kermit911

Thinking about getting a Raspberry Pi

Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:27 pm

Hello everyone, I am new to the Pi world and I have watch many YouTube videos. I do have a quick question, the main purpose for me considering to buy the Pi is I need something that will make a small strip of LED's flash once every 30 seconds. Is that possible with the Pi? If you need more information please let me know.

Thank you
Kermit

joan

Re: Thinking about getting a Raspberry Pi

Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:05 pm

Have a look through http://www.themagpi.com/home/

ame

Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:53 pm

If that's all you need to do, then I'd recommend the "555". If you think you might want to do more then the Pi will do this and more. Or an Arduino. Take your pic.

kermit911

Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:19 am

Thank you, the 555 I'm not sure how to put together. I have never done anything like this before. Is it simple to program the Pi to do what I need?

Thanks
Dave

ame

Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:37 am

If you just want to flash some LEDs you would be better off with a simple, dedicated circuit. However, having a Pi means you can do that and learn more about electronics, programming and Linux.

You will need:
A Pi
An SD card with the Pi operating system
A USB power supply
A USB keyboard
An HDMI monitor or a TV with composite video input

You will also need some bits and bobs for the LED control circuit, which you will connect to the GPIO pins on the Pi.

Do you have the LED strip already? What are the power requirements for the LED strip (voltage and current)?

kermit911

Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:46 am

Sweet, the LED's are 12V 300mA LED's

Here is a Link:
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index ... lsrc=aw.ds

Thanks
Kermit

ame

Tue Feb 25, 2014 2:03 am

Ok, well you'll need some electronic components to switch the LEDs on and off under control of the Pi.