticeable heat. Strange beast.

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 9:18 pm
by TheVillage
Looked all over Pi can't find anything amiss apart from it don't work!

Re: Faulty PI

Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:52 am
by rmwebs
Contact whoever you bought it from for a replacement - shouldn't be any problem getting it replaced if you've bought it within a reasonable amount of time.