DominusPi

Why mix arduino with raspberryPi

Tue Jan 14, 2014 9:47 pm

Hey guys !

As a beginner, I noticed many people mix arduinos and RPi, but I don't understand what does the arduino givess that the RPi doesn't have.
It might sound like a stupid question to many, but well, I don't know the answer to it :D

Thanks in advance !
Cheers !

duberry
Location: standing on a planet that's evolving. And revolving at nine hundred miles an hour

Re: Why mix arduino with raspberryPi

Tue Jan 14, 2014 9:52 pm

lend me your arms, fast as thunderbolts, for a pillow on my journey.
If the environment was a bank, would it be too big to fail
so long; and thanks for all the pi

mikronauts

Tue Jan 14, 2014 9:59 pm

- analog inputs
- more PWM
- more digital I/O
DominusPi wrote:Hey guys !

As a beginner, I noticed many people mix arduinos and RPi, but I don't understand what does the arduino givess that the RPi doesn't have.
It might sound like a stupid question to many, but well, I don't know the answer to it :D

Thanks in advance !
http://Mikronauts.com - home of EZasPi, RoboPi, Pi Rtc Dio and Pi Jumper @Mikronauts on Twitter
Advanced Robotics, I/O expansion and prototyping boards for the Raspberry Pi

AndyD

Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:01 pm

The nice thing about the Arduino is the large amount of code and shields that are already available and work. The problem with the Arduino is low processor speeds, limited memory etc. So using an Arduino and a Raspberry Pi you can have the best of both worlds. Connect your sensors and shields to the Arduino and get the Raspberry Pi to handle things like user interface, network connections, web servers etc.

AJB2K3

Wed Jan 15, 2014 6:29 am

1 other reason is to provide protection to you Raspberry pi's I/O's
Back in the old days, we were smarter then the technology.
Nowadays technology makes us look like villages fools in front of the children!

Richard-TX

Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:37 am